×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dewey: There's a Cat in the Library!
  • Alternative view 1 of Dewey: There's a Cat in the Library!
  • Alternative view 2 of Dewey: There's a Cat in the Library!
  • Alternative view 3 of Dewey: There's a Cat in the Library!
  • Alternative view 4 of Dewey: There's a Cat in the Library!
  • Alternative view 5 of Dewey: There's a Cat in the Library!
<Previous >Next
     

Dewey: There's a Cat in the Library!

4.0 37
by Vicki Myron
 

See All Formats & Editions

The story of Dewey the celebrated library cat is now available for the youngest of readers in this new, fully-illustrated picture book adventure.

When Librarian Vicki Myron finds a young kitten abandoned in the Spencer Library return box, she nurses him back to health, deciding then and there that he will be

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dewey: There's a Cat in the Library! 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 37 reviews.
3kidspastsane More than 1 year ago
My 6 year old bought this to gift to his kindergarten class on his 6th birthday. A major cat lover, and avid reader, this book combined both loves! He was able to read it to his class (he's an advanced reader, reading on a 2nd grade level, this book could not be independently read by an emerging reader) and they were completely engaged with this true story of a cat who lived in, and became a part of the library in Spencer, Iowa. The teacher used her smart board to look up real pictures of Dewey, the library, and the real librarian who found him. This book is engaging, educational (shocking, but some of the kids had never been to a library outside of school), and is a good read.
StephanieCFoxJD More than 1 year ago
I love this cat. I read Vicki Myron's full-length tribute to her cat, so I know that he really met the library patrons at the door, and so it was nice to see this story. I enjoyed it because it focused the reader's attention entirely on this cute thing that the cat did. That was great because the biography of Dewey went through the entire life...and death...of the cat. After that, I was ready to go back and focus on this wondeful aspect of a wonderful cat, and just enjoy that. She did a really good job with it - and with her pet cat.
Tiara Jackson More than 1 year ago
it is a great book the kids are always begging me to let them read.
FeatheredQuillBookReviews More than 1 year ago
Quick! Look! There's a cat in the library and he wants to play with you! Whether your child loves going to the library, or you have a reluctant reader, Dewey: There's a Cat in the Library! is a great way to encourage trips to the local library. Dewey is the sweet story of a kitten who was "deposited" into the library's book return box on a frigid winter night. Found half frozen the next morning by Vicki Myron, one of the library's employee, Dewey the kitten was cared for, and soon adopted by the library. This book takes a lighthearted look at a library cat and the joy that he brought to so many of the library's patrons. The first book written about Dewey, Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World, was an adult memoir. But it suffered from too little information about Dewey to fill an almost 300 page book. In an attempt to pad the book, the author included far too much extraneous information on her life as well as the history of the town. Dewey's antics were lost amongst all the irrelevant information. Fortunately, that's not the case with the children's' version of the story. There is just enough here - and it's all about the cat - to make a perfect tale. The narrative jumps around, showing the various activities that Dewey is involved with, as well as his silly antics. The soft, lifelike drawings showing the sweet cat and young children interacting are inviting as is the idea of a cat at the local library. Quill says: A charming "tail" about a cat living at the library.
KaraCBaker More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful book for kids - and a great companion to the adult Dewey book! Great to get kids interested in the Library - especially if they like cats.
beckylynne More than 1 year ago
Steve James' artwork and Vicki Myron's story make this a precious read and read again picture book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Vicky myron is my favorite author ever. I have read all if the dewey books and i got to say they are the best books ever. Such touching stories
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book
Patricia Hall More than 1 year ago
i just hate it when they mistreat their pets
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My daughter and I loved the story and illustrations. This is a wonderful story!
stacybuckeye More than 1 year ago
Great illustrations and story of finding your place in the world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Even though i have not read the kid version book i think it is awsome because the chapter book about Dewey i really goo it even made me cry. So you should get this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hallie Klopfenstein More than 1 year ago
Ok
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wei Huang More than 1 year ago
ok
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Seaberg Family Account More than 1 year ago
My librarian would love it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
D23 More than 1 year ago
good for kids
former-TIGER More than 1 year ago
I was so excited to pick up this version of the Dewey book in a children's version...now I don't even want to read the adult version. I am an Iowa educator, working with children who struggle with reading comprehension, fluency, and accuracy. I was interested in this book for my classroom library because I love trade books along with the second fact that I am originally from Spencer, Iowa. I took a look at this with eagerness, and closed it with disappointment. It is more of a baby book. I see the faces and hear the words of children after they have just been read a fun, well-written, and all around good story. This one is boring and very dry. It needs a good kick of energy; that's for sure. She should attempt something kids can sink their brains into and love. There are tons of good books out there for kids who are and can get pumped up about Reading...this isn't one of those.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is so sweet. It is a cute story about a sweet cat in a library. The cat, Dewey, is a sweet thoughtful kitty who makes everyone feel good. We read it at least 5 times a week.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LibrarylilKS More than 1 year ago
This is a very special book about a kitten left in a library book drop. It is an engaging story and the illustrations are beautiful. I gave it to each of my grandsons and have already read it to them several times!