×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Desire
     

Desire

4.0 22
by Nicole Jordan
 

See All Formats & Editions

Seducing readers with her scorching sensuality and searing romance, bestselling author Nicole Jordan weaves her most tantalizing love story yet. . . .

DESIRE

A legendary lover and spymaster, the darkly sensual Earl of Wycliff eludes matrimony until a brush with death makes him yearn for a son to carry on his name. The moment

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Desire 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Nicole Jordan. The Seduction was beyond amazing, but Desire was a 412 page snooze fest. I did not develop a connection with any of the characters, and if Lucian said Young Bucks one more time, I was going to scream! A retarded curse and a spy that EVERYONE KNEW WAS A SPY, combined with mixed-matched sex scenes called for a serious headache. Although not a complete nuclear bomb, it is one of those beginner ones that you send to someone you can't stand. Save your time and money. TRUST ME.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read all her books at least twice and I absolutely love them. Nicole is hands down my favorite writer and I count down the days until "The Prince of Pleasure" is released. I can say without even reading it yet but with strong conviction it will not disappoint! that is how much faith I have in Nicole.....Nicole I adore your books, please keep 'em coming!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book from page 1, love the series, cant wait to read the final book in the elusive hellfire club. Nicole your my absolute favorite, have all of your ebooks!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is my first book that I have read by Nicole Jordan. I really did like her books I really enjoy romance novels and yours was just great. I'm looking forward to reading your books!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
DESIRE continues Nicole Jordan¿s highly entertaining, emotional, and provocative Notorious series, which began in THE SEDUCTION and continued in THE PASSION. DESIRE is the Earl of Wycliff Lucian Tremayne¿s turn at center stage -- and he does it so well. Lucian finds himself in Cornwall, searching for clues to the identity of the mysterious Lord Caliban, who has been betraying England to France in a myriad of spy schemes. Caliban¿s latest trick has been to steal gold from England and use it to fund Napoleon¿s armies. Given the disappearance of the latest gold shipment, Lucian is sure that Caliban¿s henchmen are at work in the area and he is determined to bring them to justice. But his all-business trip takes a surprising turn when he meets Brynn Caldwell. Her beauty is breathtaking and he is immediately and powerfully drawn to her. He knows his feelings are real, despite her protests that they are the result of a gypsy curse laid upon the women of her family, to be fatally attractive to men. Once he realizes that Brynn is a respectable young lady and not the housemaid he originally suspected her of being, he pushes for marriage over her loud protests, ultimately manipulating the situation to attain his desires. Brynn can¿t refuse Lucian when he offers to pay her family¿s debts, but that doesn¿t mean she has to be happy about it either. Lucian is called away on their wedding night to deal with the Caliban affair, and this event sets the tone for the conflict within Lucian in the rest of the novel: the idea of duty to country vs. the idea of commitment to love and family. This inner turmoil ends up playing a large role in the tale, as Lucian uncovers damning evidence that could destroy his marriage. Coupled with the fact that Lucian is fighting Brynn¿s (rightful) belief in the curse, the plot becomes highly twisted and emotional. When I first read the back cover and saw the bit about the gypsy curse, I was leery. But I needn¿t have worried. The curse is not some paranormal plot device bandied about to give Brynn a flaw. Jordan handles the idea in such a manner that a believer or a skeptic can appreciate it. Lucian, while he longs for Brynn to give up the idea of the curse, does not push her to do so, but waits for her to deal with it in her own way -- a fact I found extremely refreshing and unexpected in light of Lucian¿s alpha personality. What I love about Jordan¿s works is her devotion to character development and the pure feelings of the protagonists for each other. DESIRE is no exception; Jordan lets readers see the mental and emotional workings of both Lucian and Brynn, letting us feel as torn as they themselves do. Accompanying these revelations is the palpable chemistry between the hero and heroine, which is satisfyingly and beautifully fulfilled in love scenes that are lush with sensuality, but never ripen to excessive purple prose. Characters first seen in the previous Notorious books make brief appearances here. We get to see Damien Sinclair and his wife Vanessa, and we hear about Nick Sabine and his wife Aurora. Raven Kendrick, who first appeared in THE PASSION, is further developed here, and Dare Clune, the devil-may-care Hellfire League leader, shows a surprisingly sensitive and vulnerable side of himself. Raven now has her own story in ECSTACY, and Dare, I was delighted to discover, gets his time in the spotlight in the current release THE PRINCE OF PLEASURE. Fans of this series will be more than satisfied with this entry. Jordan satisfies with her characteristic deft hand at plotting and luscious prose.
Guest More than 1 year ago
'Desire' started it all for me. This was the first book I read by Nicole Jordan and fell in love with the way she portrayed her characters. I then had to hunt down ALL of her books and read them. Desire is just that...Desireable! Another mixture of love, hate, turmoil, romance, etc...all rolled into one great, hard to put down book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have waited for this third segment of Nicole Jordan's Notorious series with high expectations because I've enjoyed both prequels very much. I find myself a bit disappointed on this one, however. Lucian and Brynn's story was a bit simple for me. The plot have some pulling moments but needed more enhancements for full exciting effect. The gypsy curse was interesting in the beginning yet not properly resolved towards the end for me to find it credible enough. I was also not specially taken with both the hero/heroine's characters. They are well liked, yes but not to the extent for me to find them hearty. They're not quite as challenging as Damien and Vanessa in THE SEDUCTION nor were they intriguing as Nicholas and Aurora in THE PASSION. However, the intimacy of Lucian and Brynn is consistent with the prequels. It does have full sensual effects. It's fun, tasty and not lurid in my opinion. Another niggle about this book is my own personal preferences. See, I LOVE book sequels/trilogy/series. I enjoy keeping track of the characters on my books, especially those I favor. However, I also expect authors to write updates of the previous characters. Even just a tiny bit. It brings back old fun memories and it's heart warming to read some short new infos of how these characters are doing. It is afterall what a sequel or series is expected of, isn't it? In this particular book, it is so unbelievable that Damien Sinclair (who happends to be a very good friend of the Earl of Wycliff) and Nicholas Sabine (who's a cousin of Lucien) didn't have any appearance in this book at all. Just a mention of their names but no appearances whatsoever. I was very disappointed in this matter. Compared to THE SEDUCTION and THE PASSION, DESIRE unfortunately fell short. It's not what I have expected. However, it is still somewhat an enjoyable read. The fourth book of the Notorious Series is ECSTACY, Story of Raven, Nicholas Sabine's sister. Coming Fall 2002. I hope Raven's story would be more to my liking and would include UPDATES of the previous characters.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Nicole has done it again! This is the third book by her that I have read and I love it. She is number 1 on my list. Read this book and you will know what I mean!!!
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1813 on the Cornish Coast, the renowned rake, the Earl of Tremayne, Lucien Wycliffe, actually works undercover seeking traitors smuggling gold to the French. He meets Brynn Caldwell in an isolated area and cannot resist stealing a kiss. She thinks his immediate attraction to her is caused by the two-century-old gypsy curse in which men fall hard for her family¿s females, but die if they love them back

Lucien learns that Brynn¿s family is in financial trouble and suspects her oldest brother Gray does some smuggling to make ends meet and avoid debtor prison though he wonders if selling gold is part of the man¿s activities. Lucien, who wants an heir, decides to marry Brynn, the first woman he has found attractive in a while. He blackmails his reluctant choice by offering to send her bookish sibling Theo to the university and pay off Gray¿s debts. However, he begins to wonder if his new wife and her family are the seditious supporters of Napoleon even as he knows he loves Brynn, curse or not.

DESIRE is an exciting Regency romance that readers will enjoy as the evidence points towards Brynn¿s betrayal of Lucien. The lead characters are a strong duo though the audience might wonder why Brynn hides behind the curse rather than confide in her spouse, whom she has to realize does not trust her. The support cast, especially two of her brothers, add depth to the era and the lead protagonists. Nicole Jordan has written a stunning historical romance that sub-genre fans will want to read.

Harriet Klausner