×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Ruby Ann's Down Home Trailer Park Cookbook
     

Ruby Ann's Down Home Trailer Park Cookbook

4.7 8
by Ruby Ann Boxcar
 

See All Formats & Editions

"Food," says Ruby Ann Boxcar, "is one thing all trailer park people have in common, followed by their undyin' love of Elvis and the reproduction of ugly children." The recipes of trailer dwellers are unlike any others. Its been known to make men turn championship wrestling off, large women in double knit polyester slacks dance, and derelict children smile. That's

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Down Home Trailer Park Cookbook 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
agaydude More than 1 year ago
You may not want to admit it, but most of us folks (of a certain age & raised in the south) have tried these tasty white trash staples. Ruby not only gives you the recipe for these goodies, but also serves them up with a colorful story & history. I loved this book !
Guest More than 1 year ago
now, i may not be a trailer park resident, but i sure as hell am a redneck, and these recipes sound like some of the ones buried in my dear ol' granny's recipe box. my favorite was the tomato soup cake. i can't wait to give some to my friends!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ruby Ann's Down Home Trailer Park Cookbook is one of the best cookbooks I have ever read. And I own at least 100. I was laughing till I cried as I made the Dr. Pepper salad. I plan to buy many and hand them out as Christmas gifts. I believe in giving the gift of laughter and Ruby Ann has that gift, packaged up and ready to go.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Not only is this book hilarious, the recipes are fantastic and easy. I have yet to find a recipe that I don't like. Even the best cooks will find tons of recipes they like, as well as great (and funny), helpful hints. I realize the people in the book are ficticious....however, after reading the book I have an uncanny feeling that I know them personally. I have visited the trailer park through the website and my sides still hurt from laughing! Ruby is quite the story teller, a great cook, and of course a world renowned entertainer indeed! When you read this one, you'll be swapping recipes and stories in no time!
Guest More than 1 year ago
What a wit! And the food is wonderful! This is a very easy read that will keep you in stitches and in the kitchen cooking. Another thing I liked is how Ruby Ann leads you to her web page at www.rubyann.org. This allows us to see colored pictures of her trailer, her and her husband, her neighbors, and even the business that are mentioned in the book. I thought it was a creative way to continue the stores. I also loved the bios on all her neighbors. This book is one of the best cookbooks, humor books, and entertianing book that I've read in a long time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a must for anybody with a sense of humor. The recipes are great, with a humerous twist!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I almost fell off my cheap trailer home chair! Everyone I know will be getting a copy of this book for their birthday (even those that don't live in a trailer). This will be a must for everyone's coffee table and cookbook collection.