×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Dog's Way Home
     

A Dog's Way Home

4.5 53
by Bobbie Pyron
 

See All Formats & Editions

Set in the Blue Ridge Mountains, A Dog's Way Home is an unforgettable tale of the many miles, months, and mountains that divide two loyal friends—but that can't possibly keep them apart.

Abby knows that Tam, her Shetland sheepdog, is her north star, and she's pretty certain she's his, too. But when an accident separates Abby and Tam, it

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dog's Way Home 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 53 reviews.
OtotheD More than 1 year ago
Eleven-year-old Abby's best friend is her dog Tam. While driving home after a competition, they are involved in an accident which sends Abby to the hospital. Tam's crate is thrown from the vehicle and no one can locate him. Abby is sick with worry, but she knows Tam is out there somewhere and she has to find him. Tam is just as strong-willed as Abby and will fight against all odds to make it back home to Abby. Ms. Pyron has written a beautiful story of friendship, hope and survival. As a child I loved books and movies that dealt with dogs and their owners. One of my favorites was The Incredible Journey, and this book was very reminiscent of that. Abby is a very strong young woman, and her hope and determination in finding her best friend is admirable. The book alternates between Abby and Tam, and I found myself rooting for Tam as he fought his way back home to his human. This book is fun and full of adventure. It's a heartwarming tale of the bond between humans and their beloved pets. I highly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a heart felt story about a young girl who loses her dog. As the story swiches back and forth between the girl and the dogs side of the story, you read about a loving girl who never stops believing her lost dog will come, to a faithful dog who never stops trying to get home. This book is a great read for avy age!!:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A dogs way home is just an amazing and heartfelt story that brought tears to my eyes (in a good way). I think all kids wil love it as I did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book made me shead tears in the end. It was so amazing and breath taking
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was really cool because one of my favorite animals are dogs and it was a little sad and a happy animal adventure and recommend it for all ages .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is the best i have ever read i am in fifth grade my mom is reading
Syds_Shelf More than 1 year ago
Usually my daughter would rather draw or play computer games than read, but she gobbled this one up in two days. Now I know why: the story is filled with action, drama, close calls, and all sorts of adventures. Plus, there are interesting school and family issues tossed into the mix. A wonderful cast of characters complement the main points of view: the dog making his way home & the girl determined not to give up on her beloved companion. You'll want to keep a few tissues handy while devouring this page-turner!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book gives you eximent and is kid freindly. I recommend you to read this book. The book is about a young girl that goes on a long jouney to find her dog that is lost, there are two characters that talk thourgh out this main book the young girl and her dog! : )
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Abby and her dog, Tam, are separated because of a car crash. Abby and Tam are separated for months and months and months! Abby is trying to track Tam down but he keeps trying to come home and that’s not helping the situation any. He keeps running into bumps in the road, as in he gets adopted by a lady and she almost dies and so her son and her friend are trying to find him but they didn’t know he was a stray even though he’ s trying to go home. Also he gets caught and sent to the pound, and then he loses his little coyote friend to a big mean hunter and he also keeps getting mistaken for a red fox! Then he goes to a ranger station and stays there and finally Abby tracks him down and takes him home. This book was really awesome, even though there were some ups and downs and some happy and sad parts too. I would recommend this book to animal lovers because just like I did I had gotten tears in my eyes because the dog and his girl were apart for so long. I’d also recommend this book to kids that are the same age of me and I just might recommend this book to one of my classmates especially if they are animal lovers too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Get it it is the best book ever
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
a dogs way home is one of my fafoit books in the ol intar world it is sad at some parts than others!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its the best book i have EVER read!!! Such a great story and an adventure!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A little sad but it has a very happy ending
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is awesome!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is sad because Tam is lost and straving to death but Abby will not stop looking till she finds Tam! It is an a avench trying to find Tam! You should read this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ok i read the begining last summer just the beging in wonderful u will so want this book i hsve to read the rest.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the adventure and it's sad
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm reading this book at home and it is one of my favorite books ever!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is sooooo good !! I HIGHLY reccomend .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I lllllooooovvvvveeeee this book Like a fat man loves chalklet cake! :))))))))))))))))))))))))) :)))))))))))))))
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would so give it 10 out of 5 stars. When it goes from Tam to Abby and back ou can feel and think how they both think about losing there best friends. Then Abby moves and Tam is making a painful and long jurney to be wit his loyell owner. It is a little emotional but it warms your heart from the insde out. Somebody gets a heart attack and Abby breaks her leg. She loves
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read it on my schools nook and i loved it! I am thinking of buying it again to enjoy this book forever!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My teaacher is reading it to our class I think its sad,but good can't wait to see what hapens