×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Demon's Fall
     

Demon's Fall

3.8 23
by Karalynn Lee
 

She was an angel at the gates of Hell.

When Kenan, an incubus, finds a caged angel for sale in the Hellsgate marketplace, he sees her as a challenge. Certain that his skills in seduction will work as well on a heavenly creature as they do on mortal women, he buys Jahel, intent on having her soul as a novelty in his collection.

Knowing

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Demon's Fall 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story had everything I was looking for in a quick read. Full of romance, adventure, and mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Katy_Beth More than 1 year ago
I would actually give this book a 3.5. While it was so not my cup of tea I still thought it was well written and the ending was very sweet. To see the Demon Kenan work so hard for his love the Angel - Jahel made for a nice story. I received this book soon after getting my nook and it felt good to accomplish getting it crossed off my to read list as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
murphyslibrary More than 1 year ago
(from Murphy's Library - rated 2 and a half there) Jahel is an angel ready to be sold. Yeah. You read it right. Sold. After being captured in a city with mostly demons and lost souls, that was her destiny: being in a cage, waiting for the one who will buy her. The surprise is when she ends up being bought by a demon, Kenan. Could it be the beginning of her end? His intentions clearly aren't the best, as we could expected from a demon. It is obvious that her end will be souless, right? I thought the plot was interesting when I read the synopses, and I wasn't wrong: it is an interesting book. The narrative is very good, and the balance between characters was well made. So, what was my problem with it? Yes, I had a problem with this book: it was just <em>too</em> short. There were so many things I thought could have been better explained, turning the book into a real book and not just a tale, like it seemed to be. The story, the author, the characters, had potencial for more than the few pages that this book had, and I felt, at the end, like it was missing pages. The story is concluded, this wasn't the problem... But we could have had so much more in the <em>middle.</em> Overall, it was a good book. Could be great if we had more, but I think it did an <em>OK</em> job.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tinkerbell1321 More than 1 year ago
If you ever wonder what might happen when an angel meets a demon look no further! Actually, I'm kidding, you might want to look a little further, but I can't deny the fun quality to the story. It takes place in this imaginative world and mixes in a fairytale! Cute! The characters are lovable even if they are predictable, though I will say the angel took me for surprise just a wee bit. I hadn't quite expected that story. It was an easy read and the perfect bedtime story. Warning: not really a children's story. A sweet romance, but like most romances it did have a few descriptive sex scenes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
KikiD870 More than 1 year ago
The novel opens with Jahel, an angel, in the last place you would expect to find an angel, trapped in a cage, ready to be sold to whomever pays the right price. She has been captured in Hellsgate, a city populated by demons and lost mortals, caught between the mortal realm and Hell itself. She came to Hellsgate to find the soul of her former charge, feeling she failed to guard her. Instead, she found herself being purchased by a demon, an incubus named Kenan who, unbeknownst to her, plans to seduce her and steal her soul to add to his collection. Instead, he helps her, falls in love with her, and breaks all the rules in order to protect her. Too many times, in novels with the theme of good versus evil, one or both sides are too much, either too good or too evil. For a mere mortal such as I, I know that rarely is anyone purely good or purely evil. I very much liked that in Demon's Fall, the author created a whole world, one in which there are shades of grey. In essence, both Jahel and Kenan have very much the same role, to collect souls, just for different ends. The interplay between the angel and the demon as they fell in love was interesting as the themes of good versus evil was shown in a way that made it seem as if it were coming from it's own pantheon or belief system, rather than using the traditional Christian views. I also liked the fact that, while erotic, the sex in the novel wasn't gratuitous. It was integral to the story in that it both illustrated a non-traditional view of angels and demons and it enhanced the romance of the story. I would definately recommend this book!
Cid More than 1 year ago
I'm always intrigued by stories that feature an angel-demon dynamic and interweave Biblical beliefs. I won't lie - I have a degree in Biblical Studies so I'm a bit of a snob for when things are taken and twisted to be something else. However, those that either do it well or create their own world are the ones to be really admired. Demon's Fall creates it's own world; I was never certain what time period to call it, which made it all that much more interesting. The bulk of the story takes place in Hellsgate, a city of mixed mortal and demonic population just this side of Hell. Here demons and mortals co-exist. The worldbuilding was really cool; the author acknowledges the self-serving nature of both angels and demons; angels want humans to go to Heaven because it's better - demons want humans souls to commit to hell, because in both instances the angel or demon gets something. There is also a reference to a third path humans can take but it's only mentioned in passing. Demon's Fall does take some Biblical prophecy and craft it to its own purposes. This could be clich&#233;; I know I've seen so many things that twist the book of Revelations that I almost squirm and fight to not roll my eyes - but the way that it was done in Demon's Fall was just really cool. It no longer seemed as if the author was twisting Christianity to fit the story, but that we were talking about something completely different - a whole other pantheon and prophecy. The novella is, despite my long winded assessment of the setting and prophecy of the story, a love story. A demon purchases a caged angel and proceeds to fall in love with her. The story is told from Kenan's point of view, which I thought was interesting because in the long run it was Jahel who had more to lose. My biggest problem with most romance novellas is that the actual step to falling in love rarely feels plausible. I will admit that the romance didn't 100% convince me that they were in love, and perhaps that was why - oh wait, that would be a spoiler ;D about three fourths of the way through I was liking the build of the romance, but it's that last chapter that sealed it for me and made me wanna go - aawweee. Demon's Fall is also an erotic novella, so yes, there is sex and it is graphic in nature - it's erotic. But despite the titillating factor it is motivated by the story, it's not just sex for the sake of having sex depicted on the page. On a purely logistical nature, it's interesting to see how one would manage wings and sex. Not for younger readers, or readers who are easily offended by warping traditional Christian beliefs. But if you like a short romance that is both erotic and fantastical - read it. I liked it a lot.
darkangel_1988 More than 1 year ago
An Okay Book