×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Don of the Dead (Pepper Martin Series #1)
     

Don of the Dead (Pepper Martin Series #1)

4.1 71
by Casey Daniels
 

See All Formats & Editions

She sees dead people

Beautiful, smart, and chic, Pepper Martin never had to work a day in her life — until her surgeon daddy was convicted of fraud, her wealthy fiancé took a powder, and the family fortune ran bone dry.

Suddenly desperate, the inexperienced ex-rich girl was forced to take the only job she could get:

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Don of the Dead 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 71 reviews.
KayleeLS More than 1 year ago
Whenever I find a new author whose books I want to read, I always pick the first book in the series. Which was the reason for picking "Don Of The Dead", the first in the Pepper Martin series. I was impressed. This is a fun book to read. I really like the main character, Pepper Martin. She's smart, witty but a bit clumsy, which is how she ends up with The Don, Gus Scarpetti. Pepper sees dead people and Gus is a murdered Mafia Don who wants her help. Gus makes the story, he adds the mystery and the reason for Pepper's motivation in solving his murder. I love some of the twists that were added, especially to Pepper's love life. I enjoyed this book so much, that I plan to purchase the rest of the series. This is the perfect book for a summer read or for snowy days, or just for fun.
starcrazy More than 1 year ago
So far, l've read the first two books in this series. While I find Pepper to be funny and the plots to be interesting, I'm reluctant to get the next book, as I find that Pepper's character isn't progressing much. I'm not a fan of characters that are almost totally self-centered. They're entertaining for a couple of books, but then they become so predictable that I begin to lose interest. I like characters that learn from what happens to them, not ones who constantly whine about how unfair life is and act like they don't have a clue about the world around them; which to me, at least, pretty much sums up Pepper.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I first started the book, I wasn't sure it was for me, I even considered returning the next two books in the series, but I hung in there and it was worth it. Loved Casey Daniels sarcasm and humor and the fact the Pepper acknowledged all of her kookie issues, but kept on keeping on. The last third of the book really held my attention and now I can't wait to read more about Quinn and The Brain Man...especially the Brain Man...no wait, Quinn...no wait...anyway, I plan to crack open the next book this evening. Other review writers, PLEASE, don't tell actual story details, especially not the ending. It ruins it for those still deciding whether or not to read the book.
StephanieD More than 1 year ago
"Don of the Dead" is the first book in a series by Casey Daniels. It's in first person, and it's hilarious. Pepper Martin is the only tour guide at the Garden View cemetary. It is her job to inform tourists all about the "residents" at Garden View. One of the most famous being Gus Scarpetti, a mobster who was gunned down 30 years ago. Pepper hit her head against his mausoleum a week or two ago and now she can see him! And he has a favor to ask. His murder was never solved and now he wants Pepper to solve the mystery. The whole book is funny and light. There's a lot of mob speak and Gus, despite being a mobster, is a real gentelman and you'll become attached to him! This is a great book and I can't wait to get to the rest of the series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good idea for a book. I think Casey and Charlaine Harris should get together and introduce there Pepper and Harper Connelly to each other and see what they can come up with.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the quirkiness. It was a fun read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
avid-readerCA More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this book and will read the rest of the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
warbi More than 1 year ago
This is the first book in a series about a cemetary tour guide. She trips and hits her head on a tombstone and this causes her to be able to see and communicate with the dead. They always want her to help them out in one way or another. This debut novel is witty at times, especially the title, and is my favorite of the series (I sill have two more books to go).
Silentlyjealous More than 1 year ago
I didn't think i would enjoy reading this when i first started it. But it picks up rather nicely. Its not nice to know who done it until the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fun read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago