×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dr. Atkins' New Carbohydrate Gram Counter
     

Dr. Atkins' New Carbohydrate Gram Counter

3.7 15
by M.D.
 

See All Formats & Editions

The companion to the New York Times best-seller.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dr. Atkins' New Carbohydrate Gram Counter 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is exactly what it says it is...a companion guide for the diet book. It is not intended to replace the book that explains the principles of the plan. It gives a general outline, then provides the needed nutrition information on thousands of common food choices to make following the plan easier. It DOES show fiber grams and net carbs, contrary to some reviewer posts. It is easily navigated using the table of contents. For me, it was a great buy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book is what I needed to keep me on track! Now before I just order anything to eat I grab this book first! I have lost 17 lbs. in 2 weeks!
Anonymous 11 months ago
Difficult to use on a eReader
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
VancUSA More than 1 year ago
A bargain at the price with up-to-date info. Thanks.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After 13 days on the induction part of the atkins diet i lost 12 lbs, i never felt tired because i also took the pills which come in the 14-day starter kit. a great diet but alot of cravings.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Hi every body, I must admit I am lazy when it comes to exercising.I didn't know about Dr. atkins diet not until I saw a documentary on TV critising it. A few people were put on it and lost weight although they complained about being tired, lacking enough carbs in their body. I was motivated to do an experiment on my body, being a biomedical student, i new exactly what to & not to eat. It took me a month on a regular basis of exercising to loose 7pounds but on Dr, Atkins diet it took me 14 days to loose 9 pounds. I found it so hard because i was so addicted to choclates and I was also eating rice for dinner & potatoes. My body feels lighter now and I am loosing weight. I am not giving up coz i know I can loose 14 pounds in a month. The 1st week is hard but I can say no to choclates or any sugary products. I've learned to hate them which is good. But the only side effect i have experienced so far is consitipation but i can deal with it by drinking up to 2 litres of water a day. This diet is great. Its realy worth a try. Ps. I stayed away from salads & veg but eating a lot of eggs, cheese, all meat products.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a quick reference for carb counts when you don't have a label infront of your face. It is NOT the diet, as other commenters have eluded that it should be. You need to read the main books. I actually followed the Protein Power Plan written by Dr. Eades. It is the same basic principles. I lost 60 lbs. in 4 months and made my goal weight. Low Carbs and adequate protein WORKS. The trick is you can NOT, NEVER, ABSOLUTELY NOT a smiggin' cheat! But then YOU are in control of what goes in your mouth.... aren't you?
Guest More than 1 year ago
Foods listed don't seem to list "NET CARBS" which is important when you are counting 20 carbs per day. Get your food list on the website. It has net carbs info..
Guest More than 1 year ago
THIS IS AN EASY WAY TO KEEP TRACK OF ALLOWABLE FOOD. AND TO KEEP YOU ON TRACK WITH LOSING WEIGHT. I HAVE LOST 11 POUNDS IN ABOUT 15 DAYS. NO OTHER DIET HAS EVER BEEN SUCCESSFUL FOR ME.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I started the Atkins' Low Carbohydrate Diet on March 15, today is March 25. 10 days later, and I lost 6 pounds. This is an awesome diet, and a GREAT BOOK to have if you're on a 20gram or less Low Carbs Diet! I fully recommend this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
For more than 10 years I've been a fan of Dr. Atkins'. I don't count carbs - it has been 'built' into me. I'm 40 years of age - most people think I'm a teenager... Keep up the good work
Guest More than 1 year ago
The 'Atkins' (low-carb & high protein) diet has proven successful in helping people shed pounds, in many instances - at least on a short-term basis. The author (in general) cautions that this weight-loss protocol is NOT meant to be used by those with serious kidney disease. Unfortunately, with an estimated 20 million Americans (as of the 2003 database) currently experiencing some form of chronic kidney disease (CKD), and record numbers of people (>90,000 --- as of the 2001 data base) told, each year, that they have End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD) and must begin dialysis to stay alive, the likelihood that someone, who shouldn¿t be following the Atkins `plan¿, IS, is overwhelmingly high. From the kidney¿s perspective, the problem with an Atkins diet is multi-fold -- the following is only 'arm' of the issue. A high meat diet = (a) excess protein stress, (b) mineral overload (especially phosphorus and potassium), and (c) excess creatine (a Bio-fuel) which will be converted to creatinine (Bio-waste). Excess protein will always be problematic, but there is an effective way to deal with excess phosphorus, potassium, and creatine/creatinine encountered by following this diet. The proven procedures for mineral removal (Demineralization) can be found in ¿Healthy Living With Demineralization¿ and ¿More Bio-fuel ¿ Less Bio-waste¿.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is appallingly badly written. I have rarely read so much drivel. He does not set out the 'do's and dont's' at all clearly and you have to work hard to decide what you can and can not eat. However if you can manage to struggle through the waffle, the basic message makes some sense. In 5 days I have lost 7 lbs. It is worth trying.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The carb counter does not show haw many fiber carbs can be subtracted from your total count. This is very important in foods high in fiber like peanuts and beans that would normally have high carb counts.