×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Demon Trapper's Daughter (Demon Trappers Series #1)
     

The Demon Trapper's Daughter (Demon Trappers Series #1)

4.4 232
by Jana Oliver
 

See All Formats & Editions

The Demon Trapper's Daughter is the first novel in Jana Oliver's Demon Trappers—a spellbinding young adult fantasy series. Riley Blackthorne just needs a chance to prove herself—and that's exactly what the demons are counting on…

Seventeen-year-old Riley, the only daughter of legendary Demon Trapper Paul Blackthorne, has always dreamed of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Demon Trapper's Daughter (Demon Trappers Series) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 234 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ok so I normally wait until I finish the book to write a review, but O M GOSH!!! I could not wait. I am 37 years old and started reading this to see if my 11 year old could read this and what a pleasant surprise. I found a new and exciting author. This story line had me captavated from beginning to well um... middle. It has a few words that we couldv'e done without ( cursing and vulgarity ), but a great plot and strength in a female leading lady
TruStorie More than 1 year ago
I love series books. I had downloaded the free ebook "Retro-demonology" and it had a free preview of "the demon trapper's daughter". At the end of the free preview, I was mad when I remembered it was only a preview. So, naturally, I bought the ebook. And it was good. There are so many vampire and werewolf stories now trying to capitalize on the current craze that it was refreshing to read something else in the same realm that was a different story. I enjoyed it and the second book and look forward to the third.
Zeki More than 1 year ago
I quickly finished this book and immediately wanted to get my hands on the sequel. The characters are likable, it's full of suspense, and the plot is very unique. My only problem was that I found the dialogue to be a little annoying and unnatural, but it wasn't so bad that I couldn't focus on the story. Overall, The Demon Trapper's Daughter was an enjoyable read and I am anticipating the next book in the series!
The_BookishType More than 1 year ago
This novel launches readers straight into the thick of the action. Jana Oliver holds no punches, immediately introducing readers to the harsh realities of this grim and gritty future. Riley finds herself in one unbearable situation after another, and the men in her Guild are far from supportive (considering she's the only female trapper -- ever). Though this world is bleak, it is brilliantly constructed: descriptive, complex, complete and self-contained. The fascinating demonology ranges from the downright gruesome to the adorably gremlin-like. It is especially intriguing that the demons are not a secret, but a daily fact of life in this brutal future. The mythology Oliver has built is rich, and half the fun is learning more about its intricacies. Yet, there is an interesting contrast between this grungy world and the quippy narration. Riley is definitely a cynic, and she is strong, smart and determined to prove herself. The novel evokes the hopelessness of this future with apparent ease, and it is impossible not to feel for Riley as she endures the unimaginable. However, though Riley is a sympathetic and rounded character, it is nearly impossible to like the rest of the Guild. The male-dominant world is appallingly misogynistic and crass. While that may be the effect the author was going for, it sometimes made reading uncomfortable. Yet, it is refreshing to read a YA novel in which romance is not the primary focus. THE DEMON TRAPPER'S DAUGHTER does feature some teen love, but by-and-large it centers on the fur-flying, demon-trapping antics of the Guild -- full of action, danger and mystery. Jana Oliver has created a fascinating, utterly original story that will add spice to the repetitive YA fare. ~Review from thebookishtype[dot]blogspot[dot]com
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed reading "The Demon Trapper's Daughter." I really liked the characters, especially Riley who is a strong, independent leading female character and I often feel a strong lack of characters like her in YA books. I also found myself torn between both boys in this book, Beck and Simon are both so likeable that I felt torn through most of the novel which makes me look forward to the next book to see if relationships will last, change, etc. My only complaint about this is that there is a real lack of backstory that I just kept waiting to have explained but that never happened. I am hoping in the next book to maybe get an explanation on a few things that were never laid out clearly. Overall, it was an excellent book that I would reccomend to any YA readers and I anticipate more from this series.
ChelsFitz More than 1 year ago
I couldn't stop reading it! Its an easy read and it really keeps you interested. Reading the 2nd book now and I cant wait for the 3rd!!
reginamay More than 1 year ago
Can't wait for the 2nd book on the series. I thought the idea for the book was original and very interesting. Riley faces many challenges but stays strong! I have to admit as nice as Simon and Ori are I am rooting for Beck ! Enjoy this is a great read !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just started and im already crying. Its so good and im not even half done
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing!!!! I LOVED THE ACTION PACKED PARTS AND THE LOVING PARTS!!!!! IM ROOTING FOR RILEY AND BECK TO GET TOGETHER BUT THEY REFUSE TO LISTEN!!!! LETS EE WHAT HAPPENS IN THE NEXT BOOK, SOUL THIEF!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In the picture. Converse heh :3 go, conzies
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LilMissBookmark More than 1 year ago
I read hundreds of books each year. I have read some amazing books so far this year and I would have to say that The Demon Trapper's Daughter has to have been one of my absolute favorites! From the very first page, Jana Oliver had me hooked. She is a perfect example of a great writer whose books will become the new rage. Her character development was perfect, you came to love and sympathize with them or hate them all together. I think that a great writer will get the reader to have an emotional response to what is going on within the pages, this seems to be Oliver's specialty. Riley was so well written and the back and forth with Simon is great. And while some of them don't make a HUGE appearance, the demons were pretty lifelike ... I came to really enjoy when certain ones would make an appearance because I was excited to see how Riley would react. Writing about the struggle between good and evil isn't exactly a new endeavor in the literary world. What is unique is the way that Oliver went about weaving the story. The concept that she came up with (demons walking around terrorizing society with trappers hunting them down and catching them) was interesting and gripping. The awesome thing is that there are three other books in this series and I've heard that they are all just as good as the first installment! Unfortunately, I haven't had the opportunity to read them yet because I have a reading list longer than the Great Wall but I will get to them soon! Amazing book, a must read!!!
Kristas_Dust_Jacket More than 1 year ago
Riley is a girl trying to make her way in a man's world. She wants to follow in her father's footsteps and trap the demons that now run loose. But, it's not really something that girls do. Only eventually, she needs to step up and do it anyway, learning the ropes from her father's partner Beck. There's something going on, though. The demons know her by name and someone appears to be sabotaging the trappers' efforts. Riley needs to figure out what's happening before she becomes a casualty too. This is my first exposure to Jana Oliver, and I am absolutely taken with her. Holy world building, Batman. I loved her concept of 2018 demon-ridden Atlanta. It appears that sometime in the next five years, inflation skyrockets, which forces much of the population into poverty. Gas is 10 bucks a gallon, businesses have been shuttered and, oh yeah - demons ranked 1 through 5 (with 1s being relatively harmless and 5s being bringers of brimstone and death) run rampant through the city. This look into the not too distant future was pretty awesome. I loved how Oliver weaved the picture of down-trodden Atlanta with the supernatural aspect of demons. And, she did it so seamlessly too. Much more seamlessly than most passes at urban fantasy. The different levels of demons were super creative and totally awesome. And the set-up of the trappers and their rivals, the demon hunters - who kill rather than capture their targets, was captivating and riveting. Riley is a great female character. She's plucky and brave and super smart. I think she's way too hard on Beck. Talk about a woman scorned. Sheesh. She had a crush on him when she was 15 and he turned her away. Ever since then, she treats him like crap with a capital C. She does have her moments of weakness when it comes to him, but they are few and far between. And, Beck. My boy Beck is a whole lot of awesomesauce wrapped up in utter stubbornness. He's actually a really good match for Riley. He too is brave and wild and a little nuts. He's had a tough life and has learned to push pretty much everyone away. Despite what he displays on the outside, he seems to genuinely care about Riley. However, being the chivalrous guy he is, Beck thinks that keeping Riley at arm's length is what would be best for her, so he consistently pushes her away with abrasiveness and tons of grrr. Riley and Beck are equal parts frustrating. The good kind, of course. The side characters are pretty cool too. There's Simon, Riley's fellow apprentice trapper who appears to be her boyfriend. Something's off with that dude though. Riley's dad made my heart hurt. He works super hard and is really good at what he does, but he doesn't have any time for Riley, and that sucks for both of them. The only side character I didn't really get was Riley's BFF, Peter. He seems to like her like her, yet he never declares it. His mom never wants him to see her. And truthfully, most of their interactions are via the phone. He was pretty non-essential to the story. I could've done without him. I'm excited to continue on with the series and find out what's in store next for Riley and Beck. And, I owe Jennifer L. Armentrout a huge thank you for turning me on to this awesome series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Umm. People not that book the other one. Me, kindel, an andrew are already there halley. Hurry up. To below:how did you get here. Noone knows where were at. We have right to free speech. ?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The series is Amazing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I rated this book 4/5 which is saying something coming from me. I thought this book was great, but what I really loved about it was its characters! Riley Blackthorne is a very special girl and I mean it! In Rileys world seeing demons is normal for everyone, but seeing demons call you by your name, that only happens to Riley and her father, master demon trapper Paul Blackthorne. Riley has a very hard personality and although some of her dicisions in this series will infuriate you, trust me you will still be routing for her. Now you have to understand everything Riley has been through, her mother died of cancer, their condo burned down so now they live in a small apartment, then her father dies, which causes a whole lot of problems for her! So before you start thinking " oh i would be awesome in her position! Shes such a wimp!" You have to think about everything she has been through! And honestly do you seriously think you would be able to kick demon butt like her... no didnt think so! And to top it all off her dad made some reallybad dicisions when he was alive but it was all to protect her, and now all those dicisions have demons and fallen angels after Rileys soul and magicians after Rileys fathers body! But who cares because there is this really cute demon trapper that was close to Rileys father and is obiously secretly crushing on Riley but you dont figure that out till later in the series! And his name is Denver Beck! He served in the war in aphganistan, used to be real bad a**, is country, had an acholic sl*t for a mother, and he still has a really big heart, but he also still acts bad a** but in that nice way that makes you say ahhhhh when you figure out that he has a bunny because he didnt want it to get hurt in the wilderness when his ex told him to release it in a park! Sorry didnt mean to give so much away but that happens in like the second or third book! Then there is the religious demon trapper named simon who is supposedly reallt cute but trust me when i say its safer not to get too attached to him because he is going to do something that will get you really angry in the other books and towards the end he'll get better but things just wont be the same after that. There is also a really cute nerd named peter that is Rileys geneious friend! There are to many characters to mention but if you liked the ones i have already told you about (maybe a crush on Beck) then you will love the rest and even hate some of the characters! But youll have to read the books to figure it out!