×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Distant Land of My Father
     

The Distant Land of My Father

4.4 96
by Bo Caldwell
 

See All Formats & Editions


Anna, the narrator of this riveting first novel, lives in a storybook world: exotic pre- World War II Shanghai, with handsome young parents, wealth, and comfort. Her father, the son of missionaries, leads a charmed and secretive life, though his greatest joy is sharing his beloved city with his only daughter. Yet when Anna and her mother flee Japanese-occupied

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Distant Land of My Father (Harvest Book Series) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 96 reviews.
kiriandketa More than 1 year ago
This is an absolutely wonderful first novel by Bo Caldwell. I'm always excited to discover a new author, but even more thrilled to find one who writes so well. I savored every word. She makes Shanghai come alive with sights and sounds, and the characters are so well developed. The ending was sad but given all of the events in the story, it had to be.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was assigned this book as a summer reading book for school, so I thought it was just going to be another boring & dull book. Luckily, I was wrong. This book was actually very interesting and I found myself not wanting to put it down. I really enjoyed reading it and you felt like you were connected with the characters like you actually knew them. Bo Caldwell did a great job writing this novel and I'm glad I was assigned this book for the summer. I've already reccommended this book to people I know! Definitely a great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really great book. True story told by the daughter who immigrated to the US with her mother but not her father. Good history info about 2 wars that happened in ShangHai.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Engrossing, lush and exotic!! Hard to believe that this is not a memoir. It is written in such a personal narrative voice. The descriptions of Shanghai are so vivid I can feel the sultry humid air and the freezing cold. The interpersonal relationships are complex and well defined. Just a marvelous book, best book I've read since Suite Francaise!! This would make a great movie!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
No matter what happens, a loving family will stay together and survive one way or another, especially when the going is really tough.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a love story, the love between a father and daughter, a man and a woman and a man and a city. Bo Caldwell shows the delicate layering of each relationship and how they interact over a period of some 25 years. But that is too dry a description for a book that will leave you searching for a hankie. Anna Schoene's reaction to her father's refusal to put his wife and child before his love for the city of Shanghai is told so beautifully and so truthfully that the book reads far more like autobiography than fiction. The emotions are that well presented. It's the kind of book that will resonate for days after you've turned the last page.
-----Sharon More than 1 year ago
Have lots of tissue ready for the tears.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was an excellent book. I couldn't put it down and as soon as I finished it, I passed it to a friend!
NJ-Nina More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. I am a nonstop reader and love a good nonfiction interspersed with my fiction. This book gives insight into what Japan did during World Word II in China and to how foreigners were treated. This well written book is a great read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book,visiting Shanghai in the past,the love for each other of the characters.... and to be able to forgive. I hope Ms Calwell gives us a new book soon..to me she is part of the group of Buck,Elegant,Lin Yutang and others...
Guest More than 1 year ago
A well developed, touching story of a young girl whose millionaire father loses his family and fortune through lack of vision and a series of wrong judgments. The author shows clearly how the adoration of a child for her father gradually turns into disappointment as his decisions degrade her family life. The daughter eventually overcomes her resentment against her father through reading his diary and unterstanding his motives.
Anonymous 11 months ago
This book will take you to places of exotic beauty and horrifying realities of being in an occupied foreign city. It has a realistic serving of human emotions and survival. The author weaves the story of a most dynamic man and the wife and daughter who love him. I loved these strong women.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Felt very invested in main charater. Interesting to read about china before,during and after ww2.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ann_Louise More than 1 year ago
This is a sad book - but with elements of family love and overcoming wrongs without forgetting the past. It will remind you of your own family relationships. Can't recommend it highly enough.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this book. Very entertaining and you really see the characters personalities. Felt like the story was told so well you know the main characters in and out. I cried a little and laughed and wished I could watch it like a movie. Worth reading!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago