×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Divine Misfortune
     

Divine Misfortune

4.3 87
by A. Lee Martinez
 

See All Formats & Editions

Teri and Phil had never needed their own personal god. But when Phil is passed up for a promotion - again - it's time to take matters into their own hands. And look online.

Choosing a god isn't as simple as you would think. There are too many choices; and they often have very hefty prices for their eternal devotion: blood, money, sacrifices, and vows of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Divine Misfortune 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 87 reviews.
ubtaught More than 1 year ago
I expected a great deal less than I found. Great discovery of an author I hadn't read a great deal of (how's that for a dangling preposition?). Try it, you'll like it. Now, I am off to find more books by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book by A. Lee Martinez. A quirky and fun read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great read that keeps you entertained. Vivid imagery of characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I felt like I was watching a cartoon for adults. Love it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a great, quick read. I liked the way it was written, and it was very imaginative.
Sethbob More than 1 year ago
Not as good as his other work, but worth a read. Decent enough.
discourseincsharpminor More than 1 year ago
I've always enjoyed mythology but when you read it, you think, 'if this stuff actaully happened - randon gods using humans as pawns in their problems with others, it would be complete insanity.' This book takes that thought and expands upon it in a hilarious fashion.
dkwdba More than 1 year ago
Funny, silly and highly entertaining. A good read in the alternate fantasy humour categorry.
The_J_Man More than 1 year ago
I honestly didn't like Divine Misfortune. It is well written, the characters have promise, but the book is short and yet plodding. If this had been my first exposure to Martinez, I probably would have never read anything else of his, and that would have been tragic. This book is ok. It's something to take on a trip to kill time. If you want something that you'll really enjoy though, I'd read one of Martinez's other books. I think the rest of his work is exceptional.
NiceGustov More than 1 year ago
Hilarious, Creative, Good Paced and Brilliant cover art.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Greatbook
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Meli_Green More than 1 year ago
This is one of those books; I knew I was going to love. You know when you read the blurb about a book and you are like, wow that sounds interesting, and you open it to read a few pages? Ok if the dedication gets you to laugh you know the book will not disappoint. For the horde! "Divine Misfortune" takes place in an alternative world where the mythological gods exist and are still worshipped. They even have a match-up service similar to eHarmony where browsers can find a compatible god. This was a great story that was well thought-out with well-developed characters, and gods from everywhere. Don't look for divine insight here. The "gods" in this story are as real, flawed, and petty as humans, really just people with all their problems but the added problem of living forever and having a few supernatural powers. The language he uses is wonderful, easy to read. Quite simply, a breeze. His books would be the definition of summer reading, a book to take to the beach or to pull out on a rainy day. This book offers his take on the various gods and goddesses that inhabit our world. How he handles the ins and outs of living with these supreme beings is very well done and often hilarious. Do yourself a favor and read this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago