×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dragon's Bait
  • Alternative view 1 of Dragon's Bait
  • Alternative view 2 of Dragon's Bait
     

Dragon's Bait

4.6 117
by Vivian Vande Velde
 

See All Formats & Editions


Fifteen-year-old Alys is not a witch. But that doesn't matter--the villagers think she is and have staked her out on a hillside as a sacrifice to the local dragon.
It's late, it's cold, and it's raining, and Alys can think of only one thing--revenge. But first she's got to escape, and even if she does, how can one girl possibly take on an entire town

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dragon's Bait 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 116 reviews.
Night_Owl92 More than 1 year ago
I originally borrowed this book from the library a couple of years ago, and really liked it. In fact, I read ALL of Vivian Vande Velde's stories after Dragon's Bait. Anyway, just a couple of monthes ago, I decided to re-read Dragon's Bait just because I missed the book. Anyway, when I was finished reading it again, I my love for the book was renewed because of its originality, it characters, and the moral message of it. It is a wonderful story that definitely deserves more praise.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dragon's Bait has been one of my favorite stories. Every once in a while I take it out to reread it again and every time I enjoy it. Most people doubt that it's possible to write a good book in less than 300 pages. And usually I would agree, but this book is an exception. Dragon's Bait is a well-written, fast paced and unusual book, with an extraordinary plot, brilliant characters, and superlative creativity. The characters, rather than being strictly good and bad, are shades of gray. It avoids most, if not all, of the fantasy clich¿s I can think of and throws some subjects for thought in as well. If that isn't good enough for you, it has a strong-minded and realistic heroine who, as far as I know, isn't blonde. The dragon is a very cool character, and you have to guess throughout the entire book just who's side he's on. So, to end the review, I will say that I'd recommend this book to anyone who likes fantasy books, dragons, or just a good read.
bookstorecat More than 1 year ago
...it's over too quick. A really fast, fun, romantic read.
Daniel Sontheimer More than 1 year ago
Anyone who likes a strong, believable female protagonist will love this story. Alys has determination, wit and the gall to take on a brooding, hansome creature. A story with a lesson I could not put down.
BlancaLopez More than 1 year ago
I love how the book is a quick read, yet is filled with excitement. Although I over hyped myself with this book, I still think it is a well-written book. The characters are well-developed, and a good laugh. The plot in itself is in a span of four days, but when you read, it doesn't feel that way, since the plot is stretched out to seem like it was all in a day or two. Despite that, the characters are fun to read about, and in the end, you wish there was another book, to see how it went for the two main characters.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think think this book is a great book based on the medieval times. A young girl named Alys was falsly accused of wichcraft and is tied to a stake at the top of a hill for a midnight snack for a dragon.Unsuspectedly the dragon named Selendrile transformed into a handsome teenage boy.With Selendriles help Alys trys to get revenge to the townspeople who tied her up,but Selendrile take the show away from Alys.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book ever pluss there is a hot chick in it to :-)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I own 4 copies of this book and have read it many times. Excellent story about a girl wrongly accused of witchcraft who teams up with a dragon.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely love this book. I love rereading this book on my spare time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This has always been one of my favorite books. I do wish that there was more characterization, particularly for the dragon. Even by the end you don't really know his motivations or his relationship with the protagonist although that could have been intentional since he is supposed to feel alien. Other than that it is a great read. I love revenge tales, particularly ones featuring female characters
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Has anyone else noticed how short the overview is?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was and still is my favorite book sense high school! Awesome read for kids and adults. A mustvread along with her other great works!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Moonlit_waters More than 1 year ago
Personally I love this book. It does have a few 'flaws',for lack of a better word, though. The ending kinda screams sequel although Velde has said she won't write one; and only Alys is really fleshed out as Selendrile doesn't show to much of his personality, and we only really see the bad nature of the other characters like Gower. It's a short story and despite any criticsims it's without a doubt one of my favorite books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I do wish this story was longer or had a second book, but none the less this book was amazing and totally worth buying. I just finished reading it and loved it so much that I am going to re-read it!!! You will love the characters, the story and can easily finish this in a day.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago