×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Devil Inside (Morgan Kingsley Series #1)
     

The Devil Inside (Morgan Kingsley Series #1)

3.9 142
by Jenna Black
 

See All Formats & Editions

Posession. Murder. Mayhem.
Let the games begin...

Exorcism isn’t a job, it’s a calling—and a curse. Just ask Morgan Kingsley, a woman who has a stronger aura than any Demon. Or so she thought. Now, in a pair of black leather pants and a kick-ass tattoo, Morgan is heading back to Philadelphia after a nasty little exorcism—and her life is

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Devil Inside (Morgan Kingsley Series #1) 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 143 reviews.
melburg1 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. I picked it on a whim, having never heard of the author. I like her main character Morgan. So far she comes across as a strong, confident woman. We'll see how her character develops as the series continues. This book was a fun read. The story-line is unique and the plot twists kept me reading throughout the night until the book was finished. I'm looking forward to the next book in series.
Sandra027 More than 1 year ago
Wow. So the 1st third of this was OK, decent world building, plot, etc. Then Adam is introduced and the random, violent, and irrelevant to the plot M/M-sex ensues. I guess it was supposed to be erotica but it's presented in such an off-putting manner that I pretty much ended up loathing almost every character. Adam is creepy and Morgan was a spine-less idiot. The scene in the black room between the two of them and the ensuing morning after pretty much read like a rape scene to me and I just couldn't stand either of them after that and almost stopped reading. I skimmed through the rest of the book until the last 20 pages or so that had decent wrap up of the barely-there plot.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Let me preface all of this by saying I LOVED this. I sat down and read it all in one day. But I don't think everyone will love it. It deals with tough issues of religion and sex, and there are some difficult scenes. All of them are very well done and treated expertly, but they're still hard to read sometimes. At the core, I think this is a story about power more than anything-- power in human relationships and power between our realm and the Demon Realm. What I appreciated most about the book was how Morgan's struggle with the 'higher powers' (demons, in this case) mirrors a religious struggle: Morgan can't decide if it's heroic or stupid to let a higher power take over. Sure it makes you stronger, but are you still you? If you're willing to explore some tough issues you may not have given much thought to, and have a wild Urban Fantasy ride at the same time, you'll really enjoy The Devil Inside.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The author tries to write in a flow-of-conscious style but it comes off as jerky and unfinished. The first chapter was okay but then she decided that the book needed sex...and sex...and sex. The sex scenes weren't even well written! I found myself editing her book for her (the editors sucked at their job in this book) and just couldn't get into it. I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone who has experience with any form of English lit. It's annoying and doesn't read smoothly. I also disliked the main character. She's supposed to be a strong woman but she comes off as whiny and self-absorbed. I couldn't get through it and am taking the book back for a refund. I like Kelley Armstrong's books so I thought that, since she supposedly reviewed the books, this would be a good find but unfortunately I was very disappointed.
NookFever More than 1 year ago
...sticks and stones may break my bones, but chains and whips DON'T excite me... After I finished Dark Descendant by Jenna Black, I decided to give her Morgan Kingsley series a try. As with her other book, I enjoy the way she writes; she makes the pages flow effortlessly. I was a little disappointed with all the sex, sex, and more sex. There is not one chapter where Morgan isn't wrapped up in some kind of sexcapade; whether she's involved or just watching (yes-watching!). The author includes a lot of heavy S&M scenes with chains and whips, and multiple sex scenes between two homosexuals; including, a really rough scene in an S&M club. Not sure where to file this book. It doesn't really fit with other urban fantasies or paranormal romances; maybe erotica, but I've never read one of those books. If it weren't for all the sex, sex, and more sex, I may have rated this five stars. I thought the story was very entertaining, although I would have liked for Morgan to have more of a back-bone. She is a demon exorcist, and ends up hosting a demon of her own, who-unlike the case with other demons-can't seem to take over Morgan's body.
pat1eiu More than 1 year ago
i enjoyed this book quite a bit. It envolved professional exorcists and demons, but didn't really focus that much on the paranormal, at least in my opinion. It as reall more of a detective/action book just with paranormal aspects. It was a fun book to read with likable characters.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Topeka on a job, kick demon butt professional exorcist Morgan Kingsley is embarrassed to find Lugh heir to the demon kingdom residing inside her. She wants to get rid of him, but has no earthly idea how to do it safely as the two options are between death and lobotomy.------------ Lugh is also unsure how he entered his hostess, but knows she has a strong human aura that keeps him somewhat under control. He only communicates with her when she is sleeping. However, after Morgan¿s denial and fooling her expert peers re possession, Lugh through her dreams persuades Morgan they need to work together. He explains they must learn how his opponents transplanted him inside of her without either aware of it happening and how to get him out without harming her although in his mind if he escapes her, she is expendable. As his demonic adversaries want him dead due to his radical position on human possession, the easy way to accomplish this is killing Morgan.------------- This is a fabulous urban fantasy in which the Black world filled with demons, possessions, laws, and special prisons make for an exhilarating thriller. Morgan will entertain the troops although somewhat a comic book heroine similar to Lara Craft she is especially at her best when she rages at the humiliation of an exorcist being possessed. Fans of an offbeat but wildly enjoyable tale starring a take no prisoners heroine will want to read the DEVIL INSIDE, as the title is literally apropos.--------- Harriet Klausner
tiggerdavis1970 More than 1 year ago
When I first read this book, I wasn't sure if I was going to like it, But as I kept turning the pages I loved reading how Morgan found out about the demon that was living inside her and how she grew to like him. In spite of everything, I could not put this but down until I finished it! And I loved it!!!!! Then I was searching for the second one! it was that good!
WhovianQueen More than 1 year ago
I wasn't sure I was going to like this book when I began to read it. The writing style is as if someone is sitting on your couch telling you the story. The more I became comfortable with the style the more I enjoyed the book. Things get very complicated for Morgan very quickly. It is easy to get sucked in!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I do enjoy this series very much, however there is one big reason that I can not give it 5 stars, and thats attitude. Morgan's bullheadedness makes her stupid. She refuses to see reason and holds the wrong grudges. Her stupidity does make it hard to read sometimes and I know it doesn't make sense that I like the series, but I do.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jessa-H More than 1 year ago
A great addition to the urban fantasy genre! The characters are interesting without being annoying, the plot is intriguing and the concept is unique enough to keep me reading the entire series. Well done!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an awesome book with a very unique plot line. I highly Recommened checking it out! The characters are great and different! X
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I first read the Nook samples of the Morgan K. books and I really liked those samples. The idea of a series following an exorist seemed great, but then the author got too involved with the S&M 'stuff', and that just ruined it, especially when Morgan got off on listening to Dom getting whipped. I'm not sure if I would waste any money on her other books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago