×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Deeper Than the Dead
     

Deeper Than the Dead

4.0 650
by Tami Hoag
 

See All Formats & Editions

A serial killer terrorizes a small California town in this gripping thriller from #1 New York Times bestselling author Tami Hoag.

California, 1985—Four children and young teacher Anne Navarre make a gruesome discovery: a partially buried female body, her eyes and mouth glued shut. A serial killer is at large, and the very bonds that hold

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Deeper Than the Dead 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 650 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1985 in Oak Knoll in Southern California, fifth-grader Tommy Crane and Wendy Morgan run away from the class bully Dennis Farman and his flunkie Cody Roach when the fleeing pair trips over over the head of a dead woman. The victim was buried in the woody section of Oakwood Park up to her neck; her eyes and mouth glued shut. Their fifth grade teacher Anne Navarre tries to help the two children cope. Sheriff's Detective Tony Mendez has just come home from attending an eleven-week profiling class at the FBI Academy. He points out this is the third victim in two years, but Dennis' father Chief Deputy Frank Farman says it is only two inside their jurisdiction and insists "signatures" have nothing to do with the case. Sheriff Cal Dixon points out the differences in the profile between this case and the previous two. Meanwhile Anne becomes the prime suspect as FBI Agent Vince Leone arrives to lead the investigation. This is an exhilarating serial killer thriller made fresh by using the mid 1980s as the date so that profiling remains voodoo to some old time law enforcement officials. The story line is fast paced from the moment Tommy trips over the head of the mostly interred victim and never slows down until the climax in a hospital room and a drive on the Interstate. Although too many threads are left dangling even for a sequel or two, fans will relish Tamu Hoag's enjoyable Reagan Era police procedural. Harriet Klausner
sahmpamm More than 1 year ago
I could not stop reading Deeper Than the Dead by Tami Hoag. I think its her best book yet. I liked it so much I bought the hardback for my mom, who also loved it. It is a crazy, dark story that keeps you guessing up 'til the very end. Of course I guessed totally wrong, but that's the way I like my murder/mysteries. I want to be surprised so I can read it again and find every detail and clue I missed. I am not really a hard core murder/mystery buff, but I have now read two of Tami Hoag's books and I am very impressed. Her writing hooks you right away and leaves you needing to read "just one more chapter" before you go to sleep. Be careful, you will find yourself reading into the wee hours of the night without even getting sleepy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had a little bit of a hard time getting into the characters and plot but it was well written and carried everything that was going on very well. The children were well placed throughout the story as well as the adults. I especially liked the FBI agent's input into the investigation without trying to take over and the mentoring he was doing. The young teacher was a wonderful addition to the characters which showed a dedicated,caring person and very tolerant of a father who was a very bitter and self centered man. It was difficult at times to remember what it was like back in the 80's when the DNA was just coming into the picture and cell phones were almost non-existant. (How did we ever survive?)
xcptnc More than 1 year ago
At the beginning, I thought this was going to be written with a feminists' agenda. That was short-lived. I found this author to be sensitive to all views. Although I sensed who the culprit was (and there were many possibilities) it was the author who revealed at the end....and then some. I recommend this book to the avid reader. I plan to look for her other works.....enjoy....xcptnc (pronounced "acceptance")
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just when I thought I knew who the bad guy was, it changed ... several times!! Bad language was only used in appropriate place to tell us what kind of person we are dealing with. Not too much sexual discriptions to distract from the thrilling plot. I love it when I'm surprised at an ending, and I was!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. I actually couldn't put it down. Every page was a new twist with something happening. You get to know the characters and feel their emotions, while wanting to hurry to the next page.One of the best books I've read in a long time.
P-king More than 1 year ago
I have not been a Tami Hoag fan. I've tried in the past to get into her books, but the books haven't clicked with me. Not so with this new series: setting in 1985, during the early criminal profiling era appealed to me as I lived it live myself. Also, extremely appealing is the character development of the two protagonists: Vince and Anne. They are attention grabbing characters with fascinating backgrounds and character traits. I could not get enough of those characters, and can't wait to read the next in this series. The voice of the characters is real; I found myself reading SLOWLY, just so the book would not end! Now, THAT is the mark of a terrific read!
Graziel More than 1 year ago
The story is very fast paced, something you can't put down and forget about it for a hour. I had to read, breathe, sip my hot tea every now and then because that's how hot it was!! Hoag delivers punches after punches, and leaves you wondering what's next. Some of the characters - you can't help but feel sorry for. I enjoyed reading this book. This one was probably one of her best written books ever, and hope she continues in the same line with this. I'd be interested to see Mendez's character develop after the surprise ending of her book. Let's just say...the ending was a total mind-blowing surprise! I'm still trying to reel my head around it!
Noel Lewis More than 1 year ago
I am an avid reader of all the popular authors of fictional literature, and this is by far the most engulfing book I have ever read. From word one, I was hooked. I cannot remember another book having such a hold on me as this one did. 5 stars is not enough for this captivating story. Be prepared, dear readers, to feel your heart literally rise and fall in your chest. I finished the book in 5 days. A must read if you're a fan of the serial crime novel. BRAVO
SANDTHOMAS More than 1 year ago
CAN'T PUT IT DOWN...AM READING IT EVERY WHERE I GO, CAN'T WAIT TO SEE "WHO DONE IT"! WRITTEN SO WELL. IT IS LIKE YOU ARE ACTUALLY LIVING IT WITH THEM. CAN'T WAIT TO READ HER OTHER BOOKS NOW! MY GRANDAUGHTER IS READING A COPY I BOUGHT FOR HER AS WELL. SHE IS BEATING ME. SHE CAN'T WAIT TO FINISH IT AS WELL! WE DISCUSS THE BOOK AND TRY TO FIGURE WHO THE KILLER MAY BE. SO MUCH FUN AND WONDERFUL READING. GRUESOME, BUT THRILLING!
Suspensemag More than 1 year ago
In a stunning return to writing, Tami Hoag changes the game by returning her readers to forensics of the past in "Deeper than the Dead". As fans, we find books cluttering the store shelves where protagonists need only turn on their blackberry to solve the most heinous crimes. It often seems to be a competition-similar to that of our favorite television shows-to offer us storylines that are more and more implausible yet easily solved using state-of-the-art technology. "Deeper than the Dead" returns us to a time where crimes are solved using instinct, people skills and good old-fashioned hard work. Without the benefit of computers or mobile devices, the authorities begin their manhunt when a small group of children stumbles upon the body of an unknown woman. In this small, peaceful California town-where families go to get away from crime-appearances are everything and the anxiety escalates as the body count rises and the suspect pool expands. Hoag's fans will agree that she has always had an amazing knack for creating strong, believable characters with interlocking plot lines but "Deeper than the Dead" displays a new chapter in this author's body of work. Readers will find themselves locked into a true gut wrenching suspense; surprised until the very end as unexpected turns remind us that books aren't always predictable. Reviewed by Suspense Magazine www.suspensemagazine.com
1louise1 More than 1 year ago
Four Families and a Serial Killer...Scary, intense with plenty of twists and turns! Worth your time!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When four children stumble across the body of a young, female, homicide victim in a local public park, lives are changed forever. Not only for the children but for the rest of the town as well. A community is rocked by the revelation of horror in the midst of their sleepy little town. Tami Hoag takes us on a page turning, nail biting ride through this tale and leaves us wondering what will become of the youths who were changed forever on that fateful day. (A great read, not to be passed by!)
iluvvideo More than 1 year ago
An engaging thriller that that takes place in 1984, the dawn of modern criminal investigation tools that we now take for granted. No DNA tests, computer records, fingerprint matches done by eye alone and more. The FBI think tank "The Nine" are just starting to scientifically investigate crime, i.e. profiling, taking a closer look at the smaller but very important factors that make each crime unique. In a sleepy California college town, four fifth graders are running through a wooded park when one falls onto a murdered woman who is buried up to her neck. They react in different ways and are lucky to have a committed teacher that tries to help them deal with their gruesome discovery. She also winds up helping the police and FBI by providing a conduit for information. She finds out many secrets that lie behind the 'small town' facade. Will that prove to be the tipping point that leads to the solution? Can they solve the mystery before anyone else is killed?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put this book down. I have read several of her books and this book is right up with her best.
Pmann12 More than 1 year ago
OK, so I enjoy a serial killer thriller as much as the next guy. This one was even more fun to read because I was actually an adult in the mid-80s and remember these types of story-lines on TV shows. The absence of techno here makes the investigators efforts and thought processes a more central part of the story than many contemporary thrillers. Hoag renders a tight plot-line and keeps the story moving toward the inevitable discovery of the killer/killers. Standard, but well written and entertaining for an afternoon read.
NinnyJC More than 1 year ago
Great book that will keep you reading til all hours! Three children & their teacher find the body of women and the local police discover they have a serial killer on the loose. The killings marks the end of innocence for a small California town in 1984 as the ties that bind families are tested by secrets yet uncovered and everyone is a suspect in these brutal killings. You will follow the lives of the teacher, the cops, the locals and the children who found the body, never ever figuring out who dunnit til the very last neatly wrapped up chapter. BRAVO!!! If you loved Guilty as Sin as much as I did, this one somehow tops it!
Sam-C More than 1 year ago
**spoiler alert** I've been in a reading rut lately. I've been trying new authors and giving previous authors another try, but have found nothing but consistent disappointment. Tami Hoag fits the former category. I'm always looking for new authors and series to read. Looks like this will be another series I set aside without knowing if I'll return to it. If these last several reads are any indication, I foresee many sleepless nights wondering where the enthralling storytellers have gone to.  In the novel's opening pages, we learn that the killer is a father of a schoolchild. We are given a small cast of fathers/their respective kids, who are the same age and in the same class. The obvious choices are: Steve Morgan, Frank Farman, and Peter Crane.  Steve Morgan has moments of sketchiness and guilt, but nothing too convincing.  Frank Farman is the clear choice because he's a deputy, who defines himself by the job and has anger management issues fueled by alcoholism. He's a difficult person to handle, beats his wife (he ends up killing her in a drunken fury and mimics the killer's MO to try to cover up his bloody hands) and his son (a troubled, deranged child, who is a killer's protege) regularly.  Lastly, you have the man of the year. You know, the upstanding member of the community, who is sweet, generous, and charming. Peter Crane is his name. You guessed it; he's your killer. If it wasn't Frank Farman, it was Peter Crane, and you had these two finalists pegged maybe three chapters into the story. Naturally, his wife/others said that he would NEVER do such a thing...I know I've seen that somewhere before... This book is yet another example of a poorly edited story. The book was 500+ pages and could have been maybe 300. I'm willing to forgive certain things if the ending is captivating and surprising. Because of the predictability of the ending, the story was not justified. Most of the book was tedious conversation and conjecture. Aside from the conclusion (the last few chapters), you maybe have two chapters randomly inserted in the story devoted to the killer in the moment. Here's a pretty accurate outline of the story: - Killer is male and has a young child. - Body is found. - Redundant questions, conjecture, and leaps in logic. - Killer has another victim. - Redundant questions, conjecture, and leaps in logic.  - Hot sex. - Deus ex machina (the killer, as part of his MO, carefully places cuts on his victims, so Detective Mendez had the idea of "connecting the dots." It was a CRANE.) - Killer, Peter CRANE, is apprehended. Ridiculous.
shaun ross More than 1 year ago
One of the best books Ive read! Picked it up on a whim and loved every page of it!
Monique Peace More than 1 year ago
Great suspense novel. I just downloaded the next book in the series and can' t wait to start reading!
dcMS More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best I've read in a long long time. Keeps you on the edge of your seat until the very end. You don't want to miss it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tami Hoag's Deeper than the Dead Is a definitely a keeper. The plot twists and turns and leaves you too horrified to turn the page- or put it down! I would recommend this book to all thrill seekers!
momoftwinsMM More than 1 year ago
Tami Hoag did it again. The book is thrilling, rife with suspense and emotion. She explores the parent-child relationship, mostly abusive, and how it can mold and change us. I must admit, I had moments of true fear while I read and found I coudln't put the book down. I felt that I knew who the serial killer was the entire time, but she keeps throwing in suspects that make second guess ourselves--she literally keeps us guessing until the very end. I can't wait for her next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As usual, the latest book was great. It was exciting to the end. Wish it had been longer as I did not want to put it down. Keep up the good work Tami Hoag. You are one of my favorite authors who stays true to your books.
LovetoreadDR More than 1 year ago
I have always liked Hoag books after I discovered them in paperback at a Walmart years ago. I then read everything she had written and anxiously await the next one. This was no exception. Many twists and turns and at the end you still wonder really who the bad guy was. Worth waiting for and a great read for all mystery readers.