×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Desire the Night
     

Desire the Night

3.6 26
by Amanda Ashley
 

See All Formats & Editions

A Vampire In Chains

Held captive in a basement prison, wrapped in silver chains, the vampire Gideon is too weak to fight the monster who enslaves him. For years, she's tapped his precious blood like a fountain of youth—sustaining him with human females she captures for his pleasure. But with the latest victim she brings him, he senses something

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Desire the Night 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
bevstar More than 1 year ago
Ahhhh!!!!! What is wrong with writers? Huh? Why do they write such crap! It started out ok, and just never got any better from there. In fact it got worse there closer to the end. Warning I am about to spoil it and I'm sorry to those who don't like that but I like to know what I'm getting into before I start so I'm not wasting my money and I want to give others the same chance. The two main charater's fall in love way too fast and there is never anything that just draws you into the book to feel for the charaters. I felt nothing for them...no love, sadness, anger...nothing. I felt anger at the author! For letting, even for a second, the bad guys win. Especially when she write that the main female character sleep with her "husband" (not the main male characer but the man her father forced her to marry) It just makes me sick to read something like that. Now Im going to have to just pick another really good book up real fast to take the nasty taste this book left in my mouth. I have read other books done by this author but this one book soured me on anything else with her name on it. Dont waste ur money! If I could I wouldn't even give it a half star.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Did you have a deadline or something by the end of this book IWanted to stake both of them they were so stupid it wasnt even funny. I have enjoyed so many of your books but this one just mad me mad. What a waste of money,,,,,!,,,,!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Started off okay but dragged the last 100 pages! The story just went all over the place
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it !! Read it within a few hours since i couldnt even put it down !!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RtBBlog More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Crystal Book provided by the publisher for review Review originally posted at Romancing the Book Desire The Night was a book that I just couldn’t put down. Gideon is a vampire that is over three hundred and sixty years old, but that doesn’t stop him from being bested by an evil witch named Verah. She keeps him in her basement tied with silver chains and only gives him enough blood to keep him alive after finding a spell that required vampire blood.  His blood  allows her to stay young but she also starts selling his blood and sometimes she gets females for payment. That’s when Kay comes in the picture. She is at a club one night when a man drugs her drink and she passes out. She wakes up locked up with Gideon. Imagine their surprise when they find out what each other is. They both believed the other didn’t exist. They hatch up a plan that on the next full moon when Kay turns into her wolf they will escape. This book was so exciting. Just when I thought that everything was going to work out for Gideon and Kay – something happens. This story  really kept me on my toes, always wondering what was going to happen next and I started to wonder if they would ever be together. I completely understood the relationship that Kay had with her father. Mine wasn’t an alpha werewolf, and I thank God for that. My dad always wanted sons instead of daughters and in the story Kay hopes that her father loves her more and wants her to be happy with the man she loves instead of having to put the pack first and marrying the guy her father thinks of as a son. To her dismay, her father puts the pack first. I understand how she feels. I could never do anything to satisfy my father either. So Gideon and Kay had their work cut out for them. Not only did they have to figure out how to make a relationship between a vampire and werewolf work but they have to deal with Verah, Victor, the guy Kay’s engaged to, and her father. Will they find a way to be together? This is a great paranormal love story that mainly deals with two people finding out how to be together. I enjoyed the way that the book was written. There wasn’t a feeling of anything being left out and it had a great ending to a beautiful story. Just when I thought that nothing was going to work out, I was pleasantly surprised.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The transitions need work, coming and going, back and firthvfrom locations, but good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book drug on and on. Almost didnt read it until the end. Predictable, weak female character,non existent sex scenes and focused on un imporant details. Glad this was lended to me becaue I would want a refund.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Under_The_Covers_BookBlog More than 1 year ago
4.5 Stars Reviewed by Guest Reviewer/Amanda & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog This book takes us on a roller coaster ride of action and emotion. It is fast paced and a delight to read. ~ Under the Covers This book takes off running from the very beginning. Amanda Ashley does not waste any time getting straight to the good stuff. I swear so much happens in this book it’s like two or three books in one. There are no really big epic battles but there is plenty of turmoil and strife to keep you entertained from beginning to end. Gideon and Kay find each other early on in the book and fall into their romance pretty quickly; however, it doesn’t feel like insta-love. These two go through a lot together in a short period of time which makes it feel like a true meaningful romance has occurred, if just a bit expedited due to both of their captures and then subsequently being hunted by different factions. I love how these two were together. Gideon was supportive of her and was willing to put himself in danger to make sure the Kiya would be ok. He always came to her rescue but also understood that there were just some decisions that she has to make for herself. Kiya was the same with Gideon; she was fiercely protective of him and valued his opinion. He is the most important thing in her world, so important that she is willing to disobey her Alpha who also is her father to be with him. This causes a great deal of trouble for both Kiya and Gideon. The witch that took Gideon will stop at nothing to get him back, including kidnap Kiya to force Gideon into her servitude again. Kiya is also “engaged to be engaged” by the jacka$$ son of the neighboring Pack. He was such a complete douche there is no way you wanted Kiya in his clutches. She is being forced into the marriage by her father, because he wants a solid alliance with that pack and he does not care what Kiya wants. Kiya’s father was such a good villain! I could not stand him; I wanted to kick him in the dingaling so many times. His forcing of Kiya into marriage causes a great deal of the strife in this book. As the witch is hunting Kiya so are her father and her future husband causing Gideon and Kiya to take some drastic measures. This book takes us on a roller coaster ride of action and emotion. It is fast paced and a delight to read. By the time I was halfway through the book, I couldn’t believe I was only half way through, so much had happened already and I couldn’t imagine what else we would be in store for. Ms. Ashley did not disappoint and plenty happened in the second half keeping the rollercoaster going. Even with all of the conflict going on we still got a solid romance out of Gideon and Kiya, which thrived throughout the book. I also really liked the ending, I thought it was appropriate and the right choice. *Review copy provided by publisher
SirenJC More than 1 year ago
Desire The Night is another great story from Amanda Ashley. This story draws you in from the beginning. Gideon Marquet is a vampire that has been captured for the soul purpose of providing blood. The unscrupulous witch Vera is using Gideon’s blood to keep herself young and beautiful. Many a person has been destroyed by Gideon due to starvation. Vera keeps him at the brink of starvation to keep him secure. Kiya Alissano is a shifter working at a veterinarian’s as an assistant. She has the talent to calm animals. She is the daughter of a very possessive father who surprisingly allowed her to be amongst humans and be away from the family. Kiya is captured by Vera and is used to feed Gideon. Something changes for him when he sees Kiya. He is drawn to her by more than the blood running through her veins. This book keeps you enthralled throughout the entire 346 pages. You wont be surprised when you finish it in one sitting. Great story and am looking forward to more by Amanda Ashley.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all of Ms. Ashley's books and every single one has been great. I can never wait for her next one. By weaving the two races together only proves just how powerful love really is. Recommended read!
Meli_Green More than 1 year ago
This is my third book by Amanda Ashley; I know I can count on her books for a light hearted supernatural romance. Desire the Night caught my attention right off the back, because in many supernatural lore and stories the vampires and werewolves are not getting along together, much less romancing each other. It is an entertaining paranormal romance starring two intrepid warriors falling in forbidden love. While Ashley’s novel takes on a different version of vampire; turning into mist, transfiguration in a wolf, the story is well thought-out. The beginning of the romance is very flirty and like a fantasy for Kiya - the strong, sexy, wealthy vampire devoting all his time and attention on her and taking them to different places. After that, it's all about being on the run from their enemies. Fast-paced, fans will enjoy the escapades of the heroic lead couple, both are strong solid characters. The villains are one dimensional there are enough of them to go around. My only complaint is the ending I wish it had been different, I won’t spoil it but I felt is wasn’t the right way to end the story, but I didn’t write it so not my call. Overall not one of the best, but definitely not a bad book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ldosch More than 1 year ago
You would think after 360 years as a vampire Gideon Marquet would be too clever to fall into a witch’s trap. Now he sits locked in a cage, bound in silver chains, being used as Verah’s own fountain of youth. He had long ago stopped killing humans to feed his need for blood, but since Verah nearly starves him while taking his blood, his hunger is now too great to stop being the monster humans fear. But his latest dinner offering is quite different from the usual human fare given to him, she is a werewolf. If only he can keep his hunger in check before the next full moon, they might finally have a chance to escape this nightmare. Kiya Alissano was just going out for a night with her friend, and ends up drugged and then she wakes to find herself being offered as a midnight snack to a hungry vampire. Although they are natural enemies, Kiya and Gideon work together to escape the clutches of the witch, but she is not willing to let her prize go without a fight. Kay and Gideon are on the run as Verah scryes for their location. When they turn to Kay’s pack for help, they are out of the frying pan and into the fire. The Alpha, Kay’s father, wants her to marry into the neighboring pack, not running around with a vampire. This story started off so good. The meeting of Kay and Gideon was interesting and their working together to escape. They are both attracted to each other so they stick together, even after Gideon realizes that the witch cannot locate him (as he is dead) and she is scrying for Kiya. He won’t leave her alone to be found by the witch. The story begins to lose my interest when decisions are made and things are done that don’t make sense. Gideon decides Kay would be safest surrounded by her own people. Gideon is attracted and intrigued by someone for the first time in a century, and he knows that Kay’s father wants her to marry the son of the adjoining pack Alpha, so why would he think the best place would be with her father? Once she is back under the father’s control, he forces her to marry the other werewolf, who then kidnaps her back to his compound to keep her away from Gideon. Since he is not “invited” onto the compound, Gideon can’t get to her. So we have a lot of going back and forth between being captured by the witch, the werewolves and begin recovered by Gideon, to the point that after 250 pages, I was losing interest in the story. I did finish it, although there were many things that didn’t make sense in the story, beginning with Gideon giving Kay up to her father who intended to give her to another man. The father is the over the top Alpha with the “do as I say or I will actually kill you” attitude. I was also very confused with Kay’s parent’s relationship. Her mother is human and she gets pregnant. She won’t have an abortion and Kay’s father decides to marry her against his family’s wishes. That would be great if they seemed more of a love match. Why such an über-Alpha was even slumming with a human is my first question. He seemed so “we are werewolves, we stick to our own.” The mother later indicates that she was afraid of him even before they got married. That brings me back to why were they even having sex to begin with. I’m weird this way. I’ll believe someone can change into a werewolf. I’ll work with you on the vampire changing into mist. But the marriage between Kay’s parents, I just couldn’t understand.
Bukgoddess More than 1 year ago
Amanda Ashley has pulled from all the corners of her imagination to bring readers Desire the Night the latest release in her paranormal romance series, filled with vampires, witches, werewolves and of course romance. Gideon Marquet, a vampire held prisoner by an unscrupulous witch named Vera as a source for her own means, rues the so long ago night he fell captive to her enchantment. Gideon’s existence is one of constant agony by both the bonds that hold him and the unmerciful actions he must resort to for his survival. Kiya Alissano, working as a veterinarian’s assistant also holds magic powers of her own, more than just the “gift” of being able to calm her patients at the clinic, either. Kiya, (known as Kay to her friends who are few a far between thanks to her father), is the daughter of a very possessive Clan Leader, who Kay still can’t believe has been persuaded to allow her time away from their family compound to pursue the wish to live among humans. Unbeknownst to Kiya, her thirst for adventure in all things human may prove to be her downfall and bring her even closer to the thirst of one who is not all human. You will be surprised how fast the pages turn, once you pick it up you will not want to put it down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gideon (vampire) is sexy, kind and understanding. Kay is a werewolf and she strong, independent and loyal. They find love in a difficult situation and are great together.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome