×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Descent into Hell: The True Story of an Altar Boy, a Cheerleader, and a Twisted Texas Murder
     

A Descent into Hell: The True Story of an Altar Boy, a Cheerleader, and a Twisted Texas Murder

4.3 70
by Kathryn Casey
 

See All Formats & Editions

Bright, attractive, and both from good families, University of Texas college student Colton Pitonyak and vibrant redhead Jennifer Cave had the world at their beckoning. Cave, an ex-cheerleader, had just landed an exciting new job, while a big-money scholarship to UT's prestigious business school lured Pitonyak to Austin. Yet the former altar boy had a dark,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Descent into Hell: The True Story of an Altar Boy, a Cheerleader, and a Twisted Texas Murder 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 70 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm a big true crime fan, and this book is one of the best I've ever read. I had trouble putting it down. Kathryn Casey has once again surpassed my expectations.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book caught my attention from the beginning. The author does a remarkable job of introducing all details. I respect her research with this brutal true story. It may be hard to read about stories like this, but being introduced to the real world and the creeps that are out there is important to me. This world is getting worse every day...and to read about bad people helps me to understand and be aware of what to look for in people. I am a realistic person and cannot live my life looking for just the 'good' in people. Focusing on that may cloud your opportunity to see the true colors...sad, but so true.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Book is very well written. Good research and depiction of this true life horror. Recommend this author!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While I agree with another reviewer that the book does have some spelling and grammar mistakes, I found the story to be very moving. Jennifer Cave's murder was an horrific act and Kathryn Casey did an excellent job presenting Cave's life story alongside the criminal evidence.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very well written. It is truly scary to see what effects a drug can do to a life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent book. You will not be able to put it down.
TexasStarVA More than 1 year ago
The murder took place after I moved away from Austin, but brought back so many memories of my West Campus days. Note to Author: "the Drag" is Guadaluape between MLK and 30th = NOT 6th STREET. The Drag is the Drag (it's capitalized, too) and 6th Street is 6th Street! Other than that, you got a lot of the flavor right. There were plenty of girls like Jennifer and Laura and a few guys like Colton. I knew stranger people but for the most part, they grew up and regained touch with reality. So sad that Jennifer never got the chance to make her dreams come true.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is an important insight into not only what a whril pool drugs and greed are it also, without preaching, shows what a monster can be created by a privleged childhood, especially one where a child is told covertly, if not overtlly, they are better than others because of their intellect or family money. Colton's family got him out of trouble with legal help - too bad he did not have to face more of the consequences of his behavior.
Teri Brichetto More than 1 year ago
Kathryn Casey does an unbelievable job sharing this story. Excellent read and horrific story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I began reading this book and was unable to put it down. Very well written and the author made you feel like you were there living the experience with the families.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kathryn Casey does a great job getting you into the story and attempting to make you feel what each person goes through in this tragic ordeal. I already bought an other book from Casey as I think she does a great job.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent read Tragic story My heart aches for the Cave Family, God Bless Jennifer is now at Peace and watches over you
Lindsie More than 1 year ago
This is a well told true crime novel that revolves ariund the case of Jennifer Cave. While the story is horrific, Kathryn Casey goes into great detail about everything involved in this case. From the beginning to end readers will get a first hand glimpse at the life of all those involved in this terrible tragedy. For anyone that enjoys true crime novels I would HIGHLY recommend this one. A++++
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Author did a great job writing this book. I haven't had a book I couldn't put down in ages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is what a true crime book is supposed to be like! The author really puts a lot of work into her research of the case and it shows. I got so engrossed in reading this book I was late for an appointment!! Looking forward to reading other true crime books by Katheryn Casey if they are all written like this. She covers everything. At the end of the book, I felt like I knew all the major people involved.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book you can not quit reading!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just like the gentlemen I see at work. A look at the people and the system we trust to keep us safe -- and those they keep us safe from.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago