×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Defiant One
     

The Defiant One

4.6 19
by Danelle Harmon
 

See All Formats & Editions

"The bluest of blood, the boldest of hearts; the de Montforte brothers will take your breath away."

Blessed -- or perhaps cursed -- with a fiery temper, a strong will, and a blatant disregard for his brother's wishes, Lord Andrew de Montforte's only desire is to be left alone. But after being caught in a compromising position with tempting Lady Celsiana

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Defiant One 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
onmtntime More than 1 year ago
I have loved all three books so far and I am looking forward to the wicked one. Laughed out loud so much through all three.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This series of books should be read in order. L loved the series. I highly recommend this series. I am currently reading anything she wrote. Danelle makes you feel like a member of the family.
Guest More than 1 year ago

Danelle Harmon's at the top of her game in her latest addition to the de Montforte saga. When last we saw Andrew, he was in his ill-fated flying machine with his brother Charles, winging from the fire that ruined his laboratory and sent noxious fumes into the air, the aftereffects of which play a major part in The Defiant One. Oh yes, and we again have Lucien, Duke of Blackheath--matchmaker extraordinaire--at his meddlesome, obnoxious best. (Ms. Harmon promises that Lucien will get a proper comeuppance in The Wicked One, due in January, 2001 & I eagerly await seeing him meet his match.)

If all this were not enough, The Defiant One offers something for those who are animal lovers ( Our heroine, Celsie, is a woman far ahead of her time in her cause against the abuse of animals), a discovered-by-accident aphrodisiac that has half the country after it, and enough humor to have kept me chuckling in all the right places.

I've read every one of Danelle's books, starting with her first, Pirate in My Arms, and The Defiant One adds another jewel to her literary crown. Ms. Harmon just keeps getting better and I can't recommend this book highly enough

harstan More than 1 year ago

In 1777 England, Lord Andrew de Monteforte shuns polite society ever since the fire that destroyed his health as well as his tolerance for simpering maidens. Andrew hides in his laboratory inventing things including accidentally creating an aphrodisiac.

Andrew¿s older brother Lucien worries about the changes in his sibling¿s personality since the blaze. He marches physician after physician to look at his sib, but Andrew scorns every one of them. When canine lover Lady Celsiana learns from Lucien that Andrew is experimenting on animals, she decides to confront the maniac in his lab. Instead, Celsiana is ushered into Andrew¿s bedroom where they are caught in what is obviously a set-up compromising position. Though both are loath to marry, they agree they must wed. As they fall in love, a nasty villain will murder anyone who tries to stop his efforts to steal Andrew¿s love potion.

Book three in Danelle Harmon¿s de Montefort siblings series is an entertaining, often times jocular Georgian romance that lives up to its predecessors standard of excellence. The story line is fun and breezy due to the interplay between the lead duet. At times WC Fields will come to mind as the animals steal the show from their human pets. Fans of a humorous historical romance will savor the story of the DEFIANT ONE and impatiently wait for the conclusion starring the Machiavellian WICKED ONE.

Harriet Klausner

Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book of Andrew and Celsiana 's story was very entertaining and fun to read. Another great adventure to enjoy.
AGoodell More than 1 year ago
Book three in the series and I think my fav! I'm pretty sure I laughed the whole time. You can't help but fall in love w/Andrew and his 'issues' w/the Duke. After reading bk one and two and yet fell into the same trap :) The discussion on how the 'kill' The Duke between A/C/N is so funny I read it over and over. This one is about trust and finding it again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not my fave of the brothers but in true Danelle Harmon fashion I really enjoyed tge story. Quite intriguing and held my attention with the mystery that was cleverly woven into this story! Also just loved Celsie to death!
Joni78 More than 1 year ago
I have to say that they are all wonderful books. Each one is faced with different obstacles and the one constant in all 3 so far has been Lucien and I am so looking forward to his book.. This is a MUST READ series to all historical romance fans!!! I am so glad that I ran across the first one this is definitely an author I will keep watching for. Now I am off to read The Wicked One.
cathie35 More than 1 year ago
See my review of the Beloved One.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved these books about the four brothers! Each with their own story, and their own romance!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago