×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Double Dexter (Dexter Series #6)
     

Double Dexter (Dexter Series #6)

4.2 93
by Jeff Lindsay
 

See All Formats & Editions

THE DEXTER PHENOMENON—IN PRINT, ON THE SCREEN, AND IN THE HEARTS OF MILLIONS OF FANS—CONTINUES WITH A DEADLY DUEL . . .
 
Dexter is displeased. Like any self-respecting, totally decent, soundly homicidal guy, Dexter Morgan takes great pride in his work and is careful to remain anonymous. So he is, naturally, upset to discover that

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Double Dexter 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 93 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first Jeff Lindsay book I have read. His writing is very well done. I purchased the book as I am a fan of the Dexter TV series. The characters are the same but much different story lines. I really enjoyed reading this book and all the twists and turns it provided. A fantastic book for the Dexter fans.
Penned-in-Ink More than 1 year ago
When Dexter finds himself on the receiving end of a serial killer's stalking, things get interesting. It's just a tad slow in the beginning, but picks quickly and you're back on the Dexter Express. It's interesting to watch Dexter as he grows in both of his rolls: "normal" human vs serial killer of those who have abdicated the right to live (according to Dexter's/Harry's Rules). Am eagerly awaiting the next installment as the character's interpersonal links and frictions continue to develop.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another good installment from Dexter although for much of this one he is off on his own and away from the characters that he works with. A few loose ends left to wrap up but it ended at a breakneck pace. I couldn't read the last 75 pages fast enough.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jeff Lindsay doesn't disappoint. I've read every single Dexter book and each one is a masterpiece.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I tore through this book like a maniac! Loved it! Worth every penny.
Lilac_Wolf More than 1 year ago
Silly me - I had no idea Dexter was based on a series of books. My husband and I saw most of season one, when it aired on CBS. I don't think it came back because with all the censoring of language and gore, each episode was only 5 minutes long. The cover, with the double blood-covered knives sets the creepy stage. I was actually surprised how creepy Dexter really is. In the series you get the feeling that he really is a decent guy with a serial killing bend. But no, he's a psychopath all the way. The only reason he follows the rules is to stay out of jail. The only person he really loves is his daughter. He married his wife basically because it helps him blend in more and she's a great cook. The kids are psycho too, and Dexter is taking them in hand to mold them to be like him. That's what creeps me out - instead of getting them help he is encouraging them. The baby girl is the only one with a chance of growing up normal. The story is from Dexter's perspective, so it does leave all the other characters slightly 2 dimensional. It works in this case. The point being, Dexter doesn't know how to read other people, remember he's psychopathic? In the beginning Dexter is "playing" with a guy who dresses up like a clown to prey on children. Dexter does pick people you don't mind him killing. The clown had been taking boys from the park near his hotel/apartment. When he was done with them, he disposed of their bodies nearby in a sewer tunnel. Dexter knew this was a bad egg. He's all set up and working in an abandoned house (isn't the foreclosure crisis grand?) when someone happens in and sees him. The witness leaves so fast that Dexter can't catch him. He then spends most of the book tracking this guy down. Mostly I enjoyed the story. But if Dexter was really worried about this guy, he would have made it more of a priority to find him. Instead it was a spare time hobby, most nights spent doing nothing more than seeing his family. Although perhaps Rita's erratic behavior was puzzling him. Even though he doesn't get people, there is enough description that we readers can guess what is going on. Trust me, you'll know Rita's problem LONG before Dexter does. Oh and Dexter's brother makes a comeback. He comes over every Friday for dinner and puts on the charm for Rita. He wants Dexter to join him. I thought Dexter had murdered his brother, but then again I can't really remember and the books and the TV show aren't exactly the same. Honestly I like this book better than the show. I may find Dexter extra creepy but it made for a tense, thrilling story. So yes, if you like Dexter, then read this book. And as someone who has not read any other Dexter book, you can just pick it up and read it. You might get a little confused when he talks about the rules of Harry. Well when Dexter was little his brother and he witnessed the very brutal murder of their mother (parents?) and were locked up with the mess. Harry, a police officer on the case, adopted Dexter. He saw what Dexter was going to be, and shaped him to only go after bad guys and only after he had proof they were indeed guilty. So Dexter has his outlet but in a useful way...kinda...even Dexter realizes it's wrong he is powerless to stop himself. So I guess if you have to better to go after people who are truly wasting air?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jeff LINDSAY IS A GREAT WRITER, THIS BOOK IS REALLY GOOD I HAVE READ ALL OF THE DEXTER BOOKS AND I THINK THIS ONE IS THE BEST SO FAR.
Wiliam_Maltese More than 1 year ago
DEXTER STILL A JOY, BUT … Yes, I continue to enjoy the Dexter series of books by Jeff Lindsay which inspired the ShowTime television series of the same name. Having just finished this one, book six, DOUBLE DEXTER, of the eight-books involved, I still continue to appreciate the author’s ability to turn a humorous phrase and make even the most mundane things cleverly amusing. I like the uniqueness of the murders, the one in this book of a variety I don’t recall having ever come across before … and I’ve read an awfully lot of police procedurals. And I haven’t tired of our hero, Dexter Morgan, blood-splatter expert, who just happens to be a murderous sociopath out to rid the world of bad people who have somehow managed to escape the legal system. That said … by this book, six, there are a lot of things I don’t like. Like … our hero’s determination to turn normal, because of a wife, two stepchildren, and a baby; okay, on that point, I’ve never been all that fond of kids, even sociopathic ones like Dexter’s inherited little monsters. And Dexter’s wife, Rita, is a bit of an incoherent whiner. Dexter’s sister continues to come across a bit of a bully, more interested in herself and her career than in Dexter whose dark side Sergeant Deborah seems always out to exploit for her own benefit. And, there seems to be a whole lot of genuinely crazy killers running loose in Miami … who which would see me steering clear of that city; too many of them with the same kind of “Dark Strangers” had by our hero, and way too many of those seemingly unsympathetic to their fellow travelers, even, once again, out to get Dexter, in particular, for reasons I sometimes find not as understandable as the author would have me believe. And more than a couple of things in this plot were telegraphed so obviously that I found it hard to believe that neither Dexter, nor his Dark Stranger, picked up on them as quickly as I did. Again, though, I did enjoy this book, six in the chain, as I have all the books that preceded (with the possible exception of book three), and I will continue to read to the finish (one more book to go, since I’ve already read the last one). I’m just sorry that I’m beginning to wonder, as I’m about finished, if I haven’t somehow experienced too much of a good thing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This Dexter novel is delightful. I have enjoyed the whole series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JKathleen More than 1 year ago
When I start a Dexter book, I can't wait to see how it ends, and then I can't wait to start the next. A real fun read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really grabs you in a choke hold and doesn't let go until your gasping for air.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dennis21 More than 1 year ago
Got this and A Serial Killers Guide: Born In Blood which is FREE! I am a huge Dexter fan and are finally finishing up the book series and I am loving it. I hope they continue past season 8 even though they said they won't.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well, I love the way he writes and it's a good read ... a great read ... However, it is my least favorite of the Dexter series. I feel like Dexter became too afraid/wimpy and scared!!! He is Dexter for goodness sake ... henacted like a kid afraid of the boogyman for a good portion of the book. Some parts it also seemed too obvious what was going on amd that Dexter was just not using his brain anymore, although that was sorta addressed with him being comfortable as Daddy Dexter. The ending was good ... not quite excellent. I would have involved Cody. It seemed to lack being that thr whole book built up to that moment. I hate that I sound so negative because I really did enjoy this book! I just expected more from this writer in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As always jeff lindsay delivers. Dexter is someone we all deep down root on as the good guy even though he is a serial killer. However, he is a vigilante serial killer who takes the really bad guys who are serial killers themselves off the streets when the criminal justice fails society. Every big city needs a secret vigilanty. This one also has a sense of humor, dry maybe., but still he is funny. I also liked in this book how he is working on his relationships with sister, his son, etc. It is so worth reading.------------- review by Judy Wallace
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I don't know what's going on but Dexter goes from being a cold, calculating killer to a complete idiot. He seems completely out of character throughout the entire novel. It was pretty frustrating to watch him stumble through one act of obvious stupidity to another. Definitely my least favorite of the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really like the show and the books. My only problem is that the kids always seem to need rescuing. It's getting redundant. And Rita seems to be getting dumber each book. I mean, how many times are the children going to get in trouble before she wises up? I don't like the fact that the kids also have a darkness. It makes them less sympathetic. I mean, I care.mor for Dexter that I do the kids.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In this sixth installment of 'Dexter' we see our protagonist in a situation quite similar to the plot of the fourth book (Dexter by Design). I want to make it clear that I did enjoy this book and found it witty as ever but I do have a few complaints as well. In my opinion, the book seemed to go on just a bit too long and though I definetly don't want a shorter book, I think JL could have figured out some way to fill the negative space and keep us readers more interested. I also found myself quite annoyed with Dexter for being so stupid as it was so in-your-face obvious who the shadow was a good hundred or so pages before he finally figured it out. Also as I said before, the plot was so very similar to that of the fourth book in many ways. Rita seems whiny and boring as ever and theres hardly any killing which, believe it or not, is kinda the point of these books. After the greatness of the previous book, this one seemed rather dissapointing although I enjoy Dexter in any form I can get whether he is doing his usual stuff or fighting off ancient spirits (see Dexter in the Dark). It was not a GREAT book by any means but its still Dexter so I reccomend it to all Dexter fans. I give it 3.5 stars.