×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Djinn
     

Djinn

3.8 29
by Poppet
 
Cindy's life changes the minute she receives the book Djinn from Sasha. Within hours the forces of darkness infiltrate her life, forcing them both to run for their lives.

Sasha doesn't know it's Cindy he has to save, because evil hides in the strangest places.

This is an insider's view of possession and the tension of two lovers battling it. It's a treacherous

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Djinn 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
ShayLaPiedra More than 1 year ago
Cindy, a bookworm working at the library, likes to dabble in the occult. She considers it a harmless diversion and is thrilled to buy a book called Djinn from her bookstore friend Sasha. However, she soon realizes she doesn't really own this book. More accurately put; the book owns her, taking her on a torturous and harrowing journey through her own private hell. Djinn is a terrifying story, reminding us of the very real power of evil. We may think the occult is merely a benign accquaintance; but then, to our horror, we find it a relentless stalker, intent on taking our very lives. Highly recommended!
SesshaBatto More than 1 year ago
The first words that come to mind when talking about Djinn are profoundly disturbing. This is a horror story that crept under my skin and had me torn between my urge to turn the page, and my fear of reading it in the middle of the night. This is horror at its finest, the kind that has you jumping at every sound. I particularly appreciated Poppet's portrayal of Cinn's deterioration, the whipcord POV between two entities warring in the same body left me feeling as disoriented as Cinn must have been, which really put me into the story. If you want a truly immersive tale of the occult, look no further. Djinn will leave you wondering what you might have invited in to your own life, and keep you looking over your shoulder for weeks to come.
Rayven1 More than 1 year ago
I was very intrigued wit the title of this book, Djinn by Poppet. This title stirs up images of Genies and magic carpet rides, but there is a much darker side that the world forgets. In this book Poppet captures the true darkness that haunts us all in the ancient myth of the Djinn. Her story follows Cindy and Sasha; Cindy a young woman who has a love of the occult and books. Her thirst for knowledge takes her to her favorite bookstore where she finds Sasha,who is the key to her destruction and survival, he gifts her with a book that will change their lives forever. As a lover of books, the idea that something can be "caught between the pages" so to speak was very disturbing. The horror of this story is right up there with the "Exorcist", and quite a few times I found myself feeling the same uneasy feeling I had when I read that book for the first time. This tales is classic horror with a "Devil in disguise" feeling that will spawn nightmares. This tale is well written ; the author has a very subtle way of writing horror that sneaks up on you and allows your own imagination to thrust you into the depths of hell. Though I did feel very disoriented reading the story with the different POV, which left me guessing and trying to get back on track. I realize now that this style of writing put me right into the story. I was feeling what Cindy was feeling as her life spiraled out of control as something more powerful and dark took over her life. At the time of reading, I did not like was the use of different faiths that Sasha sought out to try and find a way to help Cindy. But in hindsight it brings to light that in desperate times people will do whatever it takes to save the ones they love. I would like to give kudos to the author for her research on the different faiths in the story, she gives very detailed accounts that were true to form. All in all this was an easy and scary read. I recommend it for those who enjoy the darker side of the occult and are not afraid of things that go "bump in the night". For if you are afraid of what you can't see, then this book will keep you up at nights. Definitely not for the faint of heart. With that said I give this book 4 stars.
Caligirlreviews More than 1 year ago
If there ever was a cautionary tale it would be this one! When I was growing up I reached an age right around 11 or so when my friends and I started taking interest in the darker things in life. Things to which we had previously been blinded. We talked in hushed whispers of playing glassy glassy, saying bloody mary 3 times in front of a mirror and experimenting with Tarot. We told ghost and occult stories, the more gruesome the better and we revelled in any subject remotely mysterious. One day having gotten wind of my sudden interests my mother sat me down for a talk. I have never forgotten her words that day and I have stuck by them my entire life. She told me that only people who open themselves to evil influences can be invaded by them and that playing with the occult is an invitation to any entity to take control of our lives. Djinn is the story the quirky, endearing and vivacious Cindy who embarks on a horrifying and twisted journey the day Sasha her favourite book store owner hands her a book more mysterious than she has ever had the pleasure of laying her hands on before. Cindy who has a penchant for anything occult especially if it is in the form of an ancient tome instantly knows that this book is incredibly special. This book that seems to live up to the name Djinn right off the bat. At this point in the book I was honestly rooting her on, open the book, open the book. Who doesnt want their very own genie in a book that can make their every wish and dream come true? But it seems there are entities out there that do not want Cindy to succeed and will do anything in their power to prevent her from the magic of he Djinn and so starts a ride so dark and hard I was left breathless and shaking at every turn in the story. This was probably one of the most intense, scary and heart breaking books I have ever read and I honestly cannot wait to pick it up and read it all over again just to catch the lil bits I might have missed. If you are familiar with Poppet's unique and heart pounding style of writing then you will not be disappointed in any way shape or form. This is probably one of her best works yet. If you are unfamiliar with her work then Hold on enjoy the ride of a lifetime.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book gets the spine crawling and the hairs standing up. Well written, interesting, excellent horror.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It takes a pretty remarkable author to take a subject that's been worked about as far as it can go and still bring something fresh, unique, and in this case beautifully brooding and terrifying, to it. This is the first book I've read by Poppet, and I'll be tracking down all of them that I can find. I really like the way she brings familiar material to the forefront but presents it in a way that even the most devoted fan of dark fiction will find the territory entirely unfamiliar. Great book, and to think it only cost me a buck.
d3m0nHuNtEr More than 1 year ago
Awesome... I couldn't put it down. A recommended read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Horror at its best! I couldn't put it down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
read it in one night
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The concept was great and i liked all the theology but i absolutely hated the lead character. I almost didn't finish the book. I'm an avid reader and can enjoy just about any book, no matter the genre but this one was terrible. I don't recommend this to anyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LOVE Poppet
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
mkbeyer More than 1 year ago
Was sooooooo not impressed with this author. Characters were terrible, story was not very good, no backround. Will NOT be reading anything else by Poppet!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago