×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Drawing the Head and Figure
     

Drawing the Head and Figure

4.7 15
by Jack Hamm
 

See All Formats & Editions

A how-to handbook that makes drawing easy. Offers simplified techniques and scores of brand-new hints and helps. Step by step procedures. Hundreds of illustrations.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Drawing the Head and Figure 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
booklovinggrandpa More than 1 year ago
I LOVE this book. It is very helpful to a beginner such as myself, LOADED with illustrations which make it easy to understand and begin drawing!! If you want a very good book on head and figure drawint, THIS IS IT!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am learning how to draw the human figure. It is very difficulty to draw the human figure because of the proportion and muscles. I had a very difficult time to figure it out until I got this book. it was very easy to understand and easy to follow the instructions. I tried to draw the human face which I got a lot of compliments. I highly recommand this book to whom wants to learn drawing the Human.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
balletlove More than 1 year ago
I really like this book...beginning to intermediate level instruction on how to draw the face and figure. I have found it extremely useful.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I received this book early-on in my quest to become an artist and didn't then have the maturity to appreciate it - it seemed old-fashioned. My attitude has changed completely since then. Hamm, in this book, has put together a primer not so much on the basics of the human figure, but on how to bring the human figure to life. Within the pages of this book you will find all manner of insights, details and suggestions that will add fantastic, living detail to your drawings. Don't be fooled by this volume's slim size: each page is literally packed with drawings, sketches and explanations. Hamm wasted no space on any page. It is almost encyclopedic. The book is lacking in two main areas: its descriptions on drawing hair are scanty (however, no drawing book now exists that has adequately dealt with this problem) and there is no satisfying section on light and shade (no books exist that explain this satisfactorily, either). Also, Hamm's section on the folding and drapery of clothing is rather rudimentary. None of these quibbles, however, are detrimental to the value of this book. It is an essential, inexpensive, information-packed resource for both the beginning and intermediate artist.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book has been very helpful to me. I did not know how to draw parts of the body like I do now. This book was a helpful tool to enhance my on techniques. Thanks you Jack
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing -- Jack Hamm does a great job on breaking down the human form and facial structure. There are sections on hands, feet, faces, backs, arms, legs, hair, clothes. . . it's incredible. Honestly, every artist should own this book to be used as a reference tool for any sketch.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really like this book, it has so much information and I love the size. The only thing is that it favors the female body over the male, and the hair styles are a bit old fashioned - but when you're done reading it you'll be able to create your own hair-styles anyway. A great find, I love it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
i really Love this book. im not a professional artist or anything, but i love to draw people, and this book really was incredible!
Guest More than 1 year ago
My best friend bought it for me.. he has it too.. and he knew I really liked it.. :) This is one of the best books which shows you how to draw people. Many examples and ideas are very helpfull for those who need it... I personaly think it's a great book to have in your collection... good luck w/drawing to all of you:)
Guest More than 1 year ago
First of all, I would like to say something to Berthenia Jackson (the reviewer below me) the reason this doesn't show you how to draw battle objects is because the title is 'DRAWING THE HEAD AND FIGURE'. But anyways... I really really love this book. Mr. Hamm makes drawing so simple, it's almost cheating. He puts everything in simple steps, and even tells you different ways to draw the same thing. The clothing section is great and he even has a section on different ages! I absoloutly love this book and I have become a better artist because of it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book shows you how to draw the things that you have questions about. The only thing this book doesn't show is how to draw battles and objects. But thats Ok. But I love this book so far !