×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Don't Hate the Player...Hate the Game
     

Don't Hate the Player...Hate the Game

4.3 43
by Katie Ashley
 

See All Formats & Editions

For Noah Sullivan being the best friend to a douchebag and player like Jake Nelson has never been easy. It's been a rocky road since kindergarten when Jake duct taped Noah to his chair before recess. With just six weeks to high school graduation, Jake accidentally blows his drunken ass up on his grandfather's tractor, and Noah finds himself immersed not only in a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Don't Hate the Player...Hate the Game 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 43 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading this book. You can't help falling in love with Noah & Maddie. I love all of her books!
KarenT More than 1 year ago
WOW What an incredible story., with wonderful characters great story line and a truly passionate and dreamy love story of all time., I really really enjoyed this book and recommend it as it truly is a must read :) <3  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm not going to go into the story too much since so many who have reviewed it have already done so. What I will say is that this book was very emotional.  I cried more than a few times.  Especially since I could relate having lost a sibling tragically. I thought the storyline was very believable.  The language was appropriate considering it was from the perspective of a high school senior.  A few hot and heavy makeout sessions but no graphic sex scenes which was kind of refreshing. It could have used one more round of editing, spell check just can't catch wrong words that are spelled correctly. I would definitely recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first book i have read of hers and i have to say that i loved it. It was so good for so many different reasons. I liked reading a story that for once had people changing for the better and not just one person but most of them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Even though the story begins with a tragedy, it was a wonderful and touching journey for Noah. This story made me both laugh and cry.
Readergirl_Revus More than 1 year ago
I love the concept behind this book.  The idea of a guy everyone knows as a player dying and leaving evidence that perhaps he wasn't the player everyone thought he was... it's a unique idea.  The book definitely delivered on the concept, and I found myself enjoying the story very much, especially the two main characters. Noah was a great guy, a good friend, and I love how works to figure out who the girl could have been that changed his friend so much before he died.  I do have to admit, that the idea of who it could be was one that I knew from page one.  It was pretty obvious to me, but it didn't really detract from the story.  It was almost like the author wanted you to know immediately, and was just Noah who was in the dark.  Then again, there were times early on that I wanted to ask him why he hadn't figured it out yet. Maddie was a great character.  She has strength in her own convictions, her faith, and what wants.  I loved her and her family dynamic, and I love the scenes where Noah spends time with them.  Their budding romance together was innocent and sweet, and perfect.  I love how Noah subtly changes as well throughout this story, and you have to admire a girl character who can set such a good example that people around her want to be better.  For this, I absolutely adored the romance aspect of the story. There were lots of grammatical and line edit issues but the story was so absorbing that I overlooked them.  I loved the life lessons in this story very much, and by the end, I was left with a deep satisfaction. The author touches on some deep issues in the story and I loved how well she weaved everything together.  This was a book that makes you content after reading it.  I loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very emotional but the best love story ever !!! No sex was needed to make this book as amazing as it was and that just makes me love this book even more :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved another one of this author's story. Cried, it is a great love story, reminded me of movie A Walk to Remember a little bit and much more. Cant wait for more of her books have read most already!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a heartfelt and emotional book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I actually enjoyed this more than I thought I would.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not to bad. Very emotional. Yes I cried.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dont Hate the Player....Hate the Game was interesting. I was disappointed in the characters and story line. This is just one of those books I will not be reading again. One time was enough.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Most awesome book ever!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My emotions were up and down throughout the entire book. It was a great book, i really loved it. It's not the type of book i usually read, but i am really glad i read it. It actually made me tear up a little. You should definitely read :-)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An Awesome YA heartwarming book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought the storyline was good. Some parts i felt drug on. But overall, a good book.
H-Davenport More than 1 year ago
I think Katie Ashley did a fabulous job with this book. Don’t Hate the Player…Hate the Game is told in a POV, of a 17 year old male. I think Katie did a marvelous job in doing it. I could actually feel the emotions that Noah was feeling while I was reading the book. This is such a great book about young love. Noah Sullivan loses his best friend Jake Nelson, when he is killed in a tragic accident a few weeks before they graduate from high school. While helping Jake’s father gather some of Jake’s belongings from his room for the funeral service, they discover an engagement ring and lyrics from a song. Noah is completely shocked by these findings, as Jake was a confirmed player and never settled for just one girl. Noah learns that he didn’t really know everything about his best friend. There was another side of Jake that no one knew… accept for one girl. A girl that captured Jake’s heart. A girl that Noah had to find. Jake’s mother makes Noah promise to find the special girl who the ring belonged to. There was a girl out there that Jake truly loved enough to want to marry. Jake didn't get the chance to give it to her, however Mrs. Nelson wanted her to have it. While Noah is trying to figure out who this mystery girl is, he is dealing with the memories of his best friend and his grandfather, who had passed a few years back. Noah never really grieved for Jake because in his head he thinks he needs to be strong, that if he shows any emotions, he wouldn’t be a man… My heart broke for Noah. Noah pushes his grief aside to try and find out what girl Jake had intention of proposing to. After narrowing the search down, everything seems to be pointing to a girl named, Maddie. Maddie is the preacher’s daughter, who was tutoring Jake. Maddie is such a sweet girl. Her heart is broken by the death of Jake. Maddie is struggling with her own emotions. Maddie and Noah begin to comfort each other over their loss of Jake. A friendship develops between the two, but Noah is drawn to Maddie like a moth to a flame. Noah begins to develop feelings for Maddie. Once Noah knows that it was Maddie that Jake loved, should he have told Maddie about the engagement ring? Is Noah being selfish for not wanting to tell Maddie about the ring? Does Maddie have the same feelings for Noah? You can see Noah struggling with his feelings for Maddie. Is it wrong that he was falling in love with his best friends girl, even if his best friend was dead? “Don’t be ashamed of your emotions, Noah. Experience them and embrace them. They’re what make us alive and strong.” ~ Maggie Sullivan (Noah’s mom) This quote sums up the book in two sentences…. “So it’s kinda like ‘don’t hate the player, hate the game’, right?” Like you were a product of what society wanted of you for a long time – even though it wasn’t who you really were deep down inside.” Jake kept his feelings for Maddie a secret because he felt as though he needed to keep up his image… Was that fair to Maddie? On Jake’s headstone there was a saying: The life of one we love is never lost. Its influence goes on through every life it ever touched. After reading this book, I felt as though Jake brought Noah and Maddie together for a reason. Maddie saved Noah from the epic storm of grief. Noah wasn't drowning anymore. Noah and Maddie comforted each other in their time of need and it was heart warming to see their love blossom from such a tragedy. If it weren't for Jake's death, Maddie and Noah wouldn't have found love... Does everything happen for a reason?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Katie Ashley is becoming a favorite author of mine. Music of the Heart was so good, that it was a given that I had to read Don't Hate the Player, Hate the Game. I loved it. Sometimes, it's a breath of fresh air to read the story of people falling in love and having that emotional connection at the forefront rather than the physical. It has just enough of that teenage angst without being too heavy, but enjoyable. I recommend this one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Star Rating: 4 out of 5¿Heat Rating: Mild to Simmering (These are teenagers, so think about what you were like) When I first saw this book I paused, surprised that Katie Ashley was writing a YA novel.  I have read Katie's Proposition Series and LOVED her passionate and hot stories full of drama and characters that were very real.  Typically, I don't read YA but since it was Katie I assumed I would get a great story and I was not disappointed!  This story was so incredible that you don't miss the graphic "adult" scenes because you were so involved with Noah and his journey that everything else falls away (even your family and dinner prep). ¿“Don’t be ashamed of your emotions, Noah. Experience them and embrace them. They’re what make us alive and strong.” ¿Don't Hate the Player... Hate the Game is a honest, raw and real story told from Noah's point of view.  I LOVE a story told from the boy's perspective and in this story it added another layer of wonderful in an already decadent cake.   From the blurb you know as a reader that one of the worst possible tragedies has befallen Noah, he has lost his best friend in a crazy accident and now has to figure out who he is without Jake and move on with his life.  ¿¿"The life of one we love is never lost. Its influence goes on through every life it ever touched." ¿I knew that this story was going to be sad in parts but I was unprepared for how Katie's writing through Noah's perspective would shred me.  I think I cried through the first 25% of this book, the writing evoked such strong emotions and really let the reader see inside Noah and what he was going through. ¿"Sometimes we just have two sides to us, Noah. One that we’re willing to let the world see, and then the other that we hide deep within ourselves.” Don't Hate the Player, wasn't all grief and raw story-telling, it was more of a journey that Noah went through at the end of his Senior year of high school that changed how he viewed himself and his relationships with others.  Maddie enters Noah's life when he loses Jake and her brand of goody-two shoes teenager is the antithesis of what Noah is used to in girls.  Maddie was a delight to read, she was funny, innocent and a bit goofy, I instantly liked the person Noah was when he was around her and knew good things were going to happen.   ¿“Like I said. I don’t want to go all hardcore—I hear it’s easy to get addicted. I wanna say outta Ice Cream Rehab if you don’t mind!” ¿Katie Ashley has written a beautiful story that any age group can enjoy.  As a mother and a woman in her mid-thirties this book resonated on many levels and really reminded me that what we see on the surface isn't always what lies underneath a person.  I LOVED this book.  It made me laugh, cry and feel hope, something we all can use in our lives.  If you enjoyed Katie's other books you will NOT be disappointed in this YA novel, and if you have never read a book by Katie Ashley, this is a MUST read!  Go.  Go now and 1-click!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was really touched by this book and it was great. However it was so sad. It takes you on such an emotional rollercoster. Love all the books by her and can't wait to read whats next from her.
Mamaeck More than 1 year ago
One of my favorite things about Katie Ashley is the emotions that she is able to draw out of the reader simply by her writing. Don't Hate the Player is not your typical Katie Ashley book, and I think the overall synopsis of the book is a bit misleading. This book is definitely not about Jake the Player, but it's about Noah who learns some serious life lessons as the result of his best friend's death. And dang, the storyline is truly fantastic as well as the life lessons about love, forgiveness, trust, honesty, and friendship. The title is truly perfect and so fitting for this book. "So it's kinda like 'don't hate the player, hate the game', right?" "Like you were a product of what society wanted of you for along time--even though it wasn't who you really were deep down inside." I have to say that while reading this book I couldn't help but compare it to Nicholas Sparks' A Walk to Remember and even Katie's other book Music of the Heart (although that is not YA). However, as any Katie Ashley fan will see this is another great book! And I must mention that Katie did an incredible job writing this book from a young man's POV, complete with humor! Loved it.