×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Death without Company (Walt Longmire Series #2)
     

Death without Company (Walt Longmire Series #2)

4.5 80
by Craig Johnson
 

See All Formats & Editions

Walt investigates a death by poison in this gripping novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Cold Dish and Dry Bones, the second in the Longmire Mystery Series, the basis for LONGMIRE, the hit drama series now on Netflix

Craig Johnson's The Highwayman and An Obvious Fact 

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Death without Company (Walt Longmire Series #2) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 80 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Like Craig Johnson's first magnificent book -- The Cold Dish -- Death Without Copmany also takes place in scenic Absaroka County and includes the memorable, regular characters of Sheriff Walt Longmire, his friend Henry Standing Bear, his deputy Victoria Moretti, and the standing cast of fascinating Durant residents. But there the resemblance ends. Death Without Company begins with the death in a nursing home of the mysterious Mari Baroja and, from there, the plot goes back 50 years to examine other deaths, brutality, and lots of heartbreak. The contemporary mystery of Mari's death and the 50 year old mystery of her life merge in Walt's mind and in his investigation. As the mystery unfolds -- scene after beautiful scene -- the reader enters a world of abuse, greed, and lifelong love. But the mystery stories are just the beginning for Craig Johnson's perfectly crafted novels. In Death Without Company, he encourages us to think deeply about the issues of aging, family, and friendship. And yet as horrific and profound as many of the scenes in the book are, Johnson also manages to enliven the pages with his characteristic humor thanks, in large part, to the great cast of regular characters (and a few new ones). For those of you who have read The Cold Dish, Death Without Company will not disappoint. And for those of you new to Craig Johnson's books, you're in for a real treat. Written with the skill of a great novelist but without ever sounding pedantic, Johnson manages to combine profound insights into the human condition with a great murder mystery. It is the intelligence of his story-telling that sets Craig Johnson apart from his contemporaries and raises his fiction to the level of fine literature. Always a great read, Death Without Company is a novel that stays with you, heart and soul, for a very long time. And, once again, we are left waiting with anticipation for the next Johnson novel.
nana-et-al More than 1 year ago
Before I finished the first book in the series, I ordered the second. And before I finished the second book, I ordered the third. Now I'm ordering the fourth book. I'm going to hate it when I'm caught up because then I'll have that long wait while Mr. Johnson writes each new book. I love these books. The characters are great. The mystery keeps you guessing until the very end. There are lots of twists and turns. And if something happened to someone I love, I'd want Walt Longmire in charge of the case. He's got integrity, he cares and he doesn't give up. I'd want Henry Standing Bear on it too. If you haven't read any of Craig Johnson's books, run right out and get one. You'll be really glad you did.
wygrandmareader More than 1 year ago
New characters to go with Walt and his crew. Definitely not a series following a formula. Keeps you wanting to find out what happens. Can't wait to read the next in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am currently reading all of this authors works. Very interesting character in Sherrif Longmire. the author blends the flashbacks into Vietnam into current events in the sherrifs life with great fluidity. I will recommend this series to my friends. Paulyboy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Full on Longmire complete with Bear, Dog, and Cady.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
great as always
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great book by this author. Each of his books has a unique story while using the same main characters. You can place yourself in the story as you read along. I have purchased this book for family members and they all love the book. It is particularly representative of a sheriff in Wyoming. Great western theme that people can relate to.
NaCl-1 More than 1 year ago
Walt Longmire, sheriff in a small county in Wyoming, is proving to be a great character to follow. Both his long time friends and deputies play an integral part in his stories. A questionable death at a small nursing home sets off an unusual chain of happenings that keep you hooked. Another great story from Craig Johnson.
edofarrell More than 1 year ago
Craig Johnson has one of the best voices writing today. Strong, three-dimensional characters, great wit and dry humor, excellent plots and crisp dialog. If you're a fan of detective or crime fiction, this is a great author.
MysteryLoverSC More than 1 year ago
This wonderful series, which began with The Cold Dish, has everything. The characters are wonderful and the dialogue is witty, the story line takes unexpected turns and the solutions are never obvious plus there is the desert setting, Indian lore...this is a terrific series and I envy you if you haven't read them yet.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was the 2nd in the series and was a great read. I really enjoyed the depth of the characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it. Complex plot, excellent characterization. Good story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
brf1948 More than 1 year ago
Number 2 in the Longmire series, and a very good book. I had read a couple of the later books, out of order, and am surprised at how much knowing the complete back story improves my enjoyment of Craig Johnson's wonderful tales. This particular one follows the investigation of a basque woman, Mari, who was the love of Lucian's life. before it is over, you know for a fact that Lucian isn't nearly as nasty as he would like you to believe. I particularly like the introduction of Sancho and the addition of Jess to the staff.  Especially if you love these books or this TV series, now on Netflix, you want to find the early books. All are stand alone, but standing together they are a remarkable achievement. Can't wait for the next one, Craig Johnson.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I don't know why it took me three seasons of Longmire on TV before I started reading the novels! People "binge watch" TV series now, and I find myself "binge reading" Craig Johnson's novels. I have read the first three, and am now starting number four. I find them very difficult to put down! An avid mystery reader, I find that many authors have great plots. Craig Johnson has great "place" as well. When he has Walt trampling through the snow, I wind up reaching for an afghan. I feel that I am alongside the characters as they work their way through the crime. What the characters THINK comes through in the novels better than in the series, so I am happily enjoying getting to know them better. These are excellent books! Mr. Johnson, please keep these stories coming!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BabsOK More than 1 year ago
I like this book even better than the first one I read in this series. I will certainly try to read them all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have become a big fan of the Walt Longmire series. Love how the story takes awhile to unfold. Really building up the characters as the series continues.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago