×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Defending Angels (Beaufort and Company Series #1)
     

Defending Angels (Beaufort and Company Series #1)

4.1 37
by Mary Stanton
 

See All Formats & Editions

With a long list of ethereal clients who need her help, Savannah lawyer Brianna Winston Beaufort?s career choice is beginning to haunt her?

An already dead businessman needs Bree?s help to find his murderer and prove his innocence against the charge of greed, which comes from the mightiest hand of the law, the Celestial Court. And the verdict in this case could put

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Defending Angels (Beaufort and Company Series #1) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 37 reviews.
debbieaheaton More than 1 year ago
In Stanton’s mystery novel, Brianna Winston-Beaufort has just inherited her uncle’s law practice in—where else?—the most haunted city in the world, Savannah. Since her uncle died in a fire in his office, Bree rents temporary space in an old house located in the middle of an all murderers’ cemetery while she waits for the renovations to be completed. Her first case rises from a local businessman who manages to call her just hours after his death. Mystified, Bree is stunned to realize that her new employees, her landlord, a local PI, and ever her recently rescued dog seem to know more about her new law practice than she does. The recently deceased insists he was murdered and won’t rest until justice is served, and dedicated lawyer that she is, Bree works the case to the end. An enchanting heroine and an elegant setting that kept me turning the page until the end.
Exotic_TeaLady More than 1 year ago
It was my lucky day when I discovered this series. The concept is novel and the the writing is very good. I enjoyed all the characters and the plot line was interesting. I'm thrilled there are 3 more books available and am hoping the author has many more in store. Highly recommended if you like paranormal mysteries.
kimba88 More than 1 year ago
Great book, I am looking forward to reading the next 2 in series. This is a wonderful mystery with lots of twists. It has a pinch of paranormal. If you've never tried paranormal this is a great way to wet your toes :)
Lindsey146 More than 1 year ago
Not being a fan of the paranormal genre, I hesitated starting this series. But due to the strength of Mary Stanton being the pseudonym of Claudia Bishop whose Hemlock Falls series have provided such enjoyable reading over the years, I considered trying this first issue of the "Beaufort & Co Mysteries". I am so glad I did! Brianna Winston-Beaufort, a young law graduate inherits a very unique legal practice from her Uncle who recently died in an mysterious fire, an esteemed past professor for her mentor, an office located in the "murderers cemetery" which is impossible to find, a timeless landlady, staff that is simply angelic, clients who are seemly beyond help, and a pet Bree saves from the jaws of death. The format unravels gradually keeping the reader wondering and enjoying this delightful, unusual and addictive cozy. After finishing this fun debut, I immediately bought and read the next two books in this series. Definitely looking forward to many more.
FoodieMysteryFan More than 1 year ago
An old cemetary is a odd place for a law office but it definitly works. If you enjoy stories about ghosts you'll like this one. Sorting out the living from the dead was interesting and unexpected! Can't wait to read the rest of the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very offbeat story that I wasn't sure about purchasing, but am pleased that I did. I enjoyed the originality. It moved quickly and I am looking forward to reading more of the series to learn more about the characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mikesue More than 1 year ago
Very enjoyable. Just the right combination of paranormal and real life family issues. The author makes you care and root for these characters. I quickly read the 2nd book and eagerly await the 3rd.. Hurry up!!!
pamlloyd More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed it, I like the characters very much and I will certainly read another. The reason I sound a little hesitant is because perhaps too much background although I cannot see how she would have completed the story-line without giving us this much background. Hmmmm. Will definitely read more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
spitfireonwheels More than 1 year ago
I thought I had myself a real good find here, only to be disappointed. Everything that happened seemed so random. The episode with the picture, the dog, the face. Nothing is explained in great detail. Everything just happens, then its gone. I am a lover of these kinds of book, both cozy with a good mystery twist. I have read plenty and this is only the second book I have ever read that I could not get through to the end. Maybe the second book is more developed, I dont know. If you want some good reads along these lines, try Victoria Laurie, Charlaine Harris or Shirley Damsgaard. Oh yeah, and of course Madelyn Alt...
Soulpoet More than 1 year ago
This was a good first entry in a series. The background and set up of the characters was solidly done without too much being given away too soon. It is a light mystery with a supernatural aspect to it that makes it more interesting than a standard mystery. Lighter than Heather Graham, but a good read nonetheless.