×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dovey Coe
     

Dovey Coe

4.6 44
by Frances O'Roark Dowell
 

See All Formats & Editions

My name is Dovey Coe and I reckon it don't matter if you like me or not. I'm here to lay the record straight, to let you know them folks saying I done a terrible thing are liars. I aim to prove it, too. I hated Parnell Caraway as much as the next person, but I didn't kill him.

Dovey Coe says what's on her mind, so it's no secret that she can't stand

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dovey Coe 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 44 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Dovey coe was one of the best books i have ever read.When you read the book it just takes you to the place.It takes you straight into her mind.i highly recommend you read this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mrs.larson is my reading teacher and she just started reding it. Its just revoltingly sickining how Caroline uses her beauty to get what she wants. But so far so good.(wonder if its a related title to 'how to kill a mockingbird?)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is book is AMAZING! It is narrated by Dovey herself and I wouldnt want any other way! I am not good at explaining things so just take my advice and read it. You will NEVER regret it, or think you wasted your time for a minute.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was worried about the content for my 11 year old, but I have to say that once he started to read it he didn't want to stop. And he doesn't like reading.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is the absolute best book i've ever read. I loved it so much I had to keep reading and reading it. It's definately a book you never want to put down. The first time I read I thought I was going to cry. But I finally grew to know the true meaning
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was awesome and rocked!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I read this book for a book report, I thought it was the best book I had ever picked up. It was so interesting, that I finished it in 2 days.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book is a really good book it helps find out that no matter what family always comes throug for you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a great book that everyone should read!I loved it. Peace Out!!!:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AT "swifta" RESULT TWO NAT IS STARTING UP THE CAMP AGAIN AND IT IS FOR PEOPLE WITH ALL KINDS OF TALENTS INCLUDING FIGHTING THERE IS A TRAINING ARENA THERE !!! PLEASE JOIN WE NEED MORE PEOPLE TO ENROLL<p>POSTPOSTPOSTPOST
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
(Female from d7) is there actually any games or is this a chatroom? Post postpostpostpost
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
9. Can't take it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thx
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im in 10th grade and we have to read this book its horrible i hate it
Dizzy-Wizzy More than 1 year ago
My book is Dovey Coe by Frances O&rsquo;Roark Dowell about a girl named Dovey Coe and her sister Caroline. Caroline is supposed to get married to this guy that she meets named Parnell. One night something bad happened to him. Caroline was supposed to go see him one day and when she went to go see him she saw him lying there on the ground dead. Someone has killed him by cutting his throat with a knife. People thought it was Dovey that killed him from being jealous so she went to court to see if she was guilty or not. This book is told by a girl named Dovey Coe. Dovey and the Coe family have been living in Indian Creek North Carolina since the beginning of time. In this book Dovey&rsquo;s sister Caroline meets this guy and his name is Parnell. Caroline and Parnell become really good friends and like to hang out with each other a lot. After a while in the book Caroline and Parnell get so close to each other that Parnell purposed to Caroline. Everyone was so happy for them. One day Caroline went to go see Parnell one day, when she got there she saw Parnell lying on the floor dead. Caroline was so upset and wondered why anyone would do such a thing to him. His death was caused by someone cut his throat with a knife. Some people thought that Dovey did it because she was jealous of Caroline getting married. They took Dovey to court for what they thought that she had done. When they took Dovey to court they realized that a sweet girl like her couldn&rsquo;t do such a thing. They figured that someone else had killed Parnell then. That&rsquo;s the main things that happened in this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
¿I hated Parnell Caraway, but not enough to kill him.¿ The title of my book was Dovey Coe, by Frances O¿ Roark Dowell. Dovey Coe did not like the way Parnell Caraway was courting her sister, Caroline. Parnell was a rich, snobby man, and the thing he wanted, but did not have was Caroline. He always visited the Coe¿s house, and on Caroline¿s ¿go away to college party¿, he proposed to her, but she firmly refused. Then, Parnell was very mad at Dovey because he thought it was her fault that Caroline did not like him. Later, Dovey was found in the same room at the same time Parnell was murdered, and she went to court. Dovey finally learned that it was important to treat your family members the way you wanted to be treated. Dovey Coe was very brave. When Parnell threw a brick at her deaf brother¿s dog, she stuck her knife out and made a wild stab at him. Then, when Parnell started to hit her, she slashed at him again. Also, unlike her older sister, Dovey was not bothered by the thought of roaming through the woods by herself. She was a girl that was not afraid of anything. In addition to being bold, Dovey Coe was not afraid to speak her mind. In the beginning of the story, she said, ¿My name is Dovey Coe and I reckon it don¿t matter if you like me or not.¿ When she really disagreed with her sister, Dovey cried, ¿Caroline, have you gone and lost your senses?¿ What¿s more, on her court hearing, she said to her lawyer, ¿What is wrong with you son, you acted like this was your first trial, you were so flustered!¿, after he did a poor job at the first hearing. Sometimes, her family members were not very happy with Dovey because they wanted her to act like a lady, but she still spoke her heart. Furthermore, Dovey Coe was proud of everything she had. When she complained about having to walk to school for 10 miles, she stopped and remembered how lucky the Coes were to own their own land. Dovey was very swollen with pride of her dad, ¿John Coe is my daddy. He¿s what they call a jack-of-all-trades, meaning he can fix anything.¿ Also, Dovey was very proud of her family history. She said that there had been Coes living in Indian Creek since the beginning of time. Dovey Coe was brave, not afraid to speak her mind, and proud of the things she had. It made me think that Dovey was a strong, determined person that never gave up. I liked the character because she was always trying to be kind to people. In the end, she proved herself smart by winning the trials. In conclusion, Dovey understands her mom, dad, older sister, and especially her deaf brother much more than she used to.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the book Dovey Coe..Parnell is in love with Cariline (Dovey's sister) and when she tells him 'no' he tries to get back..so when he gets hit with a soda canister he blames Dovey because she was in there at the time,the story takes a really unexpected turn and it ends up being Amos!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Dovey Coe Is the biggest tomboy in the world I think. But when you find her in a situation were she is caught guilty but she really isn't. Parnell was a down right awful teen who was in love with Caroline {Dovey's older sister}. And when he proposes Caroline says no and he tries to get back at the family. That is why Amos just had to hit him in the head with the soda canister. And Paris {Parnell's younger sister}tells awful lies. Then Dovey is caught inosent and nobody knows that Amos did it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This Book is so awesome!! This is a definite must read! It is exciting and living in North Carolina myself it makes me feel like i am here. YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK!! I love books and this is the best mystery type book i have read! People have to be almost crazy if they don't like the book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed Dovey Coe. I liked the way it was written and the style that the author used. I really felt as though I was listening to people from the mountain region of NC talk. I loved how she was able to re-create their language. I think this book is fantastic! I really got into it and wanted to know what was going to happen. The way the story is told and with the accents used, it just makes me feel like I am there, in the mountains in a small town. I liked learning about the characters and all they were going through. I think this story is wonderful. I would highly recommend it for fourth and fifth graders, whether as a read aloud or one they could do on their own. There are many things that could be taught from this book. I liked the fact that this story was told from Dovey's point of view. She was just trying to explain what had happened and that she did not kill anyone. This book kept me wanthing to read on. At the end of each chapter I wanted to know what was going to happen, so I would continue to read. I did not want to stop and put the book down. I read most of this book in one sitting. I would use this book to talk about the Appalachian region of NC. This is something children will study in fourth grade, when they do North Carolina geography. Students in the western region of the state will be familiar with the names of these places and the area. Let students hold a mock-trial in the classroom of the court case to practice what they know about the judicial system. Dovey Coe is a unique story. Dovey is trying to explain why she everyone thought she killed someone. She spends most of her time with her brother Amos, who is deaf. Dovey tries to take care of him and protect him, even though he is slightly older than her. Dovey's older sister Caroline is beautiful and everyone thinks so. Caroline however, does not like to be thought of as just a pretty face. She is smart too. She has plans to go to the Teachers' College in Boone and get a degree. Well Parnell Caraway tries to change all that and make Caroline his bride. Dovey does not like this idea from the beginning. When she buts in, Parnell gets mad and lets her know that it is not her business. Towards the end of the book, Dovey is trying to protect one of Amos's dogs and ends up being accused with the murder of Parnell Caraway. She has to go to court and overcome many obstacles. This book is truly great and a wonderful depiction of mountain life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was really good but is not the best book I have ever read. My friend suggested that i read it. It was very good.