×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Delicious!
     

Delicious!

4.5 39
by Ruth Reichl
 

See All Formats & Editions

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Includes an exclusive conversation between Ruth Reichl and Emily Giffin

Ruth Reichl is a born storyteller. Through her restaurant reviews, where she celebrated the pleasures of a well-made meal, and her bestselling memoirs that address our universal feelings of love and loss, Reichl has achieved a special

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Delicious!: A Novel 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 39 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is everything i want a book to be. Great characters whom i care about. Food. And a little mystery. I am halfway through and cannot put it down.
Christine_Emming More than 1 year ago
Billie Breslin is the kind of girl I'd befriend: hungry and bookish. Always agog and somewhat bumbling, this romantic comedy lead stumbles onto the foodie magazine scene in an enviable scenario (somewhat reminiscent of Reichl's own haphazard trajectory), where she endures bullying and a repeat caller who comically messes up the magazine's recipes. Hoping to prove her writing chops from the editor's assistant position, Billie's new job at Delicious! magazine still leaves wiggle room for a weekend job dishing Italian sides at a close-knit family shop, the fodder for Billie's first published article and an unsurprising romance. The book's unexpected turn comes when Billie unearths a series of letters between a teenaged girl and James Beard written during World War II and hidden in a secret room of the magazine's boarded-up library. As Billie follows the late librarian's clues to find the hidden letters, her search also leads to deepened friendships and self-discovery, and, naturally, a makeover. (I said romantic comedy, right? Totally a Drew Barrymore moment.) I've closely followed Reichl's writing for numerous reasons — okay, mainly the food writing with a large side of intrigue — and was excited to find her foray into fiction such a believable transition. Yes, there are several plot wrinkles that feel heavy-handed, but they're minor and, in my opinion, forgiveable. The characters, Billie in particular, are well-drawn and familiar, friendly people whom you want to like, making it easy to be drawn along with the story. But Reichl's imagined letters to James Beard are the real gems in this book, rich with history and curiosity.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book. I had read the story about her mother and knew something about her work, but just happened to pick this up. I absolutely loved it. Good story, good characters, liked the relationships, could enjoy food and not consume calories. Only bad thing about it? It ended! Hoping she writes another novel soon.
SilversReviews More than 1 year ago
Recipes, libraries, letters, books, food, authentic Italian butcher and cheese shops, aromas you can smell through the pages, and marvelous characters. What more can a reader ask for? DELICIOUS is a reader's and a cook's paradise. DELICIOUS is one wonderful page of words after another. The magic never stopped as Ms. Reichl introduced the reader to her believable, lovable characters and to mouthwatering food. Billie and every single character will steal your heart. The characters just had something that pulled you in. When Billie finds letters in the library of a now defunct magazine company that were sent to a famous chef, Mr. Beard, from 13-year old Lulu during WWII, the book continues with the same mood of enjoying life, enjoying food, and discovering oneself. If you love old buildings from the 1800's, you will be in for another surprise. These letters became the basis of DELICIOUS and also created a mystery about who Lulu was. The letters were used by a librarian as a fun game of finding clues that were very cleverly hidden and ones that led to the next clue...was the game ever over? If Lulu were still alive, Billie knew what a wonderful treat it would be to meet her. If you want to be entertained and have your taste buds taken to the highest level, be sure to read DELICIOUS. You will also have the pleasure of learning how to face hidden fears in your life and share your life with those you should share it with. DELICIOUS is unlike any book I have read. It grabs hold of you and takes you along for a "delicious" adventure and a very pleasurable reading ride. My rating of DELICIOUS is a taste tempting, entertaining, and loving 5/5. Don't miss reading DELICIOUS. It is a beautiful, delightful book.¿ I received this book free of charge and without compensation from the publisher in return for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wanted nothing to do with this book initially because it was not about serial killer or some other gripping mystery. I recognized where Billie was in the first third of the book and the rest was about putting her back together and processing her feelings. My dad died when I was about a third of the way through and this cast of characters kept me company for 125 pages that first night and then it took me two weeks to finish the rest of it. I'm so thankful I had this book to keep me company during that time that I will always remember that and Billie's healing helped me to process my feelings. Thank you to the author for all of that.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book . Started reading it and could not put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is delicious. I love the story about Billie and the various people she comes in contact with while working for a food magazine in NYC. The story is charming and the description of the foods made my mouth water. The story line was charming and moved along at a nice pace. Loved all the characters, Sal, Rosalie, Maggie, Mitch and Thursday. And the best was that it takes place in New York City. I am from the city and moved several years ago. It brought back so many memories and reminds how much I miss the city. I have can't forget to mention the great letters from Lulu to James Beard. Very clever. Great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'd give this less than a star if I could. I wish I liked it better, but I really get tired of Reichl's books replacing therapy. She needs to move on
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down! I love to cook and greatly enjoyed how the world of food was immersed in this story. While some of the story was a bit predictable, I was not expecting the story to include life during WWII. That storyline was an added treat to an already interesting read.
KBinPA More than 1 year ago
This was one of the best books I've ever read. I didn't want it to end. I hope Ruth Reichl can write another one. Hard to top this. Loved the chaacters, mystery, and the food.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely enjoyed it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another hit for Reichel. Her first work of fiction is a delight. Readers will love Billie and all of the characters in her world. Delicious is a fun glimpse into the foodie culture and publishing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DDJTJ More than 1 year ago
DELICIOUS is DELIGHTFUL! I was hooked on the book after the first page. The characters ( even Sherman) are wonderful and the sights, sounds, & smells of New York kept me reading page after page! I received this book from goodreads in exchange for a review
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I don't like to cook and I'm not a foodie but a friend recommended this so highly I bought it anyway. What a waste of money and time. It reminds me a book written for pre-teens,very unsophisticated. Not much of a plot, nothing surprising or unpredictable or even interesting. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Quite interesting and an easy read !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would love to spend time with the "characters" in this story. Major drawback: The descriptions of the food and drink. Hungry all the time.
nmkCO More than 1 year ago
Wonderful novel. Compelling story grabs you right away. I hope she writes more novels like this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a lovely book, with such wonderful characters. I had a tuck in day yesterday with a nasty bout of bronchitis, and it was a great book to cuddle up with. A nice cozy mystery solved through clues in an old fashioned card catalog in a locked secret library. Historical building and renovations, a bit of foodie talk, a love story, more foodie talk, travel talk, table setting talk, what more could a girl ask for? And thank you, not peppered with recipes. And a marvelous back story, of food rationing during World War II and James Beard which supplied one of the mysteries. I hated to have it end. I need to learn more about James Beard.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
aoshea More than 1 year ago
Ruth Reichl is also a foodie, who once worked as a restaurant critic for both the New York Times and the L.A. Times.  She also worked as an editor in chief at Gourmet Magazine, before the magazine closed in 2009.  That’s quite a career – and even though I never read Gourmet, I have enjoyed her writing.  This is not her first book, but it is her first works of fiction. Writing, like cooking, is a labor of love.  Delicious is the name of a fictional magazine, that the main character works at.  She’s from California, and fresh out of college leaves her home, to take this job in NYC.   The city, like her home in California is a foodie’s paradise, and though it takes her a while to adjust to life away from home – she falls in love with the city, it’s people, and its food.  The main character’s name is Billie, and there seems to be quite a bit of Ruth in the character.  I think that’s okay – it makes Billie much more real, and her work at the magazine so much more familiar.  She struggles at first at the magazine, she landed this great job at a food magazine – yet doesn’t even cook (yet is forced to cook something for the editor at the job interview)! She turns out to be a pretty good cook, and thrives at the magazine.  There is a bit of history in the story, which I really loved.  She’s connected to the magazine’s past when she discovers a series of letters written to a famous chef from a young girl named Lulu.  These two exchanged letters during WWII, and Billie finds the letters just behind the magazine’s library.  This was quite an experience for her, and seems to lift her out of her fog, since moving so far away from home – and the sister she very close to. At the end of the book there’s a great recipe for gingerbread that I can’t wait to try.  Even though I consider tmyself to be an experienced baker, this will be a challenge!  Having just finished this book, I’m now going to find some of her other books.  Before writing this book, she had published a few memoirs – about food, life, and her mother.  Those will now be on my TBR list!