×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Deficit of Decency
     

Deficit of Decency

3.3 10
by Zell Miller
 
Features a Foreword by Sean Hannity

In February of 2004, Senator Zell Miller delivered the speech "A Deficit of Decency" on the Senate floor. The speech considered the very soul of America and generated an unexpectedly massive response from people across the nation.

Expanding on this theme in his new book by the same title, former U.S. Senator and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Deficit of Decency 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
SEN Miller's work is very interesting, in that he articulates the intangibles of a society. This work is certain to anger those who disagree with him, as is evident by two posted reviews and in my own personal experience from having left the Democratic fold. In the eyes of the 'loyal,' you become the worst kind of person, almost in the same vein as the 'faithful' Muslims are expected to 'kill' those who turn away from the faith. The people that Miller comments on are simply self-appointed important persons with no spiritual background, save that they see themselves as gods, and the highest stage of being. Being bold enough to tell these people that they do not hold a unassailable moral position (as they seem to have near orgasmic glee in making accusations against others' morality, and then claim that everyone else's beliefs are flawed) would seem to point out simple human hypocracy. Alas, our self-annointed 'betters' don't seem to catch on.
Guest More than 1 year ago
While others who disagree with the content of this literary work, and have never mentioned the actual content, but instead deliver to you slander and mud throwing, I actually read the book - It was supurb! The liberal press can sling as much mud as they want to, but those with the ability to cognate and reason would purchase the book and make their own decision. Chances are, you'll find yourself agreeing with the author!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is like the speech at the Republican convention with one very clear exception - it's boring. We've heard this twaddle already. Because he's a Democrat (or Dixiecrat) we're supposed to take him seriously. It just doesn't wash.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Absolutely on of the most important books of the last few years. I couldn't put it down. Our country is currently spiraling downward into a moral vacuum and this book illustrates that point in a very clear and provocative manner. Read this book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This books is one of the best books that I have read in a long time! Sen. Miller makes terrific sense. Many authors use too many pages to say so little...yet Sen. Miller, with his ability to hold his readers attention, uses too few pages to say so much. It was difficult to put this book down. I would love to buy a copy of this book for everyone I know.
Guest More than 1 year ago
While I enjoyed the book one thing I did notice is that Mr.Miller seems to overlook that this country has rarely acted like a Christian. He speaks how this nation needs to get back to its christian roots but fails to metion that these same christians owned slaves, killed off most of the Native Americans, have shown intolerance to other nationalities, have exploited cheap overseas labor, have started more wars in the past 200 years than any nation and try to censor anything that they don't believe in. I am not sure if I want to go back to that.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I agree with a lot of Zell Miller's beliefs, but I feel like our Christian Nation is getting destroyed by corporations. As a Christian, I have seen textile factories close, jobs lost, towns destoryed, communtications pushing Britney Spears on every airwave. I think Republicans and Democrats who help corporate interests overly so are destroying the latest generation.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Zell demonstrates that he is mentally unstable but I long suspected this when he challenged Chris Matthews to a duel after lying on the Democratic party and John Kerry in that hate-spewed speech at the Republican National Convention. For him to say that Bush is fit to lead this country after there were no WMDs found in Iraq and all he has done to hurt the troops and the working and middle class in America, demonstrates that Zell Miller lost out on a political appointment he wanted in DC and that is why he betrayed his party! Bush treasures loyalty beyond all else, so Miller has been used by the GOP and now is a man without a political party. The GOP can never trust or respect him and neither do the Democrats. Shame on Zell for trying to say that Democrats are not spiritual when our roots are richly based in faith! Zell has lost his mind!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Having read his first book, A National Party No More, I was especially surprised to find that I liked A Deficit of Decency even more. Especially interesting was his description of what led to his support of President Bush and giving the speech at the convention. Then he gives the real scoop on what was behind the 'dual' episode with Chris Matthews. He takes us behind the sceens of the campaign with Bush. But most important is his discussion of where we go from here as a country. I agree with his assessment of the United Nations situation, judicial appointments and the Senate filibuster, and illegal immigration. He challenges us to consider the indecency that has overtraken our society. A great read that I will give as a gift to others. Thanks Zell Miller. I hope you continue to write in your retirement.
Guest More than 1 year ago
ONCE YOU READ THIS BOOK YOU WILL NOT BE THE SAME. IF YOU ARE AREGISTERED VOTER LIKE IAM THEAN YOU NEED TO READ ZELL MILLERS BOOK ' A DEFICIT OF DECENCY' CAUSE THIS SMART MAN LAYS DOWN THE TRUTH ABOUT THIS COUNTRY AND WHAT IT NEEDS TO GET BACK ON ITS FEET. THIS BOOK WOULD MAKE A GREAT GIFT FOR A FRIEND FAMILY MEMBER OR SOCIAL AQUAINTENCE. GET THIS BOOK FOR YOUR SELF AND BUY AN EXTRA COPY OR TWO FOR FRIENDS AND MAYBE YOU CAN MAKE A DIFFERENCE . BUY IT ON WWW.BN.COM NO LINES NO CROWDS NO HASSLE.