×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Density of Souls
     

A Density of Souls

4.6 195
by Christopher Rice
 

See All Formats & Editions

August 2000

A Density of Souls

As children, four friends -- Meredith, Greg, Brandon, and Stephen -- are nearly inseparable. Their fierce allegiance to one another is cemented by the summer they share just prior to their entrance at the prestigious New Orleans prep school Cannon Prep.

Or is it? From the first day of freshman year,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

A Density of Souls 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 192 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Adolescence is difficult for even the most adjusted youngster, but for childhood friends Stephen, Meredith, Brandon, and Greg it is a nightmare. The foursome used to enjoy playing hide and seek in a nearby cemetery, but during a storm Meredith watches Greg and Stephen humping each other. She found the incident ugly and that day forever changed everyone¿s relationships. Meredith felt compelled to hurt Stephen . She succeeded by informing the high school¿s in crowd that he was a fag leading to Stephen becoming the prime target of everyone including Greg.

Greg and Meredith become an entry, but their relationship turns violent. Meredith becomes an alcoholic and Brandon turns into a maniacal terrorist. Now five years after starting high school, the former friends are together at a reunion that reveals frightening truths including a murder.

There is a vein of darkness and brooding disaster throughout the story line. This leads the audience to anticipate tragedy is about to strike at almost any moment even with the exciting climax providing a ray of light for the future. A DENSITY OF SOULS illuminates the reaction to alleged homosexuality by a predominantly heterosexual crowd and its aftermath on the victims of sexual choice bias. Christopher Rice shows he is a talented author who can spin a dark tale without the benefit of the supernatural or his mother¿s fame.

Harriet Klausner

Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Canon School = Newman School. If you're ever in New Orleans visit 1903 Jefferson Ave. He basically gave a map of the place in the first chapter. I should know I spent 6 years there. He described the school & students to a T. He basically wrote about his freshman year. This is a biography.
AmandaJWilcox More than 1 year ago
If you can keep up with the huge amount of characters that there are, I recommend this book. It was so good! I couldn't put it down. Christopher Rice has a very complex writing style and you might find yourself getting a little lost but you won't be bored.
brjunkie More than 1 year ago
Coming soon.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have to give the ultimate praises for Christopher Rice's first published novel. It was very well written and very intriguing. I've read a few books here and there with gay men as the main characters, but they have all been stereotypical and weak in their stories. Christopher brings to life all the characters in this novel and you feel absorbed into the psyches of every one of them. The twists and turns throughout the story (up to the very end) kept me going, as well as the detailed visual descriptions (Rice is definitely a descriptive writer). One of my favorite (and most emotional) passages from the book is: 'You told me about what you called the light in the darkness. About how life was neither good nor bad, but a combination of both and occasionally good things pop up in the middle of tragedy, but they still don't make tragedy go away. They can't protect you. They're just light. But what you didn't say is that sometimes, certain people can be a light in the darkness. There are some people in this world who are worth saving when other people decide they shine the wrong kind of light on the wrong kind of things. You have been and will always be my light in the darkness.'
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was incredible. Its dark elements and twisted plot made it a page-turner. It was hard to believe this a first novel for Rice.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've read this book several times, and bought it shortly after it was released-years ago. I was literally shocked after first reading this novel, because this was the first published novel by Christopher Rice, and rarely before has a first time writer written such a wonderful first novel. This book had many twists and turns, and I continue to read it every once in awhile, and I urge anyone interested in Christopher Rice's novels to start with this one.
Angie_Lisle More than 1 year ago
In the afterward, Rice says that he hates the prose of this book. I disagree. The book starts off like a southern-gothic novel, paying a lot of attention to the surroundings and foreshadowing that secrets are hidden in a fictional version of New Orleans. But, when the characters step on scene, I'm reminded of haiku, which is supposed to create an image while leaving each reader responsible for bringing the emotions to the piece. Rice gives some pretty lurid details but we only get the barest glimpse at the character's emotional response; we see what they do rather than what they feel. The readers are expected to fill in the emotional blanks. I really liked this element of the book. My problem with the story was keeping track of characters. First, there's many. I'm an introvert and my world is much smaller than the socialites found in this book. It takes a lot of effort for me to keep track of that many characters. Then, secondly, it's easy to confuse some of the characters because of similarities in names: Jeremy and Jordan; Meredith and Monica. The drama, combined with the foreshadowing, kept me coming back to see if what I guessed would happen would happen (it did but in a satisfying way that made me feel socially smarter than I actually am).  I've read many books by Anne Rice but hadn't read her son before I received a free copy of this book in exchange for a review. I'm glad for the introduction and look forward to reading more of Christopher Rice's work.
Word4WordJR More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. Christopher Rice has created his own niche in writing with this strange, compelling story of mystery, atmosphere (you feel like you really do need to get out of the horrendous New Orleans humidity) and a cast of some really diverse personalities. It's a difficult book to attempt to describe, story wise; that takes care of itself. It's sometimes frustrating, often bewildering but ultimately rewarding. I love a book so steeped in atmosphere that you want to go there. When another author named Rice wrote a defiantly original story of a vampire being interviewed, she gave us the grit and grime of New Orleans of long ago, and I actually spent two weeks there, and everything she wrote was true, and I was able to walk those streets and visit landmark places. I mention this only because Mr. Rice has more than obviously inherited his mother's astounding talent for writing, yet he's done it in his own direction and his own vision. His mind seems to be one step ahead of him all of the time, making for a spontaneous twist here, a wild guess there and when the book ends, there is a subtle feeling that lasts for days. I like a book that makes me think about what I just read.." It appears that the majority of other reviewers are also of that opinion. Christopher Rice is not new to the literary landscape; he has written other novels. But this is his "breakthrough" book, and he knows it. And I cannot wait to see what is coming next!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I must say I am thrilled that Anne Rice passed the suspense can't put it down gene on to her son Christopher. This book as well as his other available Nook Books are wonderful. I wasn't expecting the end twist, but that was the fun of reading A Density of Souls. It kept me turning the pages late into the night. I would love if the other books that are mentioned but not listed by B & N by this wonderful Author would become available on Nook as I no longer buy hard or paper back books. Christopher, your true critics are your fans and this fan loves your work as much as your mother's.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow. An apealing look into a world most people still kringe over and try to ignore. Very good novel by an innocent and somewhat inexperienced young gay man with a passion to share his emotions on friendship, cruelity, and persiverance. A GREAT STIRING NON-THREATENING READ. Very enjoyable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my 2 copy of this book. And evrn though i have read it like a millon times. It just keeps getting better and better. I am a huge fan and i own everyone of his books. This is by far the best one he's ever wrote. And this part gos out to the people who thunk that it't not a good book. Wake the heck up it's only the best book out there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago