×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Draw the Circle: The 40 Day Prayer Challenge
     

Draw the Circle: The 40 Day Prayer Challenge

4.7 16
by Mark Batterson
 

See All Formats & Editions

Do you pray as often and as boldly as you want to? There is a way to experience a deeper, more passionate, persistent, and intimate prayer life.

Drawing from forty days of true stories, Mark Batterson applies the principles of his New York Times bestselling book The Circle Maker to teach us a new way to pray. As thousands of readers quickly became

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Draw the Circle: The 40 Day Prayer Challenge 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
bookbloggerKB More than 1 year ago
Draw the Circle: The 40 Day Prayer Challenge Mark Batterson, author of The Circle Maker has written a devotional for readers participating in 40 days of prayer. He has collected stories containing answered prayers. He draws on his own experiences and those of others. Each daily selection is an encouraging and faith-building devotional. He style is conversational and easy to read. His enthusiasm and faith is contagious. I found myself looking forward to reading the next selection every morning. This devotional is a great way to focus on prayer and God’s faithfulness. I heartily recommend it for those readers who want a lively and enthusiastic shot of faith. I received a free copy from Zondervan and this is my honest review.
ejamsmama More than 1 year ago
The 40 Day Prayer Challenge...This book was inspirational and convicting. I read through it quickly so that I could post a review on it but I know I need to read it again. I may even share this with my church's small group. Last year my pastor had a short sermon on drawing circles. He even passed out a piece of chalk which I still have in my Bible. He talked about Mark Batterson's book The Circle Maker, which I have not read. When I saw this book I felt drawn to read it and I am so glad I did. My prayer life is lacking and I wasn't even sure how to go about it nor did I have the conviction to follow through with it. This book has inspired me to pray more, to pray more specifically, to pray better and to expect God's work. The key words there are "God's work". I have to learn to discern what God wants to happen not what I want to happen. If it isn't God's will the answers will almost always be no. This book is so easy to read and enjoyable. This is set up to be read over 40 days. Each day is meant to challenge the way we pray, what we pray for and how long we should pray. Which is, by the way, for as long as it takes to get an answer. The back of the book asks: " Do you pray as often and as boldly as you want to? There is a way to experience a deeper, more passionate, persistent, and intimate prayer life. " This book contains many testimonies from faithful prayer warriors. It is meant to encourage us and give us a desire to become bolder in our prayers and experience growth in our faith. The prayers we are to pray are for God's glory not ours. They are to further His kingdom and to draw us and others closer to Him. I definitely recommend this book. I wish I had read this book years ago. I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
PJtheEMT4 More than 1 year ago
Draw the Circle :The 40 Day Prayer Challenge by Mark Batterson is part of a growing genre of 40 day devotional books. The 40 day wilderness account in the new testament gospel of Matthew chapter 4 has inspired countless books and devotionsls based on the 40 day principle of changing one's life and growing closer to God. Though the themes vary- the 40 day devotional pattern is significant. In contrast to yearly devotionals, 40 day devotionals tend to be more focused in a specific themed and can be complered in a more managable amount of time. Batterson's devotional is based on his original book- The Circle Maker. Nevertheless, those readers who never read the previous book can still enjoy this independent devotional. As the bible teaches prayer can change lives. It is a wonder how so many Christians overlook something so basic as prayer. The author brings to light the real power of prayer for the individual and the lives around him or her. Based heavily on personsal anecdotes and scripture the reader is empowered to seek out the power of prayer for himself. Many of the stories center around how the reader can minister to those around him- strangers as well as familiar faces alike. It teaches the reader to be in tune with the proddings of the Holy Spirit. This book is certainly not to encourage the introverted solitary individual. The author encourages the reader to take a chance- a risk- and leave tge confines of his circle of comfort- to discard social norms of personal space and privacy- in order to reach out to those in need, The idea is that we are tools of the Holy Spirit sometimes called to do a work or deliver a message for others- even strangers. For those who want a comfortable book while sitting at home - for self help- this isn't it. This book is for those who want to get out and make a difference. As a blogger for booksneeze I received this book published by Zondervan publishers for the purpose of writing this review.
Jena Koenig More than 1 year ago
God has met in every page of this book. In Mark Batterson's books he continues to push us to see God as so much bigger than we see Him. This book has been such an encouragement to me in my walk with God. This book and all of Mark's book challenge us to go deeper, dream bigger, and to keep stepping out in faith and allowing God to work in our lives. I highly recomment this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Highly Recommend this book! This book was right on time for me! I will definitely add this devotional book to my list of books to re-read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm re-reading it again! Powerful insights about the nature of prayer and about our powerful awesome God!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A must read if your prayer life is stagnant!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Much of the book repeats the original.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Days Earlier.... After Omereg had found Ezumalid by the waterfall, he led Ezumalid down to his house by the end of the stream. Ezumalid had really thought Omereg was dead from the growing giant's bane, but at that time, Omereg seemed very determined. "Here," Omereg told him, and they entered. Ezumalid had hunger pains, and he felt really empty there. "I guess you're hungry," Omereg looked at Ezumalid's hungry face. "Ye-a," Ezumalid said weakly. Omereg snapped and food started appearing all over the long table in the cabin. "Help yourself," Omereg laughed at Ezumalid's surprised expression. "Wow...how?" Ezumalid asked, shocked. Omereg waved his hand away and told him to eat. There were meat roast, mash potatoes, peas, blueberry pie and custard, and tons of other delicious servings. Ezumalid almost ate every single serving. After he ate, Omereg told him, "Get some sleep. I'll see you tommorrow. As Ezumalid slept, he dreamed about Brianna, Wenalt, and this boy named Dion and Mantala. He dreamed about Brianna, and saw her walking around the dungeon, pacing back and forth, Mantala laying weak on the stone ground. "Oh no," Brianna cried, "I'm going to be executed tommorrow morning!"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Natasha is my millde name