×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Deep in the Valley (Grace Valley Series #1)
     

Deep in the Valley (Grace Valley Series #1)

4.1 131
by Robyn Carr
 

See All Formats & Editions

Welcome to Grace Valley, California— where blood runs thicker…ties are stronger…and love is all the more sweet.

Visitors to the town often remark about the valley's peace and beauty—both of which are plentiful. Unlocked doors, front porches, pies cooling in the windows—this is country life at its finest. But visitors don't always

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Deep in the Valley 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 131 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I can honestly say that Deep in the Valley is one of the best novels I have read in quite some time. However, the classification as a romance novel is somewhat misleading. Don't get me wrong, there is romance in it, it is just that there is so much more to this book than just romance. It is about the many different relationships and roles that one person plays with the individuals of an entire town. If you live in Northern California, or anywhere with small towns, you'll recognize your neighbors as you turn the pages. I loved this book. I'd read it again in a heartbeat.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Have only read half of the book and am already into all the characters. Can't wait to finish this one and go on to book 2 and 3. Love the author's style, location and characters. Makes me want to go there and be a part of their lives.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In her late thirties in Grace Valley, California, Dr. June Hudson wonders if she will ever find a lasting relationship. She would like something similar to that shared between her dad and her mom who died nine years ago. Even as she speculates that no one is available for her, June interviews a new doctor, John Stone, to share the overwhelming workload, but he has a past that makes him seem shaky.

Beneath the surface of the small Mendocino County town lies different extremes of sexual harassment. Gus Craven is physically and mentally abusive towards his wife and children. Gary Baker not only hits his spouse Christina, he demands she remain model thin even though she carries his baby. Even the married pastor makes plays for females and has had affairs. Can June and company idly sit by while her gender is under attack? She is also beginning to fall in love with an undercover Drug Enforcement Agent.

DEEP IN THE VALLEY is a complex look inside relationships in an isolated small Northern California town. The story line is enjoyable yet scary because the large cast of charcaters seems genuine. Although the ending lessons the impact of the problems of spousal and child abuse, and the need to bring medical attention to remote areas, the plot works because fans care about the vast ensemble. Robyn Carr provides readers a powerful, thought-provoking work of contemporary fiction that centers on some members of our population living their lives under constant terrorist activity.

Harriet Klausner

Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this entire series.
Terrilyn More than 1 year ago
I absolutely LOVE all of Robyn Carr's books. I want more of the Grace Valley series. The Virgin River Series are equally as good. I have read all of her books and am waiting for more. Please continue to add to the Virgin River and Grace Vally series. I love all the characters in both of these series.
RRPNC More than 1 year ago
Great author and wonderful book!! Recommend Highly!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is a good start to a new series. Liked the way she introduced the people into Grace Valley.
janibeth More than 1 year ago
This series was very enjoyable. Hope there is more books added to this story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Highly recommend if you like going to a small area of Northern California where you get lost in the people who live there. I've read all in the series of Virgin River and Grace Valley by Robyn Carr and can't wait for more. Chesapeake Nana
akreaderJH More than 1 year ago
This is the first of the three books in Ms Carr's Grace Valley Series and introduces characters 'seen' later in the Virgin River series. Great introduction to all the characters - well written and very enjoyable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoy these books. Robyn Carr has a way of putting you into the town and relating with the characters. I would recommend reading them in sequence.
patemtPK More than 1 year ago
This book along with book 2, 3, 4, was a bundle. I started and now I find myself not putting these books down up to book 12 now with 4 to go. These books are the only books I have read by Ms Carr but I have to say that I have to put you on my author list. Thank you Robyn Carr.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you've read any of the "Virgin River" series, it's a must to read the "Grace Valley" stories. I just hope both series keep going.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the book, loved the series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have become a fan of Robyn Carr. Even though I am not normally drawn to "love" stories. Her ability to weave a story around what might be your neighbors is amazing. Her characters are real and you leave her books with a sense of well being.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
May i be leader?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good novel only no where's near as good as Virgin River series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago