×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dicey's Song
     

Dicey's Song

4.2 80
by Cynthia Voigt
 

See All Formats & Editions

The four Tillerman children finally have a home at their grandmother's rundown farm on the Maryland shore. It's what Dicey has dreamed of for her three younger siblings, but after watching over the others for so long, it's hard to let go. Who is Dicey, if she's no longer the caretaker for her family?

Dicey finds herself in new friends, in a growing relationship with

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dicey's Song 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 80 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a really good book and those of you who havent read the first one it is a must read!!!!!!!!!!!
Olivia17 More than 1 year ago
Dicey's Song by Cynthia Voigt is a powerful story. The Tillerman children are inspiring and Dicey, the main character, represents the person we should all strive to be as a brother or sister. The author, Cynthia Voigt tells their story as they struggle to make ends meet and establish themselves in their new home at their grandmother's house, with such talent. Though the end may be a little predictable in leading up to it, once there, it is impossible to keep the tears back. Ultimately, Voigt teaches what it is to keep a family together, working and supporting one another. Dicey's Song is an excellent book and is highly recommended to read.
Viviana Gonzalez More than 1 year ago
I love the book i read the first one now in going to read this one i cant wait
KHeitman More than 1 year ago
I read the first book- Homecoming- and loved it so much that i couldn't wait to read the the second book. It immediately absorbed me and it was hard to stop reading. The book takes you on the wild journey of a 13 year old girl who has traveled cross-country with her siblings, and found a home with their grandmother. The book shows you the trials of learning to be dependent after living independent for so long. As she goes through school, and gets a job, she comes to hear some grave news. Her mother has died. She and her grandmother go to cremate Dicey's mother, while Dicey's sister, Maybeth, has a hidden talent for piano that is discovered. She gets a wonderful piano teacher that really helps the family out. The book was very intriguing and it made me want to keep reading, and keep reading. I cant wait to read the next book in the series!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was a great book.We read it in school and I first thought it was going to be boring,but until I read it, I just wanted to read it all over again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dicey’s Song Dicey, Maybeth, James, and Sammy Tillerman got abandoned by their mother at the beginning of the summer. They traveled long and far before finally getting to their grandmother’s house where they are now. Dicey soon gets a job and makes a friend named Mina. Maybeth is having trouble learning how to read but her music teacher thinks that she would be great at piano and Maybeth turns out to be amazing. Dicey has to give up a big chunk of her salary though to pay for the lessons. Dicey starts having trouble letting their grandmother plan and pay for items. They end up getting a call about their mother from an asylum saying that she will not wake up from her sleep. Dicey must learn to let go and reach out to others.  I give this book three stars because it is not as interesting in the beginning because there was not a big conflict. There are also not a lot of events throughout the whole book. It is not as important to read the first book Homecoming because she explained what happened fairly well. Overall I thought this book was okay because it was written well, I just wish that more events happened.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like Caroline B. Cooneys books, this book is definitely one for you! The author has the same talent for writing how people think, and all of the characters are easy to relate to.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Homecoming was amazing! Me and my friends were reading it for our book club, it gave us lots to talk about!!!!! I am so thinking about getting this one!!!! :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Discriptive language too good to put down :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very well written. I recommend this book to all people! Cynthia Voigt is a great author. I already finished Homecoming, (the first book in the Tillerman Cycle), and I can't wait until the whole series comes out in Nook version. It is definitely one of my favorites. Read it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
FOR LOVING READERS ONLY READ THIS SUMARRY. This is absolutley posotively 5 starts thumbs up. It follows the book Homecoming and to give a breif summary about the first book. Four kids, Dicey,13,James,10,Maybeth,9,and Sammy,6, who got abanoded by their mother in a mall parking lot. Left to fend for themselves the kids have to make it from the top of Conneticut to the bottom of Maryland WALKING!!!!!!!! With only a few dollars they made it to their grandma's house. Getting there she didn't want them only letting them stay for the night. Staying longer and rubbing off on her are allowed to stay. In this bookk it is about the day to day struglles. A pageturner mind blowing book. This is a must read for a book that can be read fast. The kids have newlives at a new school. Having to let go of everything she had always know and trusted Dicey becomes worried she can't and is dobtful about her grandma being able to do this. The other kids are making new freinds and getting invited to parties. Doingwell for the most part at school, the kids are getting good grades. One day in Dicey's class they had a project to do. Hoping to do it by herself Dicey gets to work. After getting nudged several time Dicey turns around to a warm smile of the other smartest girl in class. Wanting to work together Dicey agrees and they ace the project. The next day after class the girl awaited to walk Dicey to her next class. Dicey cold on the outside kept turning it down. The girl keeps it up and to find out the rest get the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cynthia voigt rocks!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really love homecoming by cynthia voigt. I got it for christmas and I am only on page 51but i am luving it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yvette Garcia More than 1 year ago
I really like this book :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago