×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Deathwish (Cal Leandros Series #4)
     

Deathwish (Cal Leandros Series #4)

4.7 74
by Rob Thurman
 

See All Formats & Editions

In a nightmarish new york city, life is there for the taking...

Half-human Cal Leandros and his brother Niko are hired by the vampire Seamus to find out who has been following him?until Seamus turns up dead (or un-undead). Worse still is the return of Cal?s nightmarish family, the Auphe. The last time Cal and Niko faced them, they were almost wiped out. Now,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Deathwish (Cal and Niko Series #4) 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 74 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Cal Leandros is half-human and half-Auphe; he looks human, but has the power to move about space and dimensions so he can travel from one plane to another. He denies his Auphe heritage and does not look in the slightest like the pointed ears, pale skin, razor claws and crimson eyes of that evil species. Mortals know the Auphe as elves from mythology. They want Cal but he and his brother Niko defeated their efforts to snatch him. Soon eighteen more arrive; Cal notices they are all females, which worries Niko as he thinks the enemy has switched tactics from muscle to something worse.

While trying to figure out how get rid of the latest infestation Cal and Niko are handed a case by the latter¿s vampire lover Promise. Her former lover Seamus the vampire feels someone is stalking him and he wants the brothers, who have opened up a preternatural private investigator firm, to find out who and why. They learn the Vigil who clean up supernatural messes are watching the flamboyant vampire; they feel he is coming close to exposing himself to humans. Their mission is to keep humans and monsters separated. While the siblings deal with these two problems, a third issue surfaces. Promise¿s daughter Cherish the thief and con artist stole something from a monster who is in town to retrieve it. Between the Auphe, the Vigil, and the theft, the siblings feel they are back in the MADHOUSE.

This is an excellent urban fantasy due to the two brothers, who love one another and will do whatever it takes to keep their sibling safe. Readers will feel the story line is moving at the speed of light as the Leandros brothers move from one escapade to another adventure without a respite. Told in the first person rotating chapters between Cal and Niko, fans know up front and in person what motivates each of them. They make a great team as they battle against overwhelming odds leaving the audience to root for them to succeed and wait for their next misadventures.

Harriet Klausner
VampireRanger More than 1 year ago
This book follows perfectly in the footsteps of the earlier books. Some plot twists and non-stop action make this book impossible to put down. Its great to watch the way these characters develop. Cal transforms from a mouthy,angst ridden punk who kicks ass into a mouthy punk that kicks even more ass. And Niko... I'm not tellin' read it yourself.
lovetoreadAR More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing. As usual, Thurman does not disappoint. Deathwish follows up and expands on the power of the books before it. Humor, friendship, loyalty, horror, action and plot twists a plenty. I couldn't wait to see what happened w/the turn of each page. And most important, the brothers bond which makes the series the unstoppable force it is. I loved how this time around we got an even deeper look into the boys as we got POV's from both Cal and Niko. Now Nik, we didn't know a lot of his inner workings before. This book opens him up. It's a whole new world for fans of the Leandros boys. I can only imagine where the road leads next, I can't wait to find out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Published a year after Madhouse, Rob Thurman's Deathwish starts immediately afterwards. Before the characters have a chance to recover from the physical and emotional torments, they are plunged into another dysfunctional family nightmare: this time, Promise brings the brothers in to save her vampire daughter's life-or unlife. I really enjoyed that, for the first time, the chapters alternate viewpoint between Cal and Niko. We've had Cal's assumptions about his brother, but protective big brothers can conceal more than younger ones realize. Definitely satisfying, along with more puck and peri issues, old enemies, and a new one even more lethal than Niko. Read the novel, then re-read the opening chapter for ah-ha moments you wouldn't have picked up on the first time.
SheepInWolfsClothing More than 1 year ago
In the latest of the Cal and Niko series of books, Ms. Thurman proves once again that she's a magician. I don't believe I have ever read another book that was so touching and captivating while still being laugh out loud funny. **If you want to read this book, I strongly suggest starting with Nightlife, the first of this series. You won't want to miss out on Moonshine or Madhouse (#2 and #3 respectively) either. One of the most amazing parts of this book in particular is that we finally get Niko's point of view. If for no other reason, that would make this my favorite book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The snapshot description on the back of the book really doesn't do the plot justice. If you have read the previous 3 books and are emotionally invested in the characters you'll be able to empathize and sympathize with their plight, if your unable to put yourself in their shoes however then it probably wont be enjoyable for you (but if you can't do that why are you even reading them in the first place?). This is also the first book where the author switches off from the point of view being exclusively to Cal and letting us peek in Niko's head for a change, normally I get really irritated when authors do this but Thurman made it work for me. Character development, daunting moral decisions between what is wanted, what his needed and what is right, and an inner-monologue that has me snickering as though Cal were my own younger brother that needed a good head thwap. Personally, I was not disappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"She sighs"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sandy111 More than 1 year ago
I love Cal, Nik & the ever horny Robin. This series has it all: action, sexy & funny all served to you in great stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TEST NOOKUSER More than 1 year ago
I thinknthe book was amazing and by every other person review it must be better then i though... and it was and is
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago