×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Demon in the Freezer: A True Story
     

The Demon in the Freezer: A True Story

4.3 106
by Richard Preston
 

See All Formats & Editions

“The bard of biological weapons captures
the drama of the front lines.”

-Richard Danzig, former secretary of the navy


The first major bioterror event in the United States-the anthrax attacks in October 2001-was a clarion call for scientists who work with “hot” agents to find ways of protecting civilian populations

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Demon in the Freezer 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 106 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Demon in the Freezer is a wonderful book. It is so interesting because it is a true story, and smallpox and anthrax are real demons. The way Richard Preston set up the story was easy to follow, but kept it interesting. I enjoyed this novel considerably. It kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time. For anyone who is interested in smallpox, anthrax, or diseases in general, this is a must-read book. If you aren¿t interested in diseases or biological weapons at all, this may not be the best book for you, but I¿d advise you to give it a chance. I think that almost anyone could enjoy this story because smallpox and anthrax are real demons that can affect us in real life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Truely terrifying in complextion. It's much like The Hot Zone, but The Hot Zone is another excellent book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Better than any fiction thriller! Richard Preston's latest book is written to keep you turning the pages. With his chapters being rather brief in length, you'll have the opportunity to take a deep breath ocasionally. Small pox, killing over one billion people in the last one hundred years is the disease doctors call the most horrific and now I can see why. Richard Preston fleshs out the real people, that are working in hopes of protecting us all, at the CDC & USAMRID facilities. Unfortunately, there is only so much they can do. My family and I will be first in line should the day come when the small pox vacination becomes available again. Get a good nights sleep before you read this book; it'll be a while before you do after you read it.
bayard More than 1 year ago
I was kidnapped by this book and wasn't released until i had read it cover to cover. I especially liked the part about who is suspected, but that is all i am going to say, because i don't want to ruin it for anybody
Guest More than 1 year ago
Richard Preston, author of the acclaimed book: 'The Hot Zone', once again delivers an easy-to-read, page-turner on our unseen enemies: viruses. Medical jargon aside or merely minimised for the lay-person, Preston writes with a conviction and is convincing in his prose on the inevitable. One day, we will encounter another threat. It may not be World War III, but rather the threat may come from nature and Darwin's idea of 'survival of the fittest'. The fittest that survive may be the virus. It may be enhanced by a nation's enemy playing 'Frankenstein' with microbial fire in their labs. The potential for another virus 'like the flu or the plague' to unleash a judgement on us is not one of fairytales or science fiction. An outbreak of pandemic proportions is not unrealistic given our easy access to other countries and Richard Preston offers an educational look at what some of these viruses may be, while also making us aware that we are not the strongest of the species, but our existence may very well be temporary.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Richard Preston does an excellent job of tracing the demise of smallpox through the dedicated world-wide efforts of many. He then shows how some decisions were made that we might wish could be rethought, given the subsequent events. He also does a good job of putting together the story of the post 9/11 anthrax events in this country. Having read Preston's other biological books, I found this one to be a little bit disjointed, as though it needed one more editing process to knit it all together a bit more cleanly. But I still recommend it hightly for the content.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Richard Preston does it again with Demon in the Freezer. A true page turner with excitement in every new chapter. As with Hot Zone and Cobra Event Mr. Preston delivers a complex scientific topic to the lay reader and does it superbly. I am anxiously awaiting his next adventure. I just hope it does not take too long. Well Done and a GREAT read!
Guest More than 1 year ago
wow! one of the bast books ive ever read. I dont read a lot and this was so good i went out and got the other books hes written. wow wow wow wow wow !!!!!
B-loNY More than 1 year ago
It's just me i guess, tired of reading about pus and smallpox
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The tacos
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very scary read but informative! Highly recommended!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Starts out a great read, but it drags on after a few chapters
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great easy read about smallpox and its history.only gave 4 stars because im not done reading it yet. Each chapter reveals new info on the topic from past to present. Stories of people who contracted the disease as well as detailed interesting epidemiology info. Im really loving this book so far!i love all kinds of books. Love stories are great and all but this book takes you back to the real world where real bad things exist
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Was good but slow at some parts.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago