×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Dream: A Memoir
     

The Dream: A Memoir

4.3 32
by Harry Bernstein
 

See All Formats & Editions

During the hard and bitter years of his youth in England, Harry Bernstein’s selfless mother never stops dreaming of a better life in America, no matter how unlikely. Then, one miraculous day when Harry is twelve years old, steamship tickets arrive in the mail, sent by an anonymous benefactor. Suddenly, a new life full of the promise of prosperity seems

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dream 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I know Harry has passed on by now,  but I selfishly want him to keep producing books. But, I know in reality..... But the grapevine says he started another. Wow, this man is something else. I don't remember what happen in my life nine years ago let alone 90 years ago. I will never forget these stories of how it was for this family in those days. Very interesting to see it through a mind of a child all the way through to his adulthood. The story was so easy to read, well told and written beautifully, by this beautiful man and his heart wrenching account of what took place. Oh "Arry", my only regret is that you didn't start to write this sooner. Thank you for bringing readers this unforgettable story. It will stay in my mind and heart forever! Young Harry and his brothers and sisters, devoted mother and rather despicable, drunken and despotic father, leave their Liverpool poverty and travel to America in the early twentieth century. As Harry grows, the first of his family to complete high school (his mother cannot read or write), he takes on the role of the man in the house, eventually managing to work even during the Depression (though nearly killed by a band of thugs), trying to get his mother away from his father who has always made their life miserable. The strength, charm and humor of young Harry is wonderful and when he at last falls in love with a girl he meets in a dance hall, he begins a romance and marriage which will last him almost three quarters of a century. Beautifully written memoir, sad, uplifting, quite an extraordinary book from its 90+ year old writer. This book I'll keep.  
grumpydan More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading Mr. Bernstein's first book The Invisible Wall and looked forward to reading this book. I was not disappointed. What this 98 year old author remembers about his youth in Chicago and New York is amazing. He describes in detail his life as a child, his family members, his first job, and meeting the love of his life. All this through the roaring twenties and the Great Depression. I had a sense of being there with him. This memoir is one of the best I have ever read.
Derson More than 1 year ago
After reading "The Invisible Wall" by same author, I had to read the follow up and did not regret either book. It is heart wrenching and really gives a personal insight of the culture at that time of history. I applaud the author for sharing so much of himself and his family - thank you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Having read Harry Bernstein's "The Invisible Wall", I was even more elated with "The Dream". Thank you Mr. Bernstein.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
His is an incredible story. Loved his first book The Invisible Wall and had to read the second book. Book clubs would love these books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book in two days....Was hard to put down....A must read and was sad when i finished...It is a book you never want to end. What a beautiful mother and a lost father.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a big fan of Memoirs so after reading Frank McCourt's Angelas Ashes and Tis I just had to read Harry Bernstein. I loved The Invisible Wall and finished it in about a week and went straight for The Dream. Great book.
BETKAT More than 1 year ago
THIS BOOK IS A CONTINUATION OF THE FAMILY IN AMERICA AND IT IS A WONDERFUL READ. ONE IS CONSTANTLY SURPRISED BY THE ACTIONS AND HAPPENINGS OF THE FAMILY. IT PULLS YOU IN SO YOU FEEL PART OF THE STORY. I REALLY LOVED HIS WRITING.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sandra Pedroza More than 1 year ago
interesting and easy to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was great from beginning to end, one of the best books I have read this year...!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
KateCO More than 1 year ago
Wonderful book. Puts you in Chicago and New York City during the early 1900's.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago