×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dog on It (Chet and Bernie Series #1)
     

Dog on It (Chet and Bernie Series #1)

4.1 856
by Spencer Quinn
 

See All Formats & Editions

The first book of the New York Times bestselling Chet and Bernie mystery series, an “enchanting one-of-a-kind novel” (Stephen King) that is “nothing short of masterful” (Los Angeles Times).

Chet, the wise and lovable canine narrator of Dog on It, and Bernie, a down-on-his-luck private investigator, are quick to take a new

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dog on It (Chet and Bernie Series #1) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 856 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Incredibly creative and fun to read!!! I love that the book is written from the dogs perspective. Absoultely ingenious. I couldn't stop laughing. If you love dogs, you will love this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is hysterical because it is from the dogs point of view. Chet, the dog detective, goes on crazy adventures and solves crimes. My life is boring in comparison. It is light hearted and tons of fun to read. At the same time it is a well written mystery novel with great characters and suspense. I'm loving it and highly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Everytime I see a review by Harriet Klausner, I flag it. I wish other readers would do the same. Perhaps if enough people reported her, B&N would ban her reviews. She spoils books for the rest of us. I try not to read them, but every once in a while, I fail to note her name at the end of the review. I wish this selfish woman would get a different hobby. Now about this book, I hate reading about or seeing any type of animal suffering, be it real or imagined and this book has several rather graphic episodes of Chet being injured. I could hardly continue reading. I also hate not finishing a book I start and this one had so many good reviews, I decided to keep going. The editing was good, the plot was good and it was laugh out loud funny. I would recommend this book for mature 13 year old readers and up. Be warned though about Chet getting hurt and in life endandangering situations. AD
Barkville More than 1 year ago
I fell in love with this book when I realized that the narrator was a dog. Spencer Quinn KNOWS how dogs think & what matters to them (smells, steak, loyalty), develops a good plot and creates really lovable characters. The story was excellent & I really want more...now! I listened to it on recorded book and the narrator, Jim Frangione, also did an excellent job. Please get him to narrate Chet's voice the next time, he really captured it. I under stand Mr. Quinn is working on another Chet & Bernie mystery and all we (my dogs & I) can say is, "Thank Dog!" Two paws up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Harriet Klausner's review is long and one paragraph. It reveals too much plot and her name is written at the end(for those who cant find her review) plz flag it. Now, about the book, it is good, but the mystery is easily solved. I would recommend this book to ages 12+ because there are some swear words. Luckily, there isnt any violence. Chet and Bernie are loveable and funny.
BlackyMN More than 1 year ago
I read the book called "Dog on it" by Spencer Quinn. I can't tell you how much I enjoyed that book. I loved it. I read quite a bit, and this book was just so much fun! I really look forward to reading more books about Chet the dog and really, and any other books written by Spencer Quinn. What a great way for this Author to begin his career with a book like that. Loved it and laughed out loud reading it. Chet cracked me up and I bet any other animal lover laughed out loud too, especially when Chet talks about "thinking real hard" or just saving some (pee) so he can mark up other items and he doesn't know why either! I loved how he referred to his neighbor Iggy too and how they bark back & forth, any dog owner can attest to that going on in real life. Funny. I loved Bernie too, I could date him. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a good read. I ordered all the other books by Spencer too. Keep on a writing. A true fan. Keep up the good work!! BlackyMN
KaraStephens More than 1 year ago
I gave this book to my mom for her birthday. She loved it so much. She was done with it in less than a week. She then gave the book to me to read. I loved it. So much adventure. And seeing through Chet's eyes was amazing. Brilliant writing! Loved every minute! Very hard to put down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Half way through the first CD(audiobook)I was shaking my head and ready to stop and take the CD out. I thought this is really dumb. I didn't and I am glad. The story is funny, warm, interesting and a good mystery. How the author gets inside a dog's mind is puzzling. But inside he gets. I found myself laughing out loud alone in the car. Chet has memory losses and then he remembers. He has moments when he realizes he is barking and wonders why? He has an odd thing with smells. I never thought about a lizard's smell. A good story and fun. I hope it is going to become a series. Many thanks to the author.
Capt-Cloud More than 1 year ago
Picked up this book and started to love this canine character immediately. Love him as the narrator. I rank it with the Spellman Files; its a refreshing slant on light hearted humor (what we think our pets might say) and some mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I always love reading books from an animal's point of view. I loved the concept, and I loved the mystery. This was a very good book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Surprisingly wonderful!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Harriet klausner strikes again, ruining another book with her reveal of the entire book. This poster needs to be stopped. She is vain, egotistical and seems to delight in ruining a book for other readers. Harriet...i can read and actually would prefer to read a book for myself. I do not need you to read tge book, then tell me what happened.
mrbsmom More than 1 year ago
Since I am a dog lover, I purchased this book to read while on vacation. It was my first in this series and I will return to read the rest. I highly recommend this book as very entertaining.
Angela Meadows More than 1 year ago
I read this book in only 2 days. I loved it. If you're a dog lover this book is for you. I call it a mystery/comedy. I've already downloaded the second book in the series. Some swearing including the f word several times.
3bears More than 1 year ago
I thought Dog On It was the most hilarious book that I have ever read. I literally laughed uncontrollably at times until my eyes watered. True, that dog lovers will enjoy the book much more than non dog lovers. I have a dog and I can totally picture her thinking and saying these exact things that Chet comes up with. We have much to learn from dogs and their easy going ways. I ordered #2 well in advance of it's finish and gave it to my husband as a gift. (He also read the first one with me.) I am looking forward to many more books in this series. It takes great talent to write a book soley from a dog's perspective that is still a readable story. Great job Spencer Quinn!! Thank you for your stories!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Two good friends take on the world - one of them just happens to be a dog.
DianeD More than 1 year ago
Book was very cleverly written from Chet's (the dog) point of view. Quinn obviously put a lot of thought into figuring out what dogs must be thinking and feeling. It was so refreshing I had to work 12 hours on 2 hours sleep the day after I started reading it. My eyes just wouldn't close. "Just one more chapter." I finally chuckled myself to sleep.
I-Love-Mystery More than 1 year ago
The story was so original and the characters so easy to love and understand. The dog telling the story was very endearing. I can't wait for the next one!
cinder1 More than 1 year ago
If you want a good book that is for people that like animals, a little mystery, and a touch of flirtation it has it all. So I will be looking for his next book.
Corey1976 More than 1 year ago
This was a real intresting read. First off the book is told from Chet's point of view. Chet is the dog. And as a dog his mind wanders. He'll be listening to his partner Bernie talk about the case then Chet will smell something and that will take him off on tangent in his mind and will only start listening to Bernie again after Bernie has moved on. Also I like the way Chet thinks. When Bernie finds some middle age grooming issues, Chet is like "well I have that to and all I ever get is compliments on it." Also I like that Chet figures things out before Bernie does. It really makes you wonder how much more animals know about our surrondings then humans do. I choose this to be the first book in our Store Book Club. I can't wait for the next Chet and Bernie mystery and will totally check out the other books by the authors real name.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is wonderful to read -- I found myself laughing out loud (I haven't ever done that!). Can't wait for the next book from this author!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like mysteries and you have an ounce of affection for animals, you're gonna love Chet. When you look into your dog's heart and wonder "what's going on in there" --- Chet's nose will tell the "tail". This is just a funny, smart, wonderful read and if you don't find Chet completely loveable by the time you finish reading, something is seriously wrong with your heart. It's a decent mystery but the soul of the book is Chet and his doggie reasoning and musings. I hope there are more to come and I hope Chet stays healthy through a long series of books. Loved It!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would recommend these books. At present I have bought 5 and read 3. they would be great for a book club. They are all written form the dog, Chet's point of view. I love dogs and don't ever think I will think of things quite the same now. Don't get me wrong, my dogs have it easy, but I change their water more frequetly and other things I think about differently. They really make you much more aware. I would love to know what my dogs think I smell like. I used to think my forehead just read "stupid for dogs" in some kind of dog lingo, but I guess it's my sent, in a good way. Anyway they are great books and very entertaining!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Major adorable story. Told in first person (Dog) from Chet's perspective. Very inventive and if you ever wanted to know how a dog thinks, you have to check this out. Can't wait to read the others in the series.
gaelforcepostscript More than 1 year ago
I found this through a Book Club. Their synopsis sounded interesting so I ordered it. It was even better than I expected & I finished it in 2 readings. The plot is entertaining but the real joy is in the characters. Seeing things from a dog's point of view - Chet - written by a man who clearly understands dogs, makes it unique. When I read Robert B. Parker's first Spenser mystery, "The Godwulf Manuscript", I knew I would read everything he would write. I haven't felt that way about a new author until Spencer Quinn. I want to know more about Chet & Charlie & their lives together past, present & future. You have to read this book;you will be doing yourself a favor!