×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Driver #8
     

Driver #8

4.8 88
by Dale Earnhardt, Jade Gurss
 

See All Formats & Editions

Earnhardt recounts his rookie season and shares memories of his father in an engaging book that is sure to appeal to the millions of NASCAR (stock-car racing) fans worldwide.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Driver #8 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 88 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thi was a good book on Dale Jr.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
OMG I am the BIGGEST Dale Jr fan ever and when I saw this book i was so0o0 excited. I loved that this book was so detalied that you felt that you were with Dale the whole time. Especially when Jade writes what it's lik to be in the car with Dale driving. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes NASCAR and (of course) DALE!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have to start by saying that I have been a Jr. fan since he's been on the curcuit, and not just because of his name. He's one of the best drivers nascar has, and one of the very few that can start from the back and finish 1st or in the top 10! This book was absolutely awesome! I love the way he's right to the point and tells it like it is whether good, bad or indifferent. That's why I didn't want to put the book down. It made me realize what it actually takes or what can happen to get through a race being a driver. I think he has a great personality and he's sincere and a bada## all in one. That's my kinda man! I think the best part of the book was the very last line. I thought that was a very touching way to end the book. My one wish is to be lucky enough to have him sign it for me, but... I couldn't be so lucky. GREAT JOB DALE!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
enjoyed dale jr.'s description of many of the things driver's go through during a race season. good explanation of many racing terms. very open and honest comments. great book, great young driver, typical good old boy like me.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the behind the scenes look at the ups and downs of Jr.'s rookie year. Any racefan would find this a great read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing. I can finally say that I've read a book that I couldn't put down. The book is written as if he was telling you a story first hand, the story of course is his life during his rookie year of Winston Cup racing. With the tragic death of his father Dale Earnhardt Sr., Dale Jr. describes the emotional trials he goes though. Explaining it the best way possible. I really loved the book. Plain and simple.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am a fan of all sports, and though I really am just learning about NASCAR and auto racing, just reading what Dale Jr. went though his rookie year gave me a sense that I was there. It's awesome he lets the readers see the good, bad, and ugly side of racing without sidestepping. It was also cool he lets us get to know him without telling everything. It's an honest, inspiring book everyone should pick up, relax, and read on the beach or in the backyard.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Dale Jr. is an abosolutely amazing guy as he examplified by writing this book. A great guy with a great head on his shoulders and a large heart. He wasn't afriad to tell you the good and the bad, and didn't care about his image when writing the book, which made it totally amazing and raw. This sweetheart will having you laughing on the floor with his no BS attitude and descriptions. Great read, and my favorite book ever!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is AWESOME! I've been a fan of Little E since he started, but this book put him onto a whole new level! I love the rawness of the book. It's not edited down to a clean cut story, each race is told exactly how he lived it. I literally laughed out loud in some parts! Not only does this book show his bad a** side, but also his sweet side, which is great for us 'hoochie mama' female fans to see! This books bumps him up to SUPREME 'Hottie status'!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book in 1 nite, after starting it I couldn't put it down for more than a few minutes! The memories he shares of him & his Dad is reason enough to read the book!!! But it's an added bonus, since the entire book is awesome from beggining to end! And looking at his 'hottie' face in the pictures is enough to make this girls' heart pound ;}
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'v loved Dale Jr. since I can remember...My dad and grandfather got me in to NASCAR and I am glad. Now that I have read this book on Dale Jr. I have learned more about 'the man under the helmet.' And now I want to be a nascar driver.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After I finished this book, I was truely moved! I have been a NASCAR fan since '97 and even though Rusty Wallace (#2) is my favorite, I really enjoyed reading about all that Little E had to say. Anyone can read this and understand it, even if you aren't a racing fan!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book really made me a Jr. fan! I loved it! My Husband who never reads, finished this book in one night. It is honest, and truly funny. I loved the stories he had to tell, especially ones about his Dad! I am totally impressed w/ Dale Jr. Go Little E!
Guest More than 1 year ago
tHIS BOOK WAS OUTSTANDING... EVEN THOUGH IT HAD SOME r RATED WORDS IT WAS PROBLY THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ!!!! fOR ALL THE PEOPLE THAT DIDN'T READ IT YOU SHOULD ESPECIALY IF YOU ARE A NASCAR FAN OR AN EARNHARDT fAN! thats why i gave it 5 stars
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a work that comes from this young man's heart. Have seen alot of the generations in racing grow and come of age. He truely is part of the 'Good Ole Boys' but with a New Age Temperment and design for Family, Career and Life. So you just 'Lite them fires and Kick the Tires,' Every time for your Pop. God Speed..
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think the book is a great one because it is a bio on one of the best NASCAR driver. Dale Earnhardt Jr deserves a great book like this about him. He is a great driver is a cute kid and knows what he is doing on the track. he also has a great sense of umor and also can be serious. he loves the sport and had a great dad that probably taught him everything he needed to know. He will probably be this years champ. At least thats what I hope. From A Fan, Nicole Stabile
Guest More than 1 year ago
I didn't understand everything that went into racing until I read this book. Dale Jr gives an insiders look into the behind-the-scenes actions that go on every week for a race. Dale Jr is honest, funnt and very down-to-earth, which makes him even more appealing, not just as an excellent driver, but as a extraordinary human being.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was just AWESOME. HYSTERICALLY funny - I laughed out loud!! Junior shares much about who he is and who his father was. A terrific insight into the Earnhardt family and into NASCAR racing. Junior is a wonderful writer, and is very candid and honest about who he is and what he believes in. You'll learn much about Junior in this book - even if you're not a Junior fan, you'll truly enjoy it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
What a great book. I could almost hear the words coming out of Little E's mouth. Definately his language.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I bought this book right after it came out. It took me l day to read it.I could not put it down. It not only gives you an insight into nascar racing, but also gives you a glimpse into Dale Jr's thoughts and feelings. I laughed and cried while reading this book. Not only is Dale Jr. an awesome racecar driver, but he is very honest and open.A stand-up man, well on his way to many championships, in my opnion anyway. This book tells the ins and outs of a racecar driver and what he goes through,and what he feels during each race. Like I said, I absolutely could not put the book down until I finished it. I laughed and cried through out the book, when Dale Jr. was talking about some of his in-car antics and his feelings. The image, that has stuck with me for quite awhile, is the one where he is running back down pit lane to check on his Daddy, at Daytona. I just wanted to reach out and put my arms around him and try to comfort him. If I ever get the chance to go to a nascar race, which is highly unlikely, I would like to meet with Dale,Jr. and shake his hand, hug him and tell him to keep on keepin' on, and never give up. He is having an awesome year(2002), and he will when that championship that he is going for!! Good Luck Little E on the up coming races,and God Bless You and your Family!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Truely gives you behind the scenes stuff. I cant wait for the next book. Little E tells you like it is, holding nothing back. I really enjoyed it and cant wait for the next one. Thanks Junior !!! This Bud's for you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was great from start to finish. I laughed and I cried. This book told of the behind the scenes that we never see. Thanks for the ride Jr. I enjoyed every page.