×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Deerslayer
     

The Deerslayer

4.5 44
by James Fenimore Cooper
 

See All Formats & Editions

The deadly crack of a long rifle and the piercing cries of Indians on the warpath shatter the serenity of beautiful lake Glimmerglass. Danger has invaded the vast forests of upper New York State as Deerslayer and his loyal Mohican friend Chingachgook attempt the daring rescue of an Indian maiden imprisoned in a Huron camp. Soon they are caught in the crossfire

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Deerslayer 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 44 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely captivating
Guest More than 1 year ago
A little slow getting past the first 150 pages, but the story starts to pick up from that point until about page 400. Then it is nonstop, can't-put-the-book-down excitement!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Just finished reading it, and I loved it! i will say that it can be hard to understand at some times. I usually will day dream while I'm reading, but this book kept hold of me. I wouldn't recommend it for someone around 13 and under. I think it was great!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading this book. In truth, it is long and can at times be monotonous and repetitive. However, this book is a good look at the virgin forest and the stout inhabitants that dwelt in its heart. There are some very good highlights, mainly towards the end, but there are sure some lulls and places where Deerslayer is too perfect and too talkative. Still, I was thoroughly satisfied with the book and the author, even though a joke or two about his style will surely pop into your head. I wish I could give Deerslayer five stars, but it isn't really as outstanding as other 5 star books. Overall, a good relaxing read.
Anonymous 15 days ago
An excellent read best read in longer time than I did in one week. Very or almost too descriptive at times it still holds true the human nature so diverse in Gods created beings in His Own Likeness.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hullo
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yawns.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gds
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name- Treepaw |:( <br> Age: 6 1/2 moons <br> Gender: she cat <br> Appearance: Brown pelt with orange-brown stripeson tail, a pale brown muzzle, and amber eyes <br> Personality: Curious and playful <br> Mentor: Don't have one yet.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
where is flashkit?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ghvg
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pour in. May we join?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name: pricklekit Age: two moons Family: abondonded Personality: usually is reckless brave and happy, but after being taken away from his horrible parents by his brothers, is pretty miserable. Coat and looks: dark gray with prickly fur (hence his name) and sweet, large brown eyes. Just imagine a little puppy whos been kicked too many times and a cat, and you have pricklekit.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Good setting and plot but challenging to read. I would not recommend it to anyone younger that me.