×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Drawing Out the Dragons: A Meditation on Art, Destiny, and the Power of Choice
     

Drawing Out the Dragons: A Meditation on Art, Destiny, and the Power of Choice

4.7 17
by James A. Owen
 

See All Formats & Editions

"I believe in you. You have a great destiny. You are meant for great things. And it's possible to live a wonderful, extraordinary life." That is the promise offered by bestselling author and illustrator James A. Owen in this remarkable and inspirational meditation. In Drawing Out the Dragons, James shares personal stories and the deep truths he learned

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Drawing out the Dragons: A Meditation on Art, Destiny, and the Power Of Choice 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Drawing Out The Dragons, the first of James A. Owen's Meditation, non-fiction series, serves as a superb daily inspirational guide. I met him at a writing conference this past spring and have visited his Copper vale Studio. His philosophies on live are sound and are reflected in his works of fiction as well.
nruva More than 1 year ago
I've had the pleasure of meeting and spending time discussing James' philosophies and journeys with him in person. He's an amazing speaker, and an incredible storyteller. I honestly feel like my life has been changed forever simply be spending a few nights in his company. If there is one person who should be a household name in the motivational speaking world, it's James. When he tells you he believes in you, you believe too. Fantastic book from a fantastic person who truly deserves to succeed.
Robin_Brande More than 1 year ago
For those of you who enjoy reading about a writer's--and in this case writer/illustrator's--journey to become who he is both personally and professionally (think Stephen King's ON WRITING), this book will both inspire and fascinate you. When James Owen tells an audience of middle schoolers or high schoolers that they can achieve their dreams, NOW, even at their young age, he speaks from experience: he began his career as a comic book creator and entrepreneur when he was only 13. And the good news for anyone who isn't 13 anymore: as Owen's experiences prove, you can begin wherever you are, and begin again after adversity (and he has certainly had his share of that), to achieve what you want most passionately for your life. This is a moving and highly-motivating book for anyone interested in becoming a writer, an artist, or just a humble, successful human being. A great find, and a great read!
1PUrry More than 1 year ago
I have always loved Jack Canfield's advice to be 100% responsible for our decisions and our lives. There is a certain freedom that comes from that perspective. James A. Owen opens up and demonstrates through his life stories how even when faced with what seem like insurmountable obstacles we can succeed. One of my favorites: "If you really want to do something, no one can stop you, but if you don't want to do something, no one can help you."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing book, written by an amazing person. I highly recommend it to anyone who feels their dreams might be out of reach or who needs some inspiration. In other words, I recommend  it to everyone. 
Bruce Ellis More than 1 year ago
I have followed James Owen's work from the 1990's when he wrote one of the most amazing independent comics of all time, through the turn of the twenty-first century when he became an astounding novelist, and through it all I heard stories of the epic/tragic life that he lived. I marveled at what an amazing person he was, and then I read this book. James had already inspired me with his work now he was sharing the secret behind everything that he did. He made a choice. He takes the reader through an amazing journey of his life and shows them how his belief in himself and his success was a choice he made, and punctuated with stories both epic and tragic he explains how everyone else can make this choice for themselves. This is a book that changes everything and for that reason alone everyone should read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great, quick read. I feel like I can conquer the world, its all up to me. I'll be passing it on to my teenager as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
KirkEvans More than 1 year ago
Great Book. It is inspiring to know that you faced all of that opposition and because you knew what you wanted you pushed through it all. I love that you said, "Choices are Inevitable" this is so true. If we have an end goal in mind we can make the choices that will get us there. It is so easy to forget what we truly want, thank you for writing this book. I suck at reading, and I read it in just over an hour. Very inspirational.
JJ_and_SAM More than 1 year ago
I'll admit it, I was hesitant about reading this book. I love James' fiction novels, but I was a bit worried this was going to be a religious book or the typical "self-help" book. Boy was I wrong. There is no mention of religion of any kind and it surely isn't typical. There is some great advice, some inspiring stories, and a lot of entertainment.
Erica08 More than 1 year ago
I knew the stories beforehand but its still so powerful. Great job James!
SecondRunReviews More than 1 year ago
What an awe inspiring, quick read. I'm amazed at what Mr. Owen has overcome to be the successful author and artist that he is.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JasonLundberg More than 1 year ago
As a writer, it's sometimes very easy to get discouraged with this career I've chosen. Rejection rather than acceptance is the norm, a book may sell to a publisher then get dropped because of financial reasons, work that does gets published may get panned or, even worse, ignored. Holding onto that motivation that made me want to be a writer in the first place can sometimes seem a futile endeavor. And so when James A. Owen released Drawing Out the Dragons as an e-book (on April Fool's Day, of all days), it was like an inspirational bolt from heaven, exactly what I needed to read right now at this point in my life and career. One thing the book does is to humble me utterly. Owen has gone through ten people's worth of seemingly-insurmountable challenges, and yet he has never lost his faith in himself as an artist and creator. Not when he was expected not to survive a mysterious childhood illness, not when his drawing hand was crushed in a car accident, not when he sold everything he owned to move overseas for his dream job and then watch that job evaporate before his eyes. Owen's consistently positive outlook enabled him to not only meet these adversities (and many more) head-on, but to turn them into opportunities for life-changing triumphs. In the telling of his life's lessons, Owen consistently relays the impression that while his experiences may have been unique, the way that he handled them was not, that any of us can maintain the same mindset toward success. That the choices we make -- moving long-distance for a new career, quitting a safe regular job to focus on one's passion, taking inspiration from Superman and visualizing oneself healthy, or simply making lines on paper -- are always up to us to make the best of. Unlike normal types of self-help or motivational books, Drawing Out the Dragons provides inspiration through experiential storytelling. Owen never lays out the "keys to success" or the "steps to happiness," but through his actions and the wonderfully fluid way in which in relays them in this book, any reader can glean these keys and steps for oneself. A modern riff on the idea of giving a man a fish versus teaching a man to fish, and Owen proves himself a master teacher. I've known James Owen for a number of years now, but only online. We've never met in person, but he has done more for me as a friend and "big brother" than many people I know in real life. But perhaps the best thing he's yet done is to write Drawing Out the Dragons and present it to the world, and for this I am infinitely grateful. If I am ever lucky enough to meet James in the flesh, you can bet I'm going to ask to see his Superman ring.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is realy boring. And honestly a waist of time.