×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dinosaurs Divorce
     

Dinosaurs Divorce

4.1 10
by Marc Brown, Laurie Krasny Brown, Lawson, Rosanne Bittner
 

See All Formats & Editions

Dinosaurs Divorce Will Help you Understand:
• Divorce Words and What They Mean
• Why Parents Divorce
• What About You?
• After the Divorce
• Living with One Parent
• Visiting Your Parent
• Having Two Homes
• Celebrating Holidays and Special Occasions
• Telling Your Friends

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dinosaurs Divorce! 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A great book! It was a gift to me when my parents split-up six years ago. It helped me understand that what was happening wasn't my fault, and that my parents still loved me. I was only in fouth grade then. Now I am a sophmore in high school, & I am very gratful that I read that book when I was young because it hepled me through the hardest time of my life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book. I first read this book when a Military Family Life Consultant gave it to my son during her session with him. I bought the book and my had my son read it to me (2nd grade). He made sure to point out the scenarios that looked like our family (they show several types for each stage of divorce). We go back and read it from time to time just to see where we are as the book progresses. It's a great way to get him talking about what he sees and how he is feeling. It's been a life saver. It has a calming effect for him and it gives him a way to tell me how he feels. He's in 4th grade now and he still wants to read it. We leant the first one to our neighbor.. and never saw it again.. she loves it, too! I think it's good for any child, but for our boys, it helps them articulate their feelings.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was recommended by my daughter's family counselor as a way of talking about her divorce to her 3 year old. Since her divorce was uncontested and quite civil, the book didn't really fit her situation. I could see some use for the book as a discussion starter if children were in a situation where there was a lot of acrimony between the parents.
Allison_White More than 1 year ago
I was very impressed with this book. It is very informational yet still fun for kids. They get the information that they need on divorce without feeling overwhelemed with information. Something I really liked was that it has a list of words and definitions in the front cover for words that children might not know (for example: alimony). I thought that this was a good idea because I know children get confused with all the big vocabulary that can be associated with divorce. I was also impressed that the book addressed all different aspects and problems with divorce. IT talks about what to do if your parents try to talk bad about the other parent and if you are caught in the middle. It talks about having two different homes to live in and going back and forth between parents and homes. It also talks about what to do if one parent starts dating or even gets married and you suddenly now have a step parent, and most importantly it talks about the feelings that children might have and it reassures the child and lets them know that everything they are feeling is normal but that it will get better and there is hope. I would definitely use this book in my classroom if I had children going through a divorce or to inform my students on the situation. My parents went through a divorce when I was in highschool and I wish I had had a book to tell me information and what to expect. I highly recommend this book and hope everyone enjoys it as much as I do!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an excellent book. My son and I still read this book periodically so I know how he is feeling. It takes you through every stage of divorce and there after. It is an awesome book and really helped my son greatly during this time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A great book for children. My eight year old was able to read it to herself, and my six year old read it to me. I really appreciate that the book reitterates how that while many things may change due to a divorce, the one thing that will not change is their parents' love for them. As angry and bitter as paretns may be, this is paramount for our children to believe.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Dinosaurs Divorce is a brilliant way to present facts and feelings to kids in a fun and engaging way. Kids absolutely love this book and seemed to relate to these wonderful characters. It seems to be comforting to kids who are experiencing the stresses of divorce.