×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Destroyer Angel (Anna Pigeon Series #18)
     

Destroyer Angel (Anna Pigeon Series #18)

4.4 46
by Nevada Barr
 

See All Formats & Editions

"Gripping…BREATHTAKING…complex."—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

In Destroyer Angel, Anna Pigeon, a ranger for the U.S. Park Services, sets off on a much-needed vacation: an autumn camping trip in the Iron Range in upstate Minnesota. With Anna is her friend Heath, a paraplegic; Elizabeth, Heath’s

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Destroyer Angel 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 46 reviews.
S- More than 1 year ago
Nevada Barr always provides a good read and this was no exception.  I am a twenty year fan of Anna Pigeon even though I do not always agree with Anna's political or religious views.  This book had adventure, suspense,  and a great dog.   While I found myself wishing Anna would just take care of business without the philosophical wonderings, I realized that the wondering is partly why I will always buy an Anna Pigeon story no questions asked.  
JPropst More than 1 year ago
Destroyer Angel is a thrilling, gripping, suspenseful and heart stopping read. Nevada Barr has written another awesome Anna Pigeon suspense thriller. I had a hard time putting it down because of the heart stopping events happening to the four captives by the thugs that had taken them captive and Anna who was trying to rescue them. There was one incident that caused my heart to jump in my throat. I thought my chest would burst till I saw what was going to happen hoping it wouldn't be what I feared. This was one of the best Anna Pigeon books Barr has written. I loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This 309 page book is by one of my favorite authors. I paid almost $10.00 for this novel. This a lot for me, usually $3.00 is my limit and I get the more expensive books from the library. I love Neveda Barr's, Anna Pigeon series. The formatting and sentence structure in this book was a litte different from her other books, not bad, just different. The way she wrote this book really added to the tension and the must hurry feel of the book. NB's writting is a big favorite of mine because she gets her point across without a lot of descriptive, Texas Chain Saw Massacre, type of gore. There is quite a bit of murder, violence and attempted rape of a young girl in this book. No cursing, actual sex, drug use or romance occurs. There is a very general reference to religion. There is a side character, which is gay, his role was very interesting, even though, he was more a reference character then anything else. A dog gets injured by one of the baddies, but lives to bark and chase squrriels another day. I really liked seeing Anna's gentle care of the injured animal. This was a softer side of her, which is rarely shown. This is a well edited book which can be enjoyed by men as well as women. I highly recommend it, for mystery lovers ages, ages 16 and up. AD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely could not put this down. Ms Barr writes such descriptive stories, stories full of suspense and intrigue. I have already ordered the next book in the series!
Maertel More than 1 year ago
Okay, Here's The Thing... While husband Paul Davidson is without doubt a REALLY great and REALLY nice guy, and sister Molly will complete and challenge Anna's persona throughout the entire series, when loyal readers go back to read ILL WIND one more time, it's definitely un-boring, slightly scary, but ultimately sexy, fun, witty, and wise old Frederick Stanton who's the draw. Anna and Paul's sojourn is an oddly long drawn out story - maybe Episode #21 will bring Stanton back to the rescue with fireworks in the night air for a couple of master strokes, without, of course, a destructive climactic union. Frisson desirable.
tedfeit0 More than 1 year ago
Novels in the Anna Pigeon series usually take place in national parks featuring the wilderness as she grapples with the likes of forest fires and the like. This time, as she braves a Minnesota forest, it is four gunmen who have kidnapped two friends and their daughters while she was out canoeing, thus missing out on the party at the beginning: The five women originally planned to enjoy a long weekend camping at a park ranger site. Thus begins a long trek of undue hardship as the captives are forced to travel toward a landing strip miles away where the kidnappers hoped to be picked up by a plane to wait for the eventual payoff. Instead, as they slowly head to their destination, trailed by Anna whose purpose obviously is somehow to rescue her friends, the reader is treated to a gruesome blow-by-blow account of the rough treatment the women receive and lessons in how to survive in the wilderness, courtesy of Anna the park ranger, as well as how to stalk prey. The descriptions are graphic and powerful, brutal and mesmerizing. Unfortunately, from time to time, the author interjects opinions on a variety of side issues which detract from the forward thrust of the plot. Otherwise, this is a forceful tale, and is recommended.
Sheeld More than 1 year ago
A powerful book about a situation I hope I am never in. The writing was so descriptive, I had to stop reading before going to bed so I would not have bad dreams. Barr really captured Anna's dilemma in this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Grips your attention from the beginning and doesn't let go.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is an excellent portrayal of strong, courageous women (and dog)! It was hard to put down. What is next for Anna Pigeon (after her recuperation of course) Cannot wait!
Anonymous 6 months ago
Do you know where iceclan is?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. The tension of what would happen next was amazing, with periods of not much progress by the protagonist in between. I've been a fan of Nevada Barr for a long time, and this may be her best novel yet.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a ride...Loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
jmsmom More than 1 year ago
Nevada Barr has done it again!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a enjoyable read. Some just hand in there and deal WITH SITUATIONS. Lots of action and believable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sensational. I never get tired of this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The writing style is not what we are used to. Did Nevada Barr write this? Is someone assisting in writing? Both my husband and myself noticed it somewhat odd. We are big fans fans and look forward to anything new from Nevada Barr. Just curious….
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I gobbled this down in one all night session - it's that
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great book by Nevada Barr. Can't wait for the next one!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The best Ms Barr has written in many years. Hard to put down.