×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Delivered from Distraction: Getting the Most Out of Life with Attention Deficit Disorder
     

Delivered from Distraction: Getting the Most Out of Life with Attention Deficit Disorder

4.2 61
by Edward M. Hallowell, John J. Ratey
 

See All Formats & Editions

In 1994, Driven to Distraction sparked a revolution in our understanding of attention deficit disorder. Widely recognized as the classic in the field, the book has sold more than a million copies. Now a second revolution is under way in the approach to ADD, and the news is great. Drug therapies, our understanding of the role of diet and exercise, even the way we

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Delivered from Distraction: Getting the Most Out of Life with Attention Deficit Disorder 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 59 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a book that I would recommend to anyone who wants to know more about ADHD, bipolar disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, and similar mental illnesses. Every person who suffers from mental illnesses as well as every person who knows a friend or loved one who suffers from mental illnesses should be encouraged to read this wonderful work of medical literature. The author covers the basic symptoms of ADHD, one's genetic predisposition to the disease, the effect one's environment and today's society may have on causing the appearance of ADHD, the difficulty of finding the right combination of treatment, medication, counseling, changes to one's lifestyle, and even firsthand accounts of struggles from the author's and other's lives. The greatest point that was made in my opinion is the fact that neuroscience, psychiatry, psychology and related disciplines have in the past 10 years only begun to discover the many misunderstandings of ADHD and related mental illnesses and also the fact that society in general has only recently attempted to correct its own views of mental handicaps. This will certainly be a work of medical media that will cause great controversy but also inspire others to continue advancing the world's understanding and handling of mental handicaps.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book is written for those who have ADHD and want to help themselves. You will have a lot of Aha's when you read this book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
We offer many thanks to Edward Hallowell for providing valuable insight into children and adults with ADD, ADHD and non-traditional learning styles. Dr. Hallowell busts open many of the myths about ADHD and offers proactive, hopeful solutions to parents. This philosophy is the foundation of our own unique approach called Celebrate!ADHD...in which we restore a child's confidence, purpose and joy by focusing on the child's natural gifts, talents and passions. www.celebrateADHD.com Like Dr. Hallowell, we believe that children with ADHD have many superior qualities that offer them unique advantages versus other children. The key is to take stock of their unique qualities, turn negatives into positives and focus their energy on their strengths. Above all, let's enjoy our children. Delivered from Distraction is a very insightful book that will give you lots of tips on how to better celebrate and enjoy your child.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was a huge help when I received my ADHD diagnosis.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an excellent and needed update to the authors' "Driven to Distraction". It is written in a way that those who suffer from ADD or ADHD can read and use. As a professional who sees many who struggle with ADD, I welcome and recommend the book as a guide for professionals as well as their patients.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Parents, Providers, and Adult ADHD sufferers can find great benefit through Dr. Hallowell's follow-up publication, Delivered From Distraction. For those who want the most from treatment.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book provides an impressive up-to-date review of the latest research in AD(H)D. From the name itself, to its defining criteria, and everyday issues, the authors provide a unique blend of personal as well as professional perspectives on this often misunderstood disorder. I will recommend this to colleagues and patients alike and it just as good as the original (Driven to Distraction).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Please
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is so helpful for young or older. Yes, someone does believe adults can have ADD and how to cope with it. Thanks.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago