×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Devil in a Blue Dress (Easy Rawlins Series #1)
     

Devil in a Blue Dress (Easy Rawlins Series #1)

4.3 26
by Walter Mosley
 

See All Formats & Editions

Los Angeles, 1948: Easy Rawlins is a black war veteran just fired from his job at a defense plant. Easy is drinking in a friend's bar, wondering how he'll meet his mortgage, when a white man in a linen suit walks in, offering good money if Easy will simply locate Miss Daphne Money, a blonde beauty known to frequent black jazz clubs....

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Devil in a Blue Dress: Featuring an Original Easy Rawlins Short Story "Crimson Stain" 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
God bless the day Mosley invented Mouse, I know this book is about Easy rawlings, but Mouse is one of those characters that stay in your mind 24 hours a day. Mosley's Literary brilliance is overwhelmingly clear in this novel. this is a must read for any mystery and action novel fan.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Devil In A Blue Dress is a beautiful book, with its Southern dialect and the change of the pace of Los Angeles's tough streets. Devil In A Blue Dress tells the story of Ekeziel 'Easy' Rawlins and his quest to pay his mortrage after he is fired from his job at a defense plant. The books explores the racial and gender segregation in post war America. It invites you, the reader, into a web of desire and intrigue.
jennifer worry More than 1 year ago
This book is a great mystery. The plot is extremely well written with many suprising twists along the way. Easy Rawlins is a very interesting character, and it's very easy to get lost in his life. You'll defenitely find yourself rooting for the underdog in this one.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is my favorote Easy Rawlins mystery. I am addicted to these books.If you like the 1940's, jazz, and mysteries then this book and the others are for you!
divas_lioness More than 1 year ago
My first read by Walter Mosley, but it won't be my last. I want to read the entire Easy Rawlings series. The excitement and mystery surrounding the book made it a page turner. Loved the unexpected outcome. Looking forward to the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had to read this for an intro to detective fiction class and I definitely enjoyed it. It was an easy read and I knocked it out in a few hours but it still kept my interest.
ThePolyBlog More than 1 year ago
PLOT OR PREMISE: Easy Rawlins lives in L.A., 1948. He's a black war veteran who just lost his job for mouthing off to the boss. Then a man comes along with an easy proposition: find a girl who was hanging out with the blacks at the jazz bars. While Easy needs the money to keep the little house he bought, he wants to know why the guy wants the girl found. Then he finds out others are looking too. Bodies pile up, having been worked over first, and the girl turns out to be connected to politics. While Easy finds the girl, it comes along with a lot of trouble from crooks, politicos, and cops who think he's good for one of the murders. . WHAT I LIKED: The story moves, the characters are interesting, and the descriptions of the settings are well-written enough to give the reader the feel of each place in the story. . WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: The characters may be interesting but are not well-developed. This story definitely has the feel of the pulp mystery fiction of the 50s and 60s, with lots of action, but no depth to the main characters. I never particularly cared about Easy, although I like the parameters of the character. . BOTTOM-LINE: Smooth as silk . DISCLOSURE: I received no compensation, not even a free copy, in exchange for this review. I am not personal friends with the author, nor do I follow him on social media.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Why is the kindle version cheaper?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago