×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Descent
     

The Descent

4.3 112
by Jeff Long
 

See All Formats & Editions

We are not alone…In a cave in the Himalayas, a guide discovers a self-mutilated body with the warning--Satan exists. In the Kalahari Desert, a nun unearths evidence of a proto-human species and a deity called Older-than-Old. In Bosnia, something has been feeding upon the dead in a mass grave. So begins mankind’s most shocking realization: that the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Descent 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 112 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read alot of books and am picky. This is the best book I ever have read. I encourage everyone to read it. Jeff Long is a wonderful author. Advice to those who want to narrow down good books to read, I've found that when books have good reviews from the The Rocky Mountain News on the jacket, the book is a great read.
rball3 More than 1 year ago
Having just finished this book (after accidentally reading his second novel, Deeper, first), and reading some of the negative reviews, I felt the need to come to Long's defense. I am definitely a fan of Long's work. He calls to mind a combination of the religious aspects of Dan Brown's Langdon series and Michael Crichton, with his thriller/science lesson type reads. While none of the three authors are commended for works of high literature, they all write gripping fictional accounts that just COULD be real. While there were certainly some unanswered questions in this first novel, I had the advantage of seeing where the story progressed later and realised that Long was purposely leaving certain parts of the plot unaddressed as a setup for the next part of the story. Long brought some excellent geological and anthropological research to The Descent. While some have alluded to "offensive" language, it is important to remember that some of the references made in the story (Negroid, Oriental, etc) are, in fact, valid anthropological and ethnic references when discussing the history and evolution of mankind. All in all, Long presents some fascinating material, wrapped in a dramatic package that drives you through the book at a whirlwind pace. After you tear through it, you will definitely want to look into some of the topics presented to learn more. I know I did!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading this book and have already passed it along for another person to read. It was a very good all-around book: Suspense, Adventure, Mystery, Religion, and a dash of Romance. What more can you ask for? I'd highly recommend it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book while it is a long read it is completly worth the time it takes to read it. In all the books I have read in the past this one writes about human nature better than most books I have read. If the events that took place in this book were to happen tomorrow. I feel this book would become a work of Non-Fiction in many ways. The book is a real page turner with alot of suspence. Long; does a great job of tieing all the characters together as the book progresses.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have never read Jeff Long, but thoroughly enjoyed this book. He writes in the style that I love to read and pass on to my brother.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I began reading this book while on a vacation, and simply could not put it down! I consider myself a person who is hard to suprise, but the plot twists and turns left me breathless at times. This book explores the possibilities of another race of beings that live deep in the bowels of the earth. A mix of H.G. Wells,'Journey to the Center of the Earth', with a generous dollop of chills, surpise, suspense, and imagination. I'm looking forward to more work by Jeff Long. WOW!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of my favorite books of all time, impossible to stop reading•••intense, frightening, and just so good!
billmcneace More than 1 year ago
It's been awhile since I read The Decent. There is no connection between Long's book and the recent cheesy movie that came out. When the book first debuted, there was talk of a screenplay. Basically, the book explores mankind's devolvement as a "mountain-climber" finds strange beings deep within our earth. Long keeps his books very interesting. Definitely a page-turner. Bill McNeace
Guest More than 1 year ago
Very intricate plot....lots of characters that you get attached to. Long tells a great story and makes this adventure story sound a lot more believable than you would ever think possible. Definitely makes you think
Guest More than 1 year ago
Jeff Long has made a great novel. At first I was a bit reserved about reading this book since I first read Year Zero and was sort of disapointed. However, this book pulled me in and I could not put it down. After the book was over I was yearning for more. I would highly recommed this book for anyone looking for a good Thriller/Action novel! I can't wait for more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Worst book i ever read!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very original. Well worth the money. Will definately read more by this author. You won' t be disappointed
Guest More than 1 year ago
You don't have to think too hard to enjoy this one. Creepy, but not super scary. The characters are prepared so the reader is as well. Think - flipping through channels on the TV, coming across a movie in progress that looks interesting, getting sucked in and when it's over - going 'yeah, I enjoyed that.'
Guest More than 1 year ago
Jeff Long writes one hell-of a book...With many story lines, and vibrant characters. The story never gets dull, only more complicated. But you won't be disapointed at the end.Just when you think you have " Satan " in your grasp! The never ending circle continues...
Guest More than 1 year ago
For most of the summer I was searching for a great read, but was constantly disappointed with predictable adventure novels and dull ideas. The Descent pulled me out of my reading hole with its thrilling, original plot. You simply cannot pass this one up. Are you going to miss the chance to explore Hell and come face to face with its horrifying denizens? I can't think of any adventure reader who would. Please ignore the carping reviewers of this book. These pages fly!
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you can, you will find this a mesmerizing read. The author has a definite way with words and knows how to use them to challenge you. For the person that transforms words into visual images like I do, it's better than any movie I've seen since 'Silence of the Lambs'. It's a rather involved story line that gets long in the tooth in some parts and I would have liked a more thrilling ending....but after all you've read before, I don't know if I could come up with one suitable either. I couldn't put it down! Of all life's scenarios and real life fiction and horror, nothing would surprise me. This book is today's version of Orson Welles' 'War of the Worlds'.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is definitely worth buying! I found it hard to put the book down...lots of action and suspense....great book to have!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Even though the book is internally inconsistent and defies logic at times, the way in which Long immerses the reader in the fictional environment makes it a worthwhile reading experience. I lived in hell with the characters for three days--even felt a little claustrophobic while I wasn't reading.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was an exciting read from beginning to end, in both a 'physical' and mental sense, that I did not want to put down. A classic adventure with all the right pieces, great characters and tremedous plotting. The most amazing thing about this book is some disappointing reader reviews - so there were some minor inconsistencies with the chronology, so M-16s shoot a different kind of round, etc, etc. Big deal! It's sad that people let something little ruin what is otherwise a great read, particularly when other aspects were obvously painstakenly researched. All in all, I highly recommend this book to others, and eagerly await Mr. Long's next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put this book down. It is filled with so many twists and surprises to keep you on your toes and guessing. Character development is amazing, I truely felt connected to the people and emotionally invested in their journey. But it is the authors concept of hell that makes me love and fear this book. Its imaginative and terrifying plausible. The imagery his narration provokes will make your blood run cold and feel genuine fear. I will have nightmares for weeks and be haunted by these images forever. Well done!
bbb57 More than 1 year ago
This book was great right out the gates. By the first turn I was excited. And then it just crapped out with too many things going on at once. I finished it and will delete it since I could never waste my time reading it again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This Is the third time I've read this and each time I couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
stanra More than 1 year ago
I found this book to be very scary!  A very good read.  Could not put it down.