×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dirty White Boys
     

Dirty White Boys

4.2 49
by Stephen Hunter
 

See All Formats & Editions

They busted out of McAlester State Penitentiary--three escaped convicts going to ground in a world unprepared for anything like them....

Lamar Pye is prince of the Dirty White Boys.  With a lion in his soul, he roars--for he is the meanest, deadliest animal on the loose....
Odell is Lamar's cousin, a hulking manchild with unfeeling eyes.  

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dirty White Boys 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 49 reviews.
SavageBS More than 1 year ago
Good action book! My 1st Stephen Hunter novel! Contrary to what other reviewers have said, this book is not really part of the Earl Swagger / Bobby Lee Swagger series. Earl Lee Swagger is mentioned once throughout the entire book. There are no prequels to read before you decide to read "Dirty White Boys" or after. "Dirty White Boys" is a good read, alot of action and great characters! The Pyes (Lamarr & Odell) are dirty white boys, poor white trash in every meaning of the words! They are ruthless killers & will stop at nothing to get what they want. The book is very well written and I was impressed with the (come full circle) type ending! You will be cheering on Trooper Bud Pewtie to catch Lamarr and Odell. The shootouts in the book are very well written and keep your full attention. Highly recommended, good reading~
Royce_Illinois More than 1 year ago
I really loved this book even though it was a little longer then most of Hunter's books. I was given this book by a friend a long time after I had read Black Light which is why it took be a long time into the book to make the parallel. Hunter kept alluding to both the hard and ruthless as well as the nurturing side of Lamar Pye and I couldn't figure out why this was so important to the storyline. Then finally it occurred to me that he has a very close connection with another character within this series. I love this aspect of this series, how everything is somehow connected.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When Lamar and his cousin Odell escape from prison with wimpy, pathetic Richard, prepare for a path of violence the likes of which you haven't seen in a long time. Lamar is the criminal version of good guy Earl Swagger of Hunters 'Hot Springs,' which is a book not to miss if you haven't already read it. Bud Pewtie, police sergeant from Oklahoma has the misfortune of going one on one against Lamar and comes within a microsecond of losing his life. He is bent on revenge in finding this brutal killer and the chase is on. You won't want to put this one down. Stephen Hunter has also written many other great novels, and every one is a great read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Another great book by Stephen Hunter, will keep you on the edge of your seat. You can relate to the human flaws of everyday life, and realize the fear and emotion of those fighting and those running.
junebugSM More than 1 year ago
I read this book because it was told to me by another reader who knows I like prison books. This book blew me away. It has some serious bad words, but nothing you never heard of. Actually its kinda calm more than in the prison itself. This has to do with 3 men out of Oklahoma on a prison escape. How they broke out, left the area, and headed on the highway to different towns. Odell ( the lower IQ) his cousin Lamar, and Richard, who seems to have had a shorter sentence and was soon to be released, but not anymore. They meet up with the state trooper, Bud Pewtie, and a few others, hanging out at the Denny's restaurant and just alot of O-K-corral shoot out. Folks dead, and alot hurt. Very good book if your interested in the prison stuff, and very good to read while we had so many break-outs during the July summer time....
RCCnLA More than 1 year ago
Steven Hunter admits there are 3 books that form a trilogy which provide a lot of the deep background for his Bob Lee Swagger character. This is a great read for fans, and I'm glad I figured out where this book fits in, because it isn't clearly promoted as part of the "Sniper" series. Don't expect hard core sniper grit as this is hard core bad guys who are institutional lifers out and about. Good depth and a change of pace from one of my favorite authors.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read! I really like Hunter and this is his best yet. I could not put it down. You have to read the others of the Swagger series to find out the ending of this story. You wont be disapointed; they are all good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book fills in some questions about Earl Swagger's life and times and supplies a few nuggets of information that mostly fit in the series of Bob Lee Swagger's life and times (so far) from "Point of Impact" to "Dead Zero". The writing style is roughly the same (pun intended) and it is pure Stephen Hunter. If you like "Time to Hunt", or "I, Sniper", you are going to love "Dirty White Boys"! This book is a real page-turner and it's easy to read. But I like it because it supplies it's own ending!
SlapShot62 More than 1 year ago
This the first Hunter book I've ever read, and it won't be the last - I plan to start from book one of the Swagger series very soon.   From the opening of Dirty White Boys, the reader is hooked.  I've read some reviewers complain that the book is overly violent.  It is what it is - a great tale about a hardened convicted killer, his retarded cousin and a meek psycho and their escape from a state penitentiary.   As would likely occur thereafter, they ruthlessly attempt to remain free and will hurt or kill anyone in their path.  One cop on a mission - to the point of obsession - remains on their trail throughout.    Great writing, sharp characters and plenty of action.   This isn't a book for deep thinkers - it is escapism at its best!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
However once you start reading and your blood starts boiling, you be hard pressed to put this one down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this read, hero was capable law enforcement officer but flawed as a man... much like real life. His personal and professional struggles were equally engaging.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago