×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Desperate Duchesses (Desperate Duchesses Series #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of Desperate Duchesses (Desperate Duchesses Series #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of Desperate Duchesses (Desperate Duchesses Series #1)
     

Desperate Duchesses (Desperate Duchesses Series #1)

3.9 69
by Eloisa James
 

See All Formats & Editions

Welcome to a world of reckless sensuality and glittering sophistication . . . of dangerously handsome gentlemen and young ladies longing to gain a title . . . of games played for high stakes, including—on occasion—a lady's virtue.

A marquess's sheltered only daughter, Lady Roberta St. Giles falls in love with a man she glimpses across a crowded

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Desperate Duchesses (Desperate Duchesses Series #1) 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 69 reviews.
LisaMR More than 1 year ago
I don't feel that the story was scattered at all. I truly enjoy Eloisa's books because there is rarely some big bad monster of a man hiding in the wings. Her stories seem much more plausible for real life and are simply about people. This was a fun story that took a bit to really get started, but once it did it moved quite swiftly. All the characters were overly fun and well developed. I only cried the smallest amount toward the end but most of the time I was smiking and laughing. The story was well wrapped up at the end. To me there were no dangling characters or wayward thoughts. This certainly is worth the buy and tthe whole series is worth investing in.
alias_dw More than 1 year ago
A friend recommended this series to me and this was the first one I read. At first I had a difficult time becoming interested in the plot because the author assumes the reader is accustomed to terms from regency period. I imagine if you have read many historical novels of this period it would easier to dive right into the story. Once I became familiar with the language I found it a fun sexy read. The characters are obviously well suited for each other and the reader is rooting for them to get together. There is a great deal of secondary characters who the author is obviously introducing so that the reader is interested in them. They will clearly be popping up in future installments in the series. I am concerned, yet intrigued, because many of these characters seem to lack character which may make them unsympathetic primary characters in the future.
curlyloulou More than 1 year ago
I actually liked this book. They way she writes took a bit to get used to but by chapter 2 it was all good.
alaskaruth More than 1 year ago
Nice for a long airplane ride-- I don't usually buy romances, but this one was pretty good!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I tend to be a very picky reader and tend to hate romance novels that spend too much time with secondary characters, and this one spends so much time with the secondary characters it¿s hard to call them secondary, but I loved this book. I wasn¿t even finished before I went on-line and ordered every one of the author¿s books. The characters are so complex and engrossing, that they pull you in despite their many, many faults. The lead romance could have used a bit more time to develop, but it was beautifully sensual and lovely. And Bravo to the author for having the courage to write something other than regency.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love Eloisa's books because she never writes down to a reader. They are witty and smart, and you can re-read them and always find something new. Desperate Duchesses is sexy, complex, and the dialogue made me LOL several times. I can't wait for the next one in this series!
Guest More than 1 year ago
James writes the sort of characters that I love, flawed and funny and sexy. I love how she weaves the characters' stories together and especially the women's relationships, to make a big, satisfying story. In DESPERATE DUCHESEES she's done this again. Damon is a sexy, sexy animal and Roberta is his match in wits as well as wants. Unique amongst romance writers.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. The characters felt very 'real' for their time period and the historical detail was rich and layered. The book was very fresh and almost more like an ensemble comedy/drama with a lot of witty banter. My favorite characters were Jemma and her estranged husband and I hope we'll be seeing more of them later in the series.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I could see where the author was going with this series, but honestly, the only characters that I was interested in were the Duke & Duchess of Beaumont. THEIR story was the one I want to hear about and could have been written in one book instead of being drawn out into several in this 'series'. The 'main' characters where uninteresting and I frequently hit skim-mode through out the book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book and it was my first one by this author. I found the characters entertaining and I loved the references to chess. James put a new spin on romance novels and I found it quite refreshing. I enjoyed the fact that she left you hanging with some of the plot because it made me feel as though she's going to write a sequel. Which I really hope she does. I found all the characters to be very flawed which made them very human and many of their reactions were surprising which accentuated their uniqueness. A fun read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Lady Roberta St. Giles wants a husband and her father isn't helping matters any. Known as the Mad Marquess, her father's unusual poetry and unusual lifestyle has scared away any suitors that may have been interested in the lovely Lady Roberta. It is clear Lady Roberta will have to take matters in her own hands. After spying the beautifully proper Duke of Villiers at a ball, Lady Roberta heads to London on a mission to become the next Duchess of Villiers. With the help from a very distant relative, the Duchess of Beaumont, Lady Roberta captures the eye of not only the Duke of Villiers but of the Duchesses brother, the Earl of Gryffyn. Eloisa James writes such smart and witty romances that I can't help but adore them. And I do adore Desperate Duchesses. I was quite desperate myself for Roberta to pick the man I was crazy in love with and my heart would have been broken if she hadn't. With a story that will just suck you right in, Desperate Duchesses has secondary characters that will leave you begging for the next in this series. I am, well, desperate for more Desperate Duchesses! Annmarie reviewed for Joyfully Reviewed
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read several of her books and looked forward to this one as they have all been very good. Ouch! This one is a struggle to get through. None of the characters make you care about what happens to them and the situations are sometimes confusing. Not this authors best work for sure!
Guest More than 1 year ago
DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY. I think that her editor and publisher were one something to allow this book to be release. There's NO plot development and NO character development. The wording is obscure. I kept having to flip back in order to figure out who was talking. The title is misleading. The duchesses are secondary characters and their relationships are put to the forefront and don't come to completion. The secondary characters are all obsessed with chess, so a lot of the conversations involves A LOT of chess metaphors, which leads to more confusion for the reader. I regret having purchased this book and felt strong enough about it to warn others away from it. Good Luck if you decided to buy it away.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Captures the readers attention from the first page! Scarlet P.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Funny!
ReadMe11 More than 1 year ago
I'm reading this series as a part of a read-along. This was a unique experience, especially since I knew nothing going in. Usually one reads the blurb about the book, but in this case I didn't, and I wasn't sure where the story was going. There were so many characters introduced and a couple of sideline stories going on that I can see where someone might not like it, but for me it was kind of fun. I didn't know which way was up. I hated one of the characters at first, and then came to rooting for her by the end…can't wait for her story. I love this author so I'm not surprised that I enjoyed this title. I'm definitely looking forward to the rest of the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Full of comedy, great pace, and intriguing right up till the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read many of Eloisa James' books.  You fall in love with her characters.  you'll love this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not worth your money & I love Eloisa James books. There was so much chess talk & innuendos between secondary characters Jemma & Elijah that the main characters Roberta & Damon that I don't even know what they look like.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved it. Howevet i did feel some of the characters where left hanging. But i liked how many interesting characters there were.
AustenStudent More than 1 year ago
The first book in the Desperate Duchesses series by Eloisa James, this is an odd story. It’s also an unfortunate title for a series, depicting the stereotypical desperation of women throughout the ages to find a man. Of course, at this time, single women faced almost certain poverty* and, indeed, single women today are still more vulnerable. It’s clever how James pokes fun at this though, as a woman, it is uncomfortable in its truth. This series is also set in the Georgian period, a departure from James’ usual Regency period. I also don’t quite get the feel that this is truly a romance. I didn’t read the premise or summary of the story before I read it—I’m just reading Eloisa James’ backlist—so it took me awhile to figure out exactly who the hero and heroine were! It also felt more like a game than a romance. I think romance is a game but chess matches also feature here.  That said, it is well written and the pacing is good, however, I wanted more. There are too many secondary characters to call this an historical romance, with people playing each other and never revealing their true feelings. So it has a little coldness about it, too. It’s more historical fiction than historical romance. I hope the rest of the books in this series are not like this one and focus more on hero and heroine. *”Single women have a dreadful propensity for being poor.” Jane Austen, letter, March 13, 1817.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not one of her best efforts but not bad overall.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Truly a great plot. Interesting characters and just enough heat. Loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago