×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dominion: The Power of Man, the Suffering of Animals, and the Call to Mercy
     

Dominion: The Power of Man, the Suffering of Animals, and the Call to Mercy

4.5 14
by Matthew Scully
 

See All Formats & Editions

"And God said, Let us make man in our image, after our likeness; and let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over the cattle, and over all the earth, and over every creeping thing that creepeth upon the earth."--Genesis 1:24-26

In this crucial passage from the Old Testament, God grants mankind power over animals. But

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dominion: The Power of Man, the Suffering of Animals, and the Call to Mercy 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
JohnInNJ More than 1 year ago
A thought provoking book concerning the treatment of other animals, wild and farmed, by man. It puts you in the shoes of those causing the mistreatment all the while asking why anyone could or want to continue down the same path. Coming from Mr Scully, George W. Bush's former speech writer, it cannot be said to be left leaning as I'm sure many people would want to portray it. While I fund it often disturbing, it was so not because of its depictions of cruelty, but because it asked questions of all humans that  are not easily answered.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this is a very thought provoking book from a very biblical perspective. It's very well written, and has a lot of quoted speeches and letters I find very insightful. 4 stars
sandyschultz More than 1 year ago
Superbly crafted, meticulously researched and absorbing. The deplorable cruelty, utter indifference, disrespect and pain we inflict on all animals, in the name of sport, science, "conservation," food, and vanity, make this book, at times, difficult to read. A SHOULD read for anyone who hunts, fishes, eats meat, wears fur/leather/down/wool. Perhaps this book would make people think twice about using animals the way they do and taking them so much for granted.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is such an eloquent and thoughtful Writing. The author is a true Theologian and deep thinker. The case he makes for mercy towards Gods creatures, extends to God's mercy towards ourselves. One premise: that a Society must not cherry pick from the Bible to serve it's own ends, but must serve the teachings in full, must resonate with those searching for greater understanding. Those of us who accept our daily plight but look around and know deeep inside that something is wrong with the values of our society, might start with this book, whose philosophy on our treatment of animals really is a discourse on how we treat ourselves. I say, good for you Matthew Scully
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is so honest and horrifying that it's hard to read it all at once. It is the responsibility of man to care for animals, but instead we are exploiting and torturing them at every opportunity. This book is my favorite because it is written from the unique perspective of a conservative and Christian.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If everyone read this book the world would forever be changed. The world would be a wonderful place for people AND animals.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mr. Scully's book is guaranteed to make you think twice about how you view and treat animals. His arguments are well-developed and are supported not only by compassion, but by factual data, too. Anyone who reads this book will be forever changed.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Intelligent, well researched and very insightful. This is a groundbreaking book for all the animals; whether companion animals or livestock, who suffer daily throughout the world. Written by a very prominent author, anyone interested in animals, what we can do to help them as well as looking at are own 'human' nature- this book is a must.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I had a chance to hear Mr. Scully on NPR 02-12-03 while at work. Definately by far a very intelligent man with some great ideas and thoughts for people to open their minds to.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I heard Matthew Scully on a New York radio station last year and I was impressed that as a conservative Republican he cared that deeply about animals. This book is thoughtful, intelligent and compassionate. This book was wriiten for those people who don't give a damn about animals. They will care after reading this book!