×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dick Francis's Gamble
     

Dick Francis's Gamble

4.1 35
by Felix Francis
 

See All Formats & Editions

One of the youngest winners of the Grand National, Nick “Foxy” Foxton suffered a near-fatal injury that cut short his career. Years later, he’s out for a day at the Grand National races when his colleague, Herb Kovack, is shot at point-blank range right in front of him. Like the police, Nick is baffled: Why would anyone kill such an apparently gentle

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dick Francis's Gamble 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 35 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I hadn't planned to purchase Felix Francis' Gamble; as a long time fan of Dick Francis (I've read all his books), I didn't think anyone - even his son - could recreate the magic to which I've looked forward for over 30 years. Then I picked up the book and read the first page. He grabbed me immediately, and I bought it. All the Francis elements are present: the racing, the seemingly random murders which our Everyman protagonist must solve, the related conspiracy where the reader is educated about a field unrelated to horse racing, that upper class villain, and a personal subplot to make the protagonist's life real and compelling. The prose races along; I dropped everything to devote myself to the last third of the book. Readers will love the horseback ride. I did predict accurately the real villain, but anyone who has read all or most of Francis' mysteries will as well. One minor complaint I have - the random allusions shoved into the story: Arnold Palmer, Tanya Harding, and Lee Harvey Oswald. They seem contrived and unnecessary. However, any Dick Francis fan will enjoy spending time with Nicholas (Foxy) Foxton and his family. Felix, your father would be proud. "Heads you win."
cage47 More than 1 year ago
Because Felix Francis worked with his father he picked up on his writing style and added a bit of his own personality. The writing is slightly less crisp but the characters are interesting and the story a good one. This was going to be my 'give him a chance book' and Felix Francis came out on top.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All the familiar features of a Dick Francis novel are there to enjoy, but readers who have read more than one of the original Dick Francis mysteries will detect a slightly different tone, an undefined sense of "Something has changed" to the characters and story. I enjoyed the book and will re-read it, as I have re-read his father's books. I hope Felix will continue to write and develop his own style.
harstan More than 1 year ago
After breaking his neck when he was a jockey, Nicholas "Foxy" Foxton became a financial advisor at Lyall & Black, a small but profitable investment firm. Also employed by the company is Herb Novak. The pair attends the Grand National when someone shoots Novak while Foxton stands next to him. Foxton does not know what the killer looks because he looked at the gun when the murder occurred. Foxy is shocked to learn Novak named him estate executor and a beneficiary. He realizes Herb had a scam going on with internal gambling using his British credit cards to enable people in the United States to go on line to place bets. Pondering what he should do, Foxy decides he needs to identify the gamblers to end the betting scheme and locate the money Herb hid so he can pay off the estate's debts. A client informs Nicholas that an investment brought to the attention by one of the Lyall & Black advisors is bogus as the so called bulb factory in Bulgaria is nonexistent. Foxy investigates the legitimacy of the claim, but someone tries to kill him. Running for his life though unaware why Herb's assassin wants to kill him, Foxy's lover Claudia has been diagnosed with cancer. Talk about a chip off the old block, Felix Francis provides a winning thriller that his late father will be proud of. Filled with action and tense twists and red herrings, Nicholas holds the story line together as he is there for his lover and when danger stalks him, he goes to extraordinary lengths to keep his beloved Claudia safe as he does the unexpected.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have loved every Dick Francis book I have ever read. If you love a good mystery and horses, these books are like chocolate.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TWD More than 1 year ago
Great to see the old master and young journeyman at work once again! The plot and characters are excellent and well developed. A MUST BUY for any Dick Francis fan!
HeatherLB More than 1 year ago
I, like others, read this as a kind of trial, wondering how Felix would measure up to his father and was not disappointed. Sure, there were some differences. Dick Francis's books never seemed to date themselves with the exception of the eventual advent of computer usage and cell phones etc. But rarely did he mention anything from popular culture or politics, leaving the books with a certain timeless quality. Gamble has about 3-4 mentions of current events, or events that were recent or current when this was written, therefore leaving the reader with less a timeless quality. And I think that the protagonist is more wordy and conversational than Dick Francis's tend to be. However, leaving those two things behind, I very much enjoyed the book and even stayed up late last night to finish it. While I may have started as a Dick Francis fan, Felix has won me over. I look forward to more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not up to his father's standards yet, but interesting and creditable nonetheless. Its time for Felix to develop his own characters, though. I'm not quite damning with faint praise, but it really isn't a book I'll read twice.
glauver More than 1 year ago
Felix Francis is following in his father's footsteps and that is encouraging. The Dick Francis elements are in place. We have the reluctant everyman hero, the racing backdrop, and the tidbits of info about an unusual occupation. At times the protagonist seems too be a bit lucky in his escapes from death, but overall Felix is well on his way to keeping the family tradition alive.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WGFL More than 1 year ago
Another winner by Dick Francis.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago