×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Debutante Divorcee
     

The Debutante Divorcee

3.4 55
by Plum Sykes
 

See All Formats & Editions

The delicious New York Times bestselling follow up to Bergdorf Blondes, a chic and witty tale of marriage, friendship, and divorce, that moves from New York to London, the Alps to Moscow, now back in print in a gorgeous, eye-catching package.

Newly married Sylvie Mortimer has found bliss with her Divine New Husband, Hunter. But her perfect

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Debutante Divorcee 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 55 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed Bergdorf Blondes, even though it was really shallow it was still a fun read. Plum's 2nd book was just awful. Totally, totally, totally unrealistic and actually very boring. Save your money and time and don't buy this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I find Plum Sykes to be intriguing, how could you not be, with someone who's first name is PLUM. I read BB a year and so ago, and even though I found it to be utterly superficial, I must confess there was a couple of illustrative sentences that made me laugh. But her second attempt as novelist is right down appalling. It shows Miss Sykes has no real empathy for what's happening in the world today and her characters besided obviously predictable are so so shallow. I wouldn't recommend this book even to Paris Hilton. It's pure garabage.
GailCooke More than 1 year ago
Early on in her follow-up to ¿Bergdorf Blondes,¿ Plum Sykes has one of her characters describe their conversation topics as ¿lighter than a souffle.¿ That¿s also a good description of ¿The Debutante Divorcee¿ - it reads easily, is very fluffy, and has no substance. But, for chick-litophiles it will be the Taj Mahal. A contributing editor for Vogue, London born Sykes knows her territory and its inhabitants well, and she plays both for all they¿re worth. Designers, hot spots, and romantic peccadillos are inserted almost as often as punctuation marks. In Sykes¿s world the characters may be authentic but for the real world they come off as selfish, pretentious stick figures. It¿s a bit hard to relate to one (Lauren) who is determined to make out with five men before Memorial Day, and another (Sylvie) who had hoped that ¿matrimony would be like the Eternity ad: a very gorgeous you, a hot him, and oodles of vanilla-colored cashmere sweaters.¿ When she feels her dream has not come true she copes as only Sylvia can - with late night TV which she feels puts things into perspective. Now, these young women may be beautiful and wealthy but they¿re also some of the most vacuous females to ever appear on page. The plot is a bit of a meandering one, which could be accurately described in a few lines: Sylvie thinks she¿s losing her husband to a ¿husband huntress,¿ Sophia. Lauren takes Sylvie under her authentic Chanel wing. Mix-ups ensue, but all¿s well in the end. Unfortunately, ¿The Debutante Divorcee¿ is ¿The Group¿ sans satire or ¿Sex and the City¿ without affecting characters. Sykes is a good writer with an eagle eye for detail and excellent comic timing. We understand there¿s a third book in the offing and hope the third time is a charm. - Gail Cooke
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was great. Bergdorf Blondes was better but this held my attention and kept me wanting more.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found Plum Sykes' first book intriguing. Her second book, however, leaves a lot to be desired. The plot is weak and characters are flat. A bit of a disappointment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Was expecting light, pleasant, fun read in the "fluff" style. The first three or more chapters started off in that vain and then the storyline just tanked. It was an extremely boring, dull read. And totally missed the mark.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not my usual kind of book but liked the humor.
Rosiecat More than 1 year ago
I love reading but this was so boring I did not finish it. Do not waste your money!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lindsie More than 1 year ago
I actually enjoy Plum Sykes superficial novels- they are meant to be funny, not entirely true. This novel shows the funnier side of rich divorcees. These women simply wont sit and cry for months and years when they become divorced, instead, they spend their riches going on divorce honeymoons to tropical places and buying super expensive fur coats and jewelry. This book is laugh out loud funny! I highly recommend it. After all, there is a love story within it!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. The superficial characters are hilarious. A great beach read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Light and amusing, a very fun read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago