×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Deception (Alex Delaware Series #25)
     

Deception (Alex Delaware Series #25)

3.6 263
by Jonathan Kellerman
 

See All Formats & Editions

Her name is Elise Freeman, and her chilling cry for help comes too late to save her. On a DVD found near her lifeless body, the emotionally and physically battered woman chronicles a long ordeal of abuse at the hands of three sadistic tormentors. But even more shocking is the revelation that the offenders, like their victim, are teachers at one of L.A.’s most

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Deception (Alex Delaware Series #25) 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 263 reviews.
chs287228 More than 1 year ago
All of a sudden, the prices are now 13 and 14 dollars! Too much! Also, too many books on pre-order when they've been on the shelves in stores for weeks and months! Feel like we've been had buying the Nook after waiting several months for delivery!!!!
harstan More than 1 year ago
Windsor Preparatory Academy teacher Elise Freeman is found dead in her apartment in Studio City. The victim is found lying in a tub of dry ice. Los Angeles Police Department Deputy Chief Weinberg assigns the homicide investigation to Lieutenant Milo Sturgis with a stern warning to keep the exclusive Brentwood school out of the inquiry as much as possible though he offers no explanation; veteran cop Milo is used to personal agenda restrictions from superiors.. Milo is concerned with his boss' admonition because Elise left behind a DVD accusing three of her peers of sexual harassment. He believes the case must start with them. Psychologist Alex Delaware assists Milo on the case and soon the pair find a teacher with plenty of skeletons that those involved with her want to remain interred. However, one of them has killed before and is willing to kill again to keep the bones buried. As always in this remarkable police procedural, the lead pair of Milo and Alex make for a fine story line as they debate the merits of the case and much more. The investigation is totally hampered by Chief Weinberg placing a major stipulation on Detective Sturgis; this adds depth and a sense of realism to the whodunit. Fans of the long running series will enjoy Deception as the investigators seek Evidence while walking the tightrope of brass interference. Harriet Klausner
AuntLoLo More than 1 year ago
Honest, fellow readers,I really couldn't put this book down and as a result, I received eye strain for my efforts. DECEPTION went with me to 3 doctors offices, my husband's office (waited for him)and even a drag race. The only thing is that I got aggravated at Alex because I wore my brain out trying to figure out what he was thinking... ahead of the vocalization of his theory. Milo is especially thoughtful in this book, in his Milo way, and I liked it. The old adage is correct; this is a real page turner. And yes, I'm not ashamed that I am a Milo Sturgis and Alex Delaware groupie.
StuSS More than 1 year ago
Suddenly books are $13.50 when the big nook hype was $9.99 for best sellers. False advertising at it's finest. Lot's of Nook owners would like to return their Nooks. Me too! How do I return it for credit?
wolftever More than 1 year ago
It's always nice to have a new Alex Delaware novel in my hands. This is the second Delaware novel I've read for the first time on the Nook, and I have to say I am loving the little device! Much easier to carry it on the airplane than carrying a couple of hard-cover novels. "Deception" isn't anything terribly original ... but it feels like sitting down with an old friend. Alex and Milo and Robin: I LOVE these characters, always have and always will. And unlike Patricia Cornwell, Kellerman has managed to keep the proceedings from becoming stale or too unpredictable. I mean, you know what you're getting with a Delaware novel; and that's still a good thing. Not so much with the Scarpetta novels, in my opinion. I highly recommend this book!
emmi331 More than 1 year ago
Psychologist Alex Delaware and his friend Detective Milo Sturgis try to unravel the reasons behind the murder of a teacher at a prestigious private school near Los Angeles. Elise Freeman would seem to have plenty of enemies, in her professional life as well as in her private one. Her promiscuity and shady financial dealings in recent years don't help matters. Higher-ups at both the exclusive school and in the police department would rather hush the murder up, but Milo isn't having it. In this one, narrator Alex drops a bit into the background, with Milo's impressive interrogative (he prefers to call it "interviewing") skills coming to the fore. A fast, enjoyable read.
ColeBC More than 1 year ago
The latest from Jonathan Kellerman does not disappoint! I could not put this book down and couldn't wait to see what happened next. The story line is tight and the characters and action are vintage Kellerman. This is one of the best Alex Delaware mysteries in a while.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love all of the Jonathan Kellerman books with Alex Delaware.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all but three of Jonathan Kellerman's books, with the sad realization that the more recent the novel, the more shallow the story. I have found the story to be unimaginative (main character seducing female by page 13) and shallow. I was hoping for an "on the edge of my seat, can't put it down" story-line, but have had no problems putting this one down, and not much interest in picking it back up. Think this might be the end of following Alex Delaware, and all of Jonathan Kellerman's characters. Will have to wait and see :(
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Morals win in the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the second Alex Delaware novel I have ready by Jonathan Kellerman. I find the writing style entertaining & easy to read, but nothing that you will find intellectually intriguing or mentally stimulating. The most disappointing aspect of the novels I have read so far is that I find little character development of the main characters in the 2 novels I have read. So far, there is a tiny bit of back ground on both of the central characters, but almost nothing in terms of true understanding of what is going on inside the head of either character, or what led them to where they are now. But really that's ok, since this is entertainment genre literature - not a classic work of literary fiction. If you are looking for an interesting & engaging beach read and enjoy murder-mystery novels, I would recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nothing much happened.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago