×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dragon Bound (Elder Races Series #1)
     

Dragon Bound (Elder Races Series #1)

4.6 461
by Thea Harrison
 

See All Formats & Editions

View our feature on Thea Harrison’s Dragon Bound.
Half-human and half-wyr, Pia Giovanni spent her life keeping a low profile among the wyrkind and avoiding the continuing conflict between them and their dark Fae enemies. But after being blackmailed into stealing a coin from the hoard of a dragon, Pia finds herself targeted by one of the most

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dragon Bound 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 461 reviews.
pdubz More than 1 year ago
Have you ever started a book and immediately thought to yourself about the heroine, "Oh. Oh, I am going to like HER" - And then, if you are lucky, you move on to the hero and immediately think to yourself, "Oh. Oh yeah, I LIKE this guy. oh yes." Well, that pretty much sums up my initial reaction to the heroine Pia Giovanni and the hero Dragos Cuelebre in Dragon Bound. And it all got even better from there. In Thea Harrison's debut novel of her new Elder Races series, she mastered the art of developing the heroine Pia in a perfect combination of vulnerability and moxy. She had me at Twizzlers and Cherry Coke Slushees. And oh my, Dragos. The most ancient of Others, he is a fierce alpha dragon and also the multibillionaire of Cuelebre Enterprise who has seen everything, been everywhere, and yet has found himself in a state of boring complacency. Pia's ex-boyfriend has blackmailed her in to doing the unthinkable. stealing a coin from Dragos's hoard. When he discovers the violation he blasts off in to a dragon-sized rage that costs him a good hundreds of millions $ in damage to New York City. As a unique half-wyr, living cautiously and on the run is nothing new to Pia to keep her heritage a secret, so immediately going on the run again to escape Dragos and the crime of theft she has commited is not unfamiliar to her. Except that Dragos is the most Powerful creature in the Universe, so she is pretty sure she's done for. Dragos makes it his mission to hunt her down, and he does just that thanks to the note she wrote and left for him in chicken-scratch on the back of a 7-11 receipt. The chase, the capture, the journey, it was all filled with entertaining action, beautiful world building and steamy tension. Turns out that Pia was just a pawn in a much larger scale Power play and Dragos learns just how unique she truly is to the magical world, but also to him. They find themselves completely enamored with one another and Dragos vows to protect Pia at all costs. The world building Ms. Harrison has created is very complex and vivid. The world of Other has gryphons and gargoyles, dark and light fae, goblins and witches. There are some demesnes that stay topside, such as Dragos in New York City and the Light Fae in Charleston. There are other species such as the Goblins who are unable to glamor and therefor stay on the Other side because they look really ugly and stinky really bad. The inter-Elder politics are very well-thought out and executed, and the secondary characters are just as awesome as the primary. The next book, Storm's Heart, will center around Cuelebre Enterprise's former PR fae, Thistle Periwinkle, aka Tricks, who is just a riot. This is a romance story, but a romance story with major plottage that will leave you yelling at your friends and family to quit interrupting you so that you can freaking read already. I was enamored from start to finish. Go forth and read! And have no fear, the second and third books of this series will be out later this year in 2011! I have them both marked on my calendar and they will be auto-buys. A quick thank-you-you-were-right!! goes to Mandi of Smexy Books who convincingly brought this book to my immediate attention! - Reviewed as "Spaz" at wickedlilpixie(dot)com
NJYardy More than 1 year ago
I was wary of reading this. I'm normally a Christine Feehan, J.R Ward & Sherrilyn Kenyon reader & I haven't found a lot of other writers who are as good as they are. I was pleasantly surprised and ended up loving this book: the stroy held my attention from the moment I started reading and I only put it down when I had to tend to my 2 month old. Loved the main characters and the "supporting cast" as well. Now I'm onto the 2nd book in the series and can't wait to read the rest!!!
Lady_Anduril More than 1 year ago
From the first sentence on I was hooked. I could not put this down, the world building was first rate, the characters were well thought out, and the editing was spot on. The mixture of magic and technology made sense. The supporting characters were also well thought out. Each of them I felt could star in their own stories. A different take on shape changers, unlike any I've read before and yet completely logical.
C3_1991 More than 1 year ago
I stumbled onto this one and truly enjoyed it. Broadly, the main relationship reminded me of Angel's Blood by Nalini Siingh, but not enough to keep me from liking it. The supporting cast was strong, and I wasn't surprised to see who the next book will focus on. Strong first installment.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In the New York Magic District, known locally as the Cauldron, hybrid human-Wyr Pia Giovanni knows her mission is fatal, but feels she has few options. Her slimy ex blackmails her into stealing a penny from Dragos Cuelebre, a powerful Elder Race dragon. Though she left a penny behind and an apology note, Pia knows he will find her with the only question being when. She is so desperate she buys a binding spell from Adela the witch owner of Divinus. Dragos tracks down the thief, but instead of killing Pia as she expects, he is attracted to her. Soon after their first in person encounter, Goblins attack them and capture them. Dragos realizes a very powerful adversary the Dark Fae King Urien wants him dead and that Pia could be caught in the crossfire if his ancient enemy learns who she is to him. This is an entertaining romantic urban fantasy starring two intriguing individuals as the heroine is Manhattan shtick and the hero is alpha male. The story line roars out of the gate like the express train under the streets as the irate Dragos, known for dining on humans, seeks the thief while Pia seeks her fifteen minutes of fame. Although his possessiveness of his mate is overkill (even if he has an ancient lifetime), sub-genre fans will enjoy the denizen of the Cauldron as like much of the Big Apple light and dark energies flow freely, just more eerier there as a paranormal hangout for dragons, wyr, witches and fae, etc. Harriet Klausner
krystolla More than 1 year ago
I borrowed this book twice from the library before buying my own copy. What can I say? The characters are engaging, the storyline is perfect and there is a perfect balance between suspense, humor and love.
emeraldlaw More than 1 year ago
Characters were easy to follow, storyline definite fantasy, great for kicking back and just escaping. Will definitely pick up the next in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book started slow and i constantly felt like i was missing something BUT once it got going MY GOD it was good. It did remind me of the guild hunter series (which i have no clue what came first) but very different all together. I loved it the dragon was so HOT!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read alot of books in alot of different genres....and this is hands down THE best romantic story i have ever read...perfect pitch...neither character is an idiot....Pia is awesome as a strong women who knows her mind, without having to be cold or totally kicka**...humor, perfectly scattered thru the book...secondary characters well fleshed out....wonderful...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read it in one sitting and turned right around and reread it again. Great book.
Sciencewoman More than 1 year ago
I just saw that this book made Eloisa James list of 6 favorite romances she's re-read this year. As I was scrolling down the list, I thought, "I wonder if Dragon Bound made it?" and there it was! Really a fun book...my daughter and I are hooked on this series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have fallen in love this story and her writing style! I have read this book twice in a row, read the last page then turned to the first to start it all over again! I have not done that with a book before! I just love this book soo much. Thank you Thea Harrison for writing and having the strength to risk rejection in order to get Dragon Bound published. Thank You!!!!!!!
Book_Sniffers_Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pia is blackmailed by her ex-boyfriend to steal something from the wyr-dragon, Dragos.. Determined not to give her ex anything valuable, she grabs a penny from a jar and replaces it with another one and writes a note saying that she is sorry. Easy peasy, right? NOPE! Dragos quickly finds the impostor penny and freaks out. He puts a tracking spell on Pia so that he can hunt her down and make her pay. The only problem is, when he finds her he no longer wants to rend her limb from limb but instead wants to keep her as his new treasure. The story is written half in Pia's head and half in Dragos'. So you pretty much always know what the other character is thinking. This made for some interesting dialogue. Speaking of dialogue, that was pretty much my favorite part of the book. Not that the steamy scenes weren't good and all but I loved the way they talked to each other. You see, Dragos is used to being the highest on the food chain. He isn't used to having to be nice to people to get his way, he just tells them what to do and they do it. So when Pia comes along and she tells him when people ask for something they say please, he quickly catches on and uses that to his advantage to get what he wants from her. The pace of the book ran along smoothly. The story doesn't just contain Pia and Dragos. You see when Pia ran to hide from Dragos after stealing the penny, she hid on elven territory which is land forbidden to Dragos. Although he doesn't care and goes there anyway to find his thief which causes a little bit of trouble. Which sort of snowballs into more trouble after that.
arikae More than 1 year ago
These guys are as awesome as the BDB! Tough on the outside but mush on the inside. Beautiful writing, very descriptive and emotional. A whole new world to explore as well, Looking forward to more books in the series.
Katy Young More than 1 year ago
Can not wait to read more of the series! A real feel good read!
Anonymous 6 months ago
LilyElementBookReviews More than 1 year ago
Dragon Bound is book one in the Elder Races series. This book focuses on the half-human half-Wyr, Pia Giovanni. Her mother taught her from a young age to always hide from other Wyr and to never expose her heritage though she really doesn't know much about her heritage. Her ex-boyfriend who knows more than he should about Pia and what she happens to be is deep in debt and comes to Pia for help. She's blackmailed to go steal something from pretty much the most powerful being of the Elder Races, Dragos Cuelebre. He's rich, old as dirt and super powerful, oh and a dragon. He has his treasures spread out into different hoards all around and Pia manages to get in one and steal a penny and hightail it back to her ex-boyfriend to hand it off. Worried sick about the ramifications, she leaves town hoping Dragos won't be able to track her down. Things don't go as planned for Pia though and Dragos winds up finding her. He's quite nice about the whole thing after awhile. They wind up having issues on their way back home though and have to escape a prison of sorts. They grow closer with each little adventure, and I enjoyed their relationship. Pia tells it like it is after she got used to Dragos and knew he wouldn't hurt her. She's probably the only one in his group that has the balls to do that and I think it just made him more intrigued by her. There are feelings on both sides, but Dragos is most definitely a possessive alpha male and he views her as his. I love alpha males in Paranormal Romances, so I enjoyed his character. There were a few surprises around the end that I didn't see coming which kept me on my toes. It's taken me forever to get around to reading Dragon Bound, but I'm so glad I did. I love dragon books, and Dragos was just the alpha male I was hoping for. I'll need to see if their story continues throughout the series or if it changes to another set of characters. If you haven't read this series yet, I suggest you pick it up, especially if you enjoy dragon characters.
Brandi Smith More than 1 year ago
I bought this book on a whim and am I ever glad that I did! I'm an avid reader and I'll try anything once but I read this book ( and all the other books and novellas) again and again! The joy with these books is that there is something for everyone and every kind of character . Mystery, romance, actions, humor, love, hate, drunken girl lunches and late night boys flight out. Great characters with believable dialogue , and a magical couple that is believable in their outrageousness! While my father once told to never trust anyone that says trust me, PLEASE! trust me when I say if you glanced enough to read the review you will enjoy the read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked it so much I'm going to read the whole series:-)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book and this series. I have read it twice and will no doubt read it many more times for years to come.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not get enough of this story. Loved it and all the characters
Anonymous More than 1 year ago