×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Devil of the Highlands
     

Devil of the Highlands

4.2 179
by Lynsay Sands
 

See All Formats & Editions

They call him the Devil . . .

He is the most notorious laird of Scotland: fierce, cold, deadly . . . and maybe even worse. Yet Evelinde has just agreed to wed him. Anything, she thinks, is better than her cruel stepmother. Though Evelinde should be wary of the rumors, she can't help but be drawn to this warrior . . . for the Devil of the Highlands inspires a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Devil of the Highlands 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 179 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1273 England, Lady Edda asks King Edward to arrange for her stepdaughter Evelinde of d¿Aumesbury to marry the ¿Devil of Donnachaidh¿. The stepmother loathes her late husband¿s offspring and detests sharing the fruits of her deceased husband¿s barony, which is beneath her needs as it is She also wants to punish Evelinde for being the brave daughter of her despicable dead spouse; so assumes the Scottish aristocratic barbarian will be a perfect brute for Evelinde. The monarch arranges for the couple to meet. Each is shocked that their preconceptions re the other is totally wrong. She expected an abusive thug, but he is kind and caring; he anticipated a cold aloof shrew, but she is warm and daring.

After they exchange marital vows, they head to his home in Scotland as she wonders why the nickname as he nothing like his ferocious reputation. She learns the epithet was given to him due to the murder of his father and the alleged suicide of his cousin; everyone assumes he caused both. Everyone except Evelinde until someone tries to kill her. She wonders if her husband is actually insane or is someone trying to make him seem like a berserker murderer; she plans to learn the truth or die trying.

Starting with the evil stepmother, DEVIL OF THE HIGHLANDS is a fabulous medieval romance starring two charming courageous characters. Evelinde is somewhat typical of the sub-genre except that she matures with a keen understanding that the man she loves proves his caring of her and his people through what he does for them. The whodunit adds to a strong thirteenth century tale as the heroine realizes her spouse is the angel of Donnachaidh.

Harriet Klausner
hjp112 More than 1 year ago
I LOVED this book as well as Lynsay Sands, she is down right amazing. I did a little crying, a lot of laughing, and even some hating, but in the end I was willing to tell all my friends this is a MUST read and one of my favorite books. The plot was great, the characters seem so real and I was free falling into a story of old but a plot of new. I have read almost every book Lynsay Sands has written and have yet to be disappointed. If you are a person who loves romance and a good suspense then I would recommend reading every one of Lynsay Sands books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did enjoy this book, but not enough to buy the next one. I absolutely love her vampire series and i just read kresley coles highlander series, so i was jonesing for more scots. I say stick with the vamps for ms sands, but if you want a good highlander read, go with kresley cole or karen marie moning
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
it is nice to read a book where the man chases the woman instead of the other way a round. i loved the book will keep to read again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put this book down, made me laugh at times. It keeps you wondering what will happen next
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Her style of writing is great. Love her characters, her humor but havent read any of her vampire stories yet.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For its genre, this is a great read. Highly recommend Taming the Highland Bride and Hellion and the Highlander. They combine for an exceptional reading delight.
MPRLC More than 1 year ago
This book was extremely enjoyable. I loved the intrigue, the romance, the suspense and the humor was through out. This book was a terrific fun read. Couldn't put it down.
Momof4IN More than 1 year ago
Let me start by saying that I love Lynsay Sands, her writing style and sense of humor are fantastic. But this book kind of fell flat for me. It lacked the humor that I know and love. The characters were just okay, the story line was just... Eh. Not what I come to expect from a Lynsay Sands book
VeldaC More than 1 year ago
I loved, loved, LOVED, this book.  I found it funny, sexy and serious.   I didn't want to put it down!  Thank you, Lynsay Sands, for a fantastic book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lovely and suspenseful story!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. Cant wait to read more of Lynsay Sands books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As much a mystery as a romance. Great hero---great heroine. Good mystery. Nice secondary characters.
Jetches More than 1 year ago
Well…I’ve fallen in love with another highlander. And he is nicknamed ‘The Devil’. How, awesome is that? I liked this book. It started off with some awesome passion, and then there was some mystery added in, and I was a goner. Cullen really got me from the first meeting. He didn’t fit his nickname, but he doesn’t talk a lot so I can see how people can come to that conclusion, but then he goes and totally woos Evelinde in a very, very nice scene by the water. *SWOON. I also really liked the mystery aspect of this novel. I liked that it affected them at ‘home’ and wasn’t about some enemy clan. Now I thought I had ‘The Villain’ all figured out, but this book was tricky and when it was all revealed I was happily surprised.  This book kept me on my toes, kept me thinking, and kept me falling for Cullen.  Good: Cullen—I loved when he tells her he will try and tell her as well as show her what he is thinking. Damn….just damn. Evelinde—She had a pretty crappy life, but is not willing to settle for anything other than what she wants. Bad:  I find there was a lack of depth in their romance. I guess I just wasn’t feeling their love too much. Overall (Writing style, story line, and general): Overall I really enjoyed this novel. I liked the mystery, I enjoyed the characters, and swooned over the male character, and I found the writing as easy to follow as any writing about Scotland during the time of Lairds and Highlanders could be.
Anonymous 21 days ago
Good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It lacks a proper ending. I felt like it just stopped. Was more about other things than the romance. Which is fine, but i wanted romance not just mystery
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read and re-read this series of 3 books! They are so good and i wish she wrote more in this series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago