×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Down the Darkest Road
     

Down the Darkest Road

4.2 152
by Tami Hoag
 

See All Formats & Editions

A woman will do whatever it takes to uncover the truth about her missing daughter in this taut thriller from #1 New York Times bestselling author Tami Hoag.

California, 1990—Four years after Lauren Lawton’s sixteen-year-old daughter disappeared, the world has given up the girl for dead. Lauren’s husband took his own life. Her

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Down the Darkest Road 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 153 reviews.
LoveMyTwinBoys More than 1 year ago
Up to this book, I have always like Tami Hoag and I preordered this book in anticipation. I loved Deeper than the Dead and Secrets to the Grave - they were very interesting, very action packed and had characters that you got to know and love. However, I was very disappointed in this book and I will be deleting it from my nook. It didn't have the gripping suspense and action as the other 2 books and the characters where very hard to like (let alone wanting them to thrive). Except for Det. Tony Mendez, all the characters were new. In addition, there was such harsh/vulgar language and explicate sex scenes that it was very hard to read and I skipped pages because of it. If this is the type of book Tamk Hoag is going to start pumping out, then I will find a new author to spend my time and money on.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tami Hoag puts you in the 1980s again, and if you havent been there personally,thats ok....there is plenty of story,action, gruesome, chilling murders and suspense to keep you up all night reading The story line is awesome and has you thinking about Alice Sebolts "Lovely Bones" and "Shutter Island" to liken to period fiction. A 5 star series and I Hope she continues. Kudos to Tami!
laura24 More than 1 year ago
I love reading this book. I was instantly immersed into this fantastic, believably written story.
Bubbaluva More than 1 year ago
I have a hard time finding authors I truly enjoy but when the pleasingly rare easy read comes along I am thrilled to get lost in the readings, which is precisely what I have done with this book. I just finished dust to dust (another of this author's books) & it was a bit more difficult to read. However, when I saw this would be coming out on the 27th I stuck with it just to hold me over long enough to get to Hoag's latest Oak Knoll book. It was WELL worth it! Even working a full time job and a f/t college student, I still finished this book in less than 2 days! It was that good, especially if you've read the others and were familiar with the characters. Please keep em coming Ms. Hoag! Happy holidays everyone. :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have to say that for me this book was one of the better reads she has written in a while. I really enjoyed the story and had a hard time getting anything completed around my home until I finished it.
GailCooke More than 1 year ago
Intense, gritty, terrifying - the latest in Tami Hoag’s Oak Knoll series is a page-turner par excellence. The time setting is the late 1980s - 90s when tracing by DNA had not been fully developed and information via computer was not as available as it is now. Hence, tracing a criminal was a much more challenging task for law enforcement officers. In this case, not only tracing but proving guilt. We’re introduced to the story through the eyes of Lauren Lawton who writes, “Once upon a time I had the perfect family. I had the perfect husband: Handsome, loving, successful. I had the perfect children: Leslie and Leah - beautiful, brilliant, precious girls. I had the perfect life in the perfect home, in the perfect place......And then, as in all fairy tales, evil came into our lives and destroyed us.” Evil came in the person of a barbarous, vile individual, Roland Ballencoa. Four years ago he had abducted Leslie or the police were pretty certain he had - but they could not prove it. Not too long after the girl’s abduction Lauren’s husband drove off a bridge; it was thought a suicide due to the stress and guilt of being unable to protect his daughter. Bent on revenge and driven to the point of exhaustion Lauren takes Leah and moves to Oak Knoll hoping to put at least a small part of their tragic past behind them. That is not be for she soon finds that Ballencoa is also in Oak Knoll, stalking mother and daughter. It’s all an insidious game to him, watching, frightening, taking pictures with his camera. Lauren is reluctant to go to the police as they’ve not helped her in the past, but considered her a royal pain in the neck for constantly pushing them to arrest Ballencoa, to find Leslie. But Ballencoa is a wily beast, evidently never breaking the law, but silently stalking. Lauren is sickened to realize that in her case the person believed to be a criminal actually has more legal rights than she does. Eventually, she does turn to Detective Tony Menendez who believes her but can see no way to help her. Hoag has woven a gripping tale, written in brief chapters, almost staccato-like, quick as a bullet which leaves the reader sometimes gasping, always turning pages. Down The Darkest Road is epic suspense seasoned with ravaged emotions and cliff-hanger scenes. Strong medicine so keep all the houselights on. - Gail Cooke
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I give this book 3 stars because it is Tammy Hoag and very well written. But I found the main character to be highly unlikable. She's a very disturbed woman who has encountered tragedy of the worst kind, but I don't think the reader is supposed to dislike her - which I did. I did enjoy the focus on Detective Mendez, as I enjoyed his character in the other books. I found Vince and Anne's happiness to be a welcome reprive from Lauren's misery and inner monalogue. It's a good story, but very depressing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all of Tami Hoag's novels and think this was one.of her best! I couldn't put it down!
NonCometL More than 1 year ago
Another good one from Hoag.... Have to admit, this is not my favorite series of hers, but enjoyed this one the most so far... I expect at least one more is coming....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was very disappointed in this book. The other two located in Oak Knoll were very exciting and well plotted. This on definately was not. Kat
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great story,however if you have any feelings about off color reading I suggest you try another book. If however you can get passed that part then the book is worth a try very well written.
Enponia More than 1 year ago
I picked this up at my local Walmart, once I started reading I could not put it down. The author tells a tale like no other it's almost like she's lived what is writing. There is so much detail in her words it creepy. Would recommend to anyone looking for a good read 
nsrn More than 1 year ago
TAMI HOAG DOES IT RIGHT....ENOUGH SAID.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bowmaker More than 1 year ago
This was another book that I didn't want to put down. Had to keep reading until the end. Very good book.
CathyD61 More than 1 year ago
I hope Tami continues with this series.
kizabee More than 1 year ago
Love it and thought it was a great ending to the series! A must read book!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best books I've read in my life !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have to disagree with the review about this book not being suspenceful I could barely put this book down I would recommend this its a great read